We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views and Amazing place”
Review of Sonoran Sky Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonoran Sky Resort
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Views and Amazing place”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent 4 days here at the resort and stayed on the 14th floor. The views from the higher condos were unbelievable. We spent a couple of the nights down at the Tiki bar and unfortunately it seemed to close whenever they wanted. This would force the entire group into a condo to continue to hang out. This was the one downfall I could think of. Overall it was a great experience. Would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    31
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
52
23
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The only negative keeping this review from 5 stars is the service. Front Desk and Maid service was lacking. We were rushed from our room upon checkout and Maid Service was barely present.
The views from our condo were amazing. Our balcony looked over the ocean and was great in the morning and at sunset. The rooms were well kept, clean, and comfortable. The bar by the pool shut down very early on some nights even though they had people sitting at the bar still ordering drinks. Over all, it was an excellent time and I enjoyed the Sonoran Sky Resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveO_C53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom suite $250 per night). It was dirty (sandy). Our maid service consisted of a roll of toilet paper for day1 and 2 and a roll of paper towels on the 3rd day - I think that was just to show their presence because there was no cleaning. We started out with it not too clean. Very dirty floors and water rings on the glass dining table. No dish soap or cloth. Had to wash our own towels but the washing machine was defective (the door kept popping open and soap/water on the floor). The staff at the desk pretended to understand English. Since almost all of the guest are English speaking you would think that the staff would be better at it.
Lovely beach, nice pools and bar but restaurant not open or reserved for wedding. Good restaurant for dinner within walking distance. Bring your own breakfast and beach towels and face cloths. Will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have been to this Sonoran Sky Resort before and have really enjoyed their facilities.This time though both hot tubs were warm tubs and the pools were ice cold.
Our one bedroom condo was nicely decorated, however the cleaning service lacked service. No clean towels were ever brought, at least we got toilet paper.
Awesome view of the beach.
Rented a quad for the first time there and that was very fun!
Try "The Hut" restaurant. Good food and they play music at night. If you are downtown at night go to the El Capitan Restaraunt next to the Lighthouse. Great sunset views and drinks.
Bring your own pool towels, as there is no pool towel service at the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have been going to Rocky Point for many years but went this time with the intention of buying a condo in the area. We took advantage of a special that was offered by Sonoran Sky and toured their units. Needless to say, they were beautiful and well appointed. Great ocean views.The sales personnel were especially cordial and left no question unanswered. I highly recommend you stop and check with the Sonoran Resorts and view these units. They sell themselves. Family friendly, great pools, Tiki Bar on the beach, full service restaurant adjacent to the bar. You couldn't ask for much more. Staff was up and beyond our expectations. Overall, very pleasant experience

Room Tip: Higher up is better. Less noise, a little further from the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bottomgun0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

So, let me preface this with saying, this was our first trip to Rocky Point and Sonoran Sky. The good-the room was to die for. Beautiful view of the ocean, gorgeous amenities in the kitchen, etc... Beautiful design. Now, the rest. Being our first time there, we checked to see if there was anyone downstairs that could tell us good things to do with our whole family. Not only could they not tell us, they didn't seem interested in helping us find out. We basically had to find out from others in the hotel. Similarly, they were not that concerned when we found a mouse, yes, a rodent on my daughter's chest in the middle of the night. Nor were they concerned when the heavy blinds actually fell on my head leaving a large lump. We asked for maintenance to come fix them and he came, looked at it, and said he would be right back to fix them. We were waiting for him to return so we could go to the beach. ... an hour later, my husband went to go look for him. He was in the store just talking to the girls that work there. Ugh! Additionally, there was always something NOT working. One hot tub had working jets, but NO heat. Another one, had great heat and NO working jets. The last one had luke warm water and working jets. Take your pick, but for what we paid for our 3 bedroom... there should be some fully working hot tubs. Service and prices at the bar were mediocre. You can't charge things to your room, which was so inconvenient. I really don't like having to carry cash down to the beach. Thankfully, we met some very friendly people. Pools were great, but freezing. Girls in convenience shop were rude and spoke no English making it hard to purchase anything there. No one here was any help. We loved the beach and will return ONLY because of that but will not be back to this resort if you can call it that.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Always_Traveling7644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We drove from Playas in Tijuana to Puerto Penasco..it was mostly on toll roads till the last hour and a half of the trip. The road was safe but had to stop and get out at two Federal check points.
The weather was perfect in August. The Resort are condos own by individual that rent out their unit. They have a nice pools and beach access, all rooms are ocean view. All gym and pool are close at 9:45 pm..The pool swim up bar has food and alcohol..Food is okay, the restaurant on site is okay but they keep messing up the food orders. I would not recommend the Spa on site, but instead do a massage on the beach by one of the locals that set up massage tables..it is much much cheaper !! Overall we enjoy our stay and would come back again..

Room Tip: All room are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dleung1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.1 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
210 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#7 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoran Sky Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoran Sky Resort

Property: Sonoran Sky Resort
Address: Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonoran Sky Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxury one bedroom, one bath suite is located on the 4th floor in Sonoran Sky Resort on Sandy Beach. This is a cozy, romantic and beautifully decorated suite, which can accommodate four guests (2 adults) easily. This suite also has a sleeper sofa in the living room. The decoration is elegant with white walls and ceilings with dark wood ceiling moldings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonoran Sky Hotel Puerto Penasco
Sonoran Sky Resort Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing