We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place on our entire Baja trip”
Review of Casa Granada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mulege
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Granada
Ranked #2 of 6 Mulege B&B and Inns
washington state
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best place on our entire Baja trip”
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Our favorite place to stay on the entire trip was Casa Granada in Mulege.

Owner Lena Peschmann was such a wonderful hostess . . . she even made me a birthday cake. She and her husband run an inn out of their home, located on the estuarial river. The rooms are up on the second floor, each with a view of both the Gulf and the river. I loved the feel of the rooms--so clean and well cared for. It feels like home.

In the morning, she makes a delicious breakfast. We loved talking with her about life in Mulege; she's a wonderful conversationalist. I'd stay with her again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watobaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
32
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2008

We spent 3 nights at Casa Granada in Mulege and it was great! The breakfasts were fabulous - we had our kids (8 and 10) with us and they loved it too - especially the crepes. They had a ping pong table which we used for a few hours every day. They helped us book a trip to the cave paintings so everything was arranged when we arrived. The room we stayed in was nice and clean and had a little fridge. We would definitely go back - Mulege was our favorite spot on Baja!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank PaloAlto_CAMullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2008

The Casa Granada is a one of a kind place. The two hosts, Kristian and Lena, are incredible. They’re a couple from Europe. Between the two they know five languages: English, Russian, German, Spanish and French. Lena is a very energetic woman. She makes all of her food from scratch, and to perfection. You wouldn’t believe that one person could make such a wonderful breakfast (during our stay, we tried Russian blintz, crepes suzette, apple strudel, gourmet omelet among other things, plus a fresh fruit salad, coffee from freshly ground coffee beans and freshly squeezed Orange Juice every morning ). The Casa itself is particularly amazing, with every room being stunningly clean, and a beautiful courtyard in the back to look at while eating breakfast. Getting anywhere is not a problem either, there is a 5-minute walk to the beach, a 20-minute walk to the center of Mulege, and it’s just a few feet away from the river.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank mbsanddune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Felipe
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2008

This was our third trip to Mulege, Mexico BCS, where we always stay at Casa Granada, a beautiful B & B just around the corner from the landing field at Hotel Serenidad. No other lodging in Mulege can equal the first -rate accommodations of Casa Granada. Every morning is a delight to be able to enjoy a delicious meal prepared by the owner, Lena Peschmann, in the seclusion of their peaceful patio. Lena has also helped us make arrangements for desert and sea outings which have given us great memories of southern Baja and Mulege. Don't miss staying at Casa Granada!

  • Liked — the bed and the food
  • Disliked — no television
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Playasantainezmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2007

This is the third time my husband and I have stayed at Casa Granada in Mulege, BCS. As with the prior stays, it was absolutely superb. The room was clean and comfortable and we always felt welcomed. Lena's breakfasts were five star and not to be matched anywhere in Mulege. While there, we enjoyed crepes, homemade cheese patties, homemade sausage, eggs cooked in any style requested, fresh fruits, and on & on. We were very impressed.

Casa Granada, itself, is a beautiful two story building built in the old Spanish style of architecture next to the Mulege River. The inside of the home is kept very clean as are the grounds. Available amenities include: kayaks, a pool table, and a ping pong table. Casa Granada is close to downtown Mulege and all available services that the town provides.

If you are planning a visit in Mulege, then plan on staying at Casa Granada. It will definitely be a highlight of your visit.

  • Liked — The proprietors
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in advance as rooms can fill up during certain months
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PWO'Neill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

A wonderful, stylish property just outside Mulege. A welcome relief compared with the many so-so hotels elsewhere in Baja. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamWallace1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 18, 2006

Casa Granada is a wonderful B&B located on the south bank of the Mulege River in Mulege, BCS Mexico.

We just completed a well deserved month long vacation with our primary focus on Baja. We traveled its length and breadth taking in the wonderful desert scenery and looking for property. We found Casa Granada quite by accident and happily so. We enjoyed it so much on the way south we stayed there again on the way back. See their website for maps and directions. Basically it is located on the Mulege River next to Hotel Serenidad. The rooms are good sized, all upstairs. They are clean, quiet and enjoy wonderful views and breezes with small sitting porches overlooking the river and Bahia de Conception. We're not B&B folks usually, but we found this place very much to our liking. Lena cooks a breakfast to die for. It will power you all day and she is very accommodating as to food, time and preparation. This is no continental slop. This will be one of the highlights of the day, whether kayaking,(available for free at Casa Granada) or diving, sightseeing or property hunting. This is a friendly, affordable place with other interesting guests in a hard-to-find setting- private, secure and quiet (for Mexico).

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mulege
35.5 mi away
Hotel Terrazas
Hotel Terrazas
#5 of 6 in Mulege
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotour...
#1 of 4 in Puerto San Carlos
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Granada

Property: Casa Granada
Address: No. 1 Estero de Mulege, Mulege, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Mulege
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mulege
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Granada in Mulege is a spacious villa constructed from local stone, on the Mulege Estuary, surrounded by palm trees, and including gated parking. We offer four nicely tiled guest rooms with views, bath, fridge and microwave, and two secluded Casitas with their own patio and out-doors kitchen, all at a budget price. Breakfast of your choice on request. We wellcome your 1 or 2 wellbehaved pets. Two older Seda Kayaks, one sit-on-top, and ping-pong are available. You are welcome to use the pool of neighboring Hotel Serenidad. Walking past the fishing boat lauch in front and airstrip you have access to miles of beaches and -Mulege's best kept secret: a large dune belt with lush vegetation. We will be happy to arrange Tours, horse-back riding, and fishing trips for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing