We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”
Review of Las Casitas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mulege
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Casitas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mulege
Celista
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed a week in Oct/Nov of 2012 and will be coming back in Nov 2013. The staff was truly wonderful making us feel at home the instant we arrived. So relaxing listening to the fountain in the outdoor garden dining space. Cool cervezas con limon in the afternoons. Wonderful food served all day. Clean rooms and comfy beds. We can't wait for our return trip, might just have to move there! One of the best weeks of our lives. ps - The people of Mulege are so friendly I felt safe and at ease, it's a "best kept secret" kind of place.

Room Tip: Our room, #1, was cozy sized with bathroom, celing fan, air conditioner, small fridge, tv, closet, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moosey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
27
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there a couple of times this year after flying into mulege, to bed down before Flight to San Ignacio for whale watching.. The staff is awesome , Marcos is on top of things, as Javier. They all really treat you like one of their own.. The food is also great.. The rooms are very basic , clean, and have all that you need.. I sure will be returning next season ... Thanks guys... Mark Taylor

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mckinleyville
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Las Casitas hotel for 3 nights. The owner, Javier and thew staff are friendly and treats you like family. About 8 rooms available. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. There is a beautiful courtyard outside of rooms with many established plants. They have a restaurant which served great food all day. Javier can help you with tourist questions about town or around the Bay of Conception.

Room Tip: I found all rooms to be comparably the same, town quits by 10pm easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Read the review posted in 2008 describing an Eclectic hotel which gives an accurate description of this property.
Javier wants to promote tourism in Mulege, but he should start by doing some basic repairs to his rooms. Just because you're in Mexico doesn't mean you can't have a clean and functional place to sleep.

Room Tip: Nice place for a meal, pretty gardens but bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hugh and Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Entering the hotel into the restaurant area is like entering a lush garden. The room had an appealing vintage feel. The food was good. The only thing that might have been better was the information I received at the hotel about local activities (kayaking) that led me on a wild goose chase.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dcrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

On the recommendation of someone trusted in Loreto, we visited Mulege. It turned out that our drive was far longer than we expected, but the Bay of Conception views along the way were a delight. On our way out of Loreto we were told to have lunch here at Las Casitas and we were happy that we did.

We arrived at about 1pm local time, which is in the middle of the siesta time. The heat was oppressive and the service slow but attentive. We truly appreciate the pitcher of cucumber infused water offered to quench our thirst from the long drive. The restaurant sits amid a lush garden with plants and birds offering shaded dining indoors or out. The food was excellent with a nice selection of dishes, reasonable prices, and reasonable portions. We had fish tacos, a thin fried steak, vegetarian enchiladas, and some other delighftul dish. Everyone was pleased with their meal except the 5 year old who was having a bad day and refused to order lunch but later regretted her choice to not eat.

The service was good, it took a while to get our food but it was prepared for us and it is worth the wait for fresh delicious food. We were warmly greeted by the proprietor in English and Spanish on his way through to attend to other matters.

I would definitely eat here again, though I would enjoy having more time to explore the area. We shopped in town briefly and tried to reach the beach but were unsuccessful in locating an area to swim and enjoy the bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I spent one night here on a solo motorcycle trip down the Baja peninsula, and this was the best placed I visited by far. From the warm greeting at the front desk, to the service in the restaurant and bar, to the comfort of the room, everything beat my expectations. Without any request on my part, they invited me to roll my motorcycle into the inner courtyard to get it off the busy street. And when I sat under bougainvilleas in their patio that evening enjoying a delicious meal of fresh scallops, they attended to my every desire.

Now, this is a a quaint and comfortable little place in the middle of town, no luxury tourist high-rise on the beach. It can get a little noisy out on the streets before the sidewalks get rolled up at night in Mulegé. But the rooms are clean, and well appointed. So if you just want to relax after a long drive down Highway 1 and receive a warm welcome in a homey little hotel in Mexico, this is your kind of place. And you can't beat the price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WoodWorksAshland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mulege
0.0 mi away
Positano Hotel
Positano Hotel
#61 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotour...
#1 of 4 in Puerto San Carlos
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terrazas
Hotel Terrazas
#5 of 6 in Mulege
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
134 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Hotel

Property: Las Casitas Hotel
Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero 50, Mulege 23920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Mulege
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mulege
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing