We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Lucerna best hotel in Sonora” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lucerna Hermosillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lucerna Hermosillo
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Hermosillo
Certificate of Excellence
America
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Lucerna best hotel in Sonora”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I travel to Hermosillo constantly for business and the Hotel Lucerna is the only place to stay. I am Security Manager for my company and after doing a security review of this hotel compared to the others, this is by far the safest hotel in Sonora. Not to mention the fact that is is the nicest, cleanest and with the best customer service I have found in a long time. Anyone visiting Hermosillo should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weninaz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    61
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
16
7
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent a long weekend here. The a/c in the rooms is the best, as it is much needed givent the very hot climate. All of the staff is very very friendly and proffesional, they really make you feel welcome and at home. You are in for a reallyt big treat with their Breakfast buffet. Simply delicious. Room Service is great. Very fast and very good. You must try one of their signature drinks, The Clamato, their own version of a bloody Mary, Simple the best I have had. As for location, is the best, close to banks, the museum and restaurants. Just down the strret, in the corner, is Palomiilas steak house. A must.
If I have the opportunity to go back, there is no other place I would stay.
PS: their blackout shades are the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

So many things you'll enjoy here:
Clean all the way through with nice use of marble
Very friendly and bilingual staff
Great breakfast buffet (try the nopalea juice mixed w oJ)
Fun bartenders
Security that doesn't allow unnamed persons to rooms

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I travel for business there and this hotel just caters all your needs with extreme professionalism and all other features which make a business travel a breeze.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cavernicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Hotel Lucerna in Hermosillo, Mexico was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at. The room is comfortable, clean and has a very high-end feel. The service was incredible. All of the staff I interacted with were very courteous and most spoke english which came in handy with my limited spanish vocabulary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I am still here currently on my Vacation and I could not be happier. the Staff is very polite the room is fantastic (Regular King) with soft beds and lots of pillows, and the internet works great all over the hotel. The hotel is right next to Wal-Mart, several banks, Subway, Papa Johns Pizza etc..Being from the US, I have never been here and was a bit concerned about traveling to Mexico but let me say this, the people are very friendly and Hermosillo is very safe. The best I can compare it to is a small town in the country back home. It is very calm and peaceful and the hotel has many amenities like a nice workout room, the breakfast buffet is delicious and well priced ($13 US) and the pool and jacuzzi could be a little warmer but the setting is beautiful with cabana beds and a fountain. This place is perfect considering you are in a small town in Mexico. Thank you Hotel Lucerna

Room Tip: relax and enjoy hermosillo is safe and very friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Though I have not stayed in any other hotels in Hermosillo, I think this has got to be the best hotel in the City. When we checked in, they automatically upgraded us to the 5th Floor, with concierge service, continental breakfast, and happy hour (free drinks for an hour) in the executive lounge. They had cookies at the front desk one day and apples the next day. Nice touch.

The room had 2 double beds, was beautifully decorated. The bathroom was large, marble with a glass door. The courtesy green shampoo smelled awesome!!! The toilette flushed like it had power jets. Bathroom had 2 free bottles of water that they replenish daily. Slippers in the room! The room had a large LCD TV with only 1 English channel - CNN. The room had wi-fi, and in the lobby there is a business center with 3 computers and printers. Only one computer has an American keyboard though, the first computer. The second 2 have Spanish Keyboards. It took a while to figure out the @ sign. It's like Alt Eg and @, not shift and @. I don't quite remember, but it's different.

The continental breakfast was okay - cereal, fruit, pastries, coffee (try the pastry with cajeta and the jugo verde, delicioso!!!) They don't tell you, but eggs, ie, full breakfast, is available for free too, but you have to ask for it. It's not on the counter readily available. I only know this because my parents asked for it and they brought it up from downstairs.

The happy hour was cool since it was free, but the alcohol seemed watered down. As did drinks in the bar downstairs. In the lounge I ordered a makeshift margarita - tequilla and squirt soda. Tequila was watered down. In the bar downstairs I ordered a pina colada - watered down as well. The front desk gave us welcome vouchers for free drinks that they said were good for the bar, but the bar manager would not honor them. So we went out to tell the front desk and she called right away and asked him to honor the vouchers she gave us not five minutes earlier. She did all this over the phone with a smile. He eventually gave in after 5 different hotel workers had a meeting about it, which seemed odd.
Sonora is a big beef state. You will find a lot of carne asada here. And we ordered it from the bar. I loved it but the gringo with me thought it tasted different.

The pool is right by the lobby, so it's not very private, but it is beautiful, the water is like bath water and there is a nice breeze that seems to always be there, which is very nice, since it's beastly hot here.

The staff here was very friendly, smiles all the time. It's the best thing to be greeted with a smile! Bell staff and front desk spoke English. They gave us suggestions for outings. The hotel is in the Government center, near a walmart and a strip mall with a popular restaurant "Chiltepines." It's a wing place that seems to be very popular. There is a restaurant and club at the end of the block called Wild Horse that had a band that played Mexican pop music, which was a lot of fun. 18 and older is drinking age. When walking around this area or pretty much the entire City, I would not wear spiked heels. Right ouside the hotel for blocks are cobblestone streets, more like arbitrarily sized stones. I could barely walk. I changed shoes to flats, or at the very most wear wedges. Not heels and not your favorite brand-new pair. They will be ruined by the streets of Hermosillo.

There is a nearby attraction. El Cerro de la Campana that you can drive up and see all of Hermosillo and take pictures. We went all over and I felt very safe. If you go up the road to the rode to Guaymas, there is the Cerro de la Virgin. It has a set of stairs that you climb to get to the painting of the Virgin de Guadalupe on the wall of the mountain.

We stayed here for 2 days, but broken up. The first day they upgraded us. They wanted to have first time guests aquainted with their amenities. On the second day, they wanted to down grade us to what we were supposed to get. Sorry, not happening. After telling them we would not be happy with anything less than what we had, they gave us our exact room with no problem. We were very happy here and would recommend Hotel Lucerna and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for 2 room keys. The room key is used to turn on lights and air conditioning. So when you leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CADK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermosillo hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Hermosillo
1.0 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#9 of 33 in Hermosillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Hermosillo
Courtyard Hermosillo
#5 of 33 in Hermosillo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Hermosillo
Fiesta Americana Hermosillo
#4 of 33 in Hermosillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Hermosillo
Hotel Ibis Hermosillo
#6 of 33 in Hermosillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel San Sebastian
Hotel San Sebastian
#3 of 33 in Hermosillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucerna Hermosillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucerna Hermosillo

Property: Hotel Lucerna Hermosillo
Address: Blvd. Paseo Rio Sonora Nte. # 98 | Col. Proyecto Rio Sonora, Hermosillo 83270, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Hermosillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermosillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lucerna Hermosillo 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Lucerna Hermosillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lucerna Hermosillo Sonora, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing