We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A funky old classic from the 60's”
Review of Hotel Serenidad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mulege
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Serenidad
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mulege
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This old resort is down a dust road just about 2KM outside of Mulege. It is a fly-In location and by its size and ancient amenities it must have once been very popular. My room was large and pretty clean. The shower functioned properly which is a bit of a novelty in some parts of Baja. There is an attractive swimming pool but it was freezing cold. I like the expansive bar and the barman made great margaritas. Because it was Friday they had a traditional roasted pig. I never saw the pig and suspect that it was just roasted pork but was nonetheless tasty and very inexpensive. there were only about 3 rooms rented out of about 75 units. I think I paid about 700 pesos which I don't think was a particularly great value. I slept great here. The bed was an old king size with a softer mattress than most in Mexico. The bedding was old and worn but clean and fresh. The WIFI only works in the restaurant and bar area but is free and fast.The were working on some units while I was there and were either repairing or installing fireplaces. I suspect there are much nicer hotels in Mulege but the atmosphere here was unique and rather evocative.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pasomonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in 1979 when my family and I drove down to Cabo, I was amazed to find that this dump has not changed in over 30 years. Its worse now than it was in 1979. Its sad to find out that Mulege has some of the worst hotels in all of Baja, considering it has some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The Motel is located next to the Mulege lagoon, the moment you walk in you notice this place is beyond repair and needs to be torn down and rebuilt. The rooms are dirty and smell like a funeral parlor, the place look something you will find in a Tarrantino movie. If you are looking for cleanliness and comfort stay away. The only positive is the staff is friendly and the food is not bad.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauriSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Essentially, almost all of the reviews here are accurate if you read between the lines. "Nothing like the Marriot in San Diego"...true. "No TV in the room"....true. "Friendly, funky, comfortable"....also true.

Stop in and immerse yourself in Old Baja, except with 24 hour utilities & Wi-Fi in the lobby! Hotel Serenidad is a true Baja tradition, a place where you can kick back, enjoy the Margaritas, chat with both fellow travelers & local denizens, go fishing, walk around town, eat good if not spectacular cooking (fish &/or shrimp recommended) and just generally enjoy a relatively inexpensive stay in a small Baja town.

As several other reviewers have pointed out, the economy and “the troubles” have hit the Mexican travel business hard, and mid-week you could well find yourselves the only guests. Because of this, without doubt the Serenidad could use some significant capital investment. However, although the tiled courtyard (for example) may have exceeded its projected life expectancy, the whole place is still cleaned daily, the plumbing works, the staff is friendly & accommodating, and food & drink is always available.

For us pilots, it is one of the few remaining places you can park your plane at the door, and this alone is reason enough to stop. For those driving, it is a few hundred yards off the main road about a mile south of town proper, you have to watch for the sign.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Socal Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Met the owners. There for the roasted pig.Due to the economy and run down condition of the place they don't get enough people to due the Sat.nite pig anymore.Owners are more interested in keeping the runway in good shape not the rooms.Couldn't even close the bathroom door!Need to spend some $ upgrading or close the place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doradodick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

It's old, it's rundown, and it looks as if no repairs have been made in the past decade. Nor have the windows been washed, and the toilet was, well, balky0. Plus, there's the strange colonial ambience -- gringo guests, and a Mexican staff that seems none too happy. Location is good if you fly in, but otherwise it's a couple of kilometers out of town, so you can't walk anywhere. For my money, a place to avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAM046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Hotel Serenidad was originally constructed as a fish camp. It's a fifty+ year old brick / plaster compund typical of traditional Baja construction. The reviews here are as accurate as any I've ever read. whether you'll enjoy it depends on what your expecting / looking for. It's possible to have difficulties with the hot water system from time to time and the plumbing is typical of most of Baja.

The restaurant is staffed by the same cook (s) that' have been there for years. speed is very good when there aren't many in front of you, a little slower when crowded, the food is always very good. The service staff from Debra and Diane at the desk to Ricardo and Roman and others in the dining areas have literally grown up at this hotel. Alejandro the bar tender makes an ecellent ( World Class) margarita. He is also an expierenced fishing guide.

Expatriates, Highway travellers, Pilots and Baja Rats swap stories (Lies?) readily. This sort of place is getting rare even in Baja. Don Johnson (the owner) has been greeting guests for the past 45 years.

As a place to read a book, enjoy conversation with others, sit around the courtyard with a drink, arrange for a fishing trip (truly world class fishing in small open Pangas) this is just a wonderful spot. In the cooler months trips to hike in the desert or exploring the mine museum and abandoned smelting operation
in nearby Santa Rosalia (twenty-five miles) are interesting.

For pilots the airstrip is adjacent to the hotel. For those driving its right off the highway two miles south of town center.

If your looking for a base for local adventures, genuine hospitality and service await. They cannot however make it something it is not. Botique hotels and some chain types are available in Loreto ( Sixty-Five miles south) That's a completely different expierence.

I've stayed here a couple of times a year for the past twenty years, It's RUSTIC and maybe a bit nostalic, but for me it works...

Keith

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pacair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We arrived in our C172 at the Serenidad hotel....first time landing on a dirt strip (narrow but sufficient). This pilot environment is quite unique, you really can park you plane next to your sleeping room.

The quality of the hotel is - to american standards - only so and so. It is clean but not luxury

What is very nice however is the pool setting, there's a bar at the pool. Staff is very friendldly and beer is cheap

Good choice all together would return although Mulugé village is not worth the visit

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SooLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Serenidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serenidad

Address: Frente De La Playa, El Cachano, Mulege 23900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Mulege
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mulege
Price Range: $90 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Serenidad Hotel Mulegé

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing