We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
15
44
29
11
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
44
29
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar rv park nice pool the owner the river pool area christmas dinner off season love this place cold night off the highway the wi fi one night stay rooms are clean many years whale watching johnson
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 113 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2018 via mobile

We have been coming here for many years and it’s always one of highlights of Baja. Don Johnson, the owner is wonderful and treat his employees like family. Most have been there for many years. The food is great and every Saturday is their pig roast. It has a nice pool and swim up bar. Margaritas are made right in front of you with fresh lime. No mix for them. Rooms are clean and big. Grounds are also very clean and secure at night. This hotel Is quintessential Baja, not some new square box that has no character. Other newer hotels in Baja should take some lessons from Don Johnson and The Hotel Serenidad.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DJBEnnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

We flew in for a few days of relaxation and whale watching. The staff was exceptional. The food was great. On Friday they have a pig roast. The rooms are simple. No TV. The Wi-Fi is spotty at best. It’s great for hiking or just hilling near the pool area. They even have a really cute chapel if you would like to use it.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Donnayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

I stayed here last year and the place was o.k. The room last year was decent but nothing great. It was the grounds/setting that brought me back again.

This year it was just awful. The bathroom was filthy and there were moldy stains everywhere. The ceiling was also covered with water stains. You could see the dust under the chairs which meant the housecleaner mopped the floor but did bother to move the chairs. The place this year was almost deserted which made me even madder since the woman who checked us in said we were getting a good room. Also there were local workers who arrived early in the morning and started blasting their music. Is there even a manager on site there anymore?

Hopefully the hotel will change hands and it will be taken over by someone who cares enough to fix and maintain it.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

We checked in this afternoon with no reservation and were accommodated. There is a fireplace in the room if you need heat or just ambiance. We were not able to conjure up any hot water but were assured it would be available soon. The restaurant is good and drinks tasty. We’ve been here before and would consider it again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank EmaSaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We were really looking forward to our stay. Read about it on line and reserved a room. OMG what a letdown. Old, rundown and little to no Maintanance. No pig roast due to lack of people but there was a large crowd. Ribs were just okay. Price on line said 150 pesos but was charged 255 pesos. Margaritas were excellent I must admit. Hotel has loads of potential but needs a ton of TLC. Bed was okay but no hot water to shower. No tv, internet or room phone. No water for our friends staying in the RV park. Gets shut off at night we were told. We would never recommend it to anyone. Sorry but a drastic change is needed. It was not what we expected. Plus 1200 pesos per night. Very disappointing.

Room tip: Stay away!
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank pagejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews