We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
42
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small boat breakfast is served collecting shells wonderful hosts rental car the owner hot water bob generator motor marta isla energy bay california video fishing
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 47 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

First, never mind the spot, which is absolutely breathtaking, Bob and Susan are incredibly nice and hospitable. The rooms are well suited for 4 people with everything in it and a lovely view. The breakfast is amazing and the people working there are kind and attentive. Out of his way Bob offer us for my son to stay at the lighthouse which was a unique experience for my son. The they lent us their boat and made the visit to mulege a unforgettable experience. Please visit them and have the opportunity to see the stars and the views from Playa Frambues

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank anaegMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2017

When we stayed here, it rained like nothing we had ever seen - buckets from the sky. So we weren't able to take advantage of the beach that is just a few steps from your casita door. The casitas are perfectly clean and neat, the hosts are wonderful and friendly. It rained so hard when we were there that the kayak we were carrying started to fill with water and our host helped pump it out. He went above and beyond for every little thing and our stay was perfect. We will go again, and hope for better weather. I understand that porpoises and whales come into the bay right in front of the casitas.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1157lfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2016

We came across this accommodation whilst we were travelling between Loreto and San Ignacio and we were looking for somewhere to stay for a couple of nights.

We loved staying here and it was unfortunate that Bob and Sue could only accommodate us for 2 nights - we would have stayed longer if we could. Bob and Sue are lovely people and let us borrow their speed boat to explore the beautiful day area.

However, there is no internet, no TV and no telephone but because of the relaxed nature of the area we were very pleased about and we didn't miss them - guess what - we read a book and talked instead. This accommodation is spotless and breakfast is provided but any other meals need to be taken in Mulege.

The only disadvantage for us is that we live in the UK and we wished it was closer. Just one sight issue - if you are a smoker you will not be allowed to stay at this accommodation - they have very strict rules on no smoking, which to be fair suited ourselves. Sue has an allergy to smoke.

Also in order to book accommodation here you must email them as I do not believe they use any third party booking agencies. Email address can be found on their website but I believe it is playaframbes@gmail.com.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank DeborahSeventyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frambes, Owner at Playa Frambes Lighthouse Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for staying with us and we sincerely hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best regards,
Bob & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2015

Awesome unique accomodations near Mulege. We stayed in the lighthouse. While it is small and it was hot, when else can you stay in a lighthouse. Views from the top as we drank wine and watched the sunset over the mountains was fantastic. The bay is so warm and calm so the swimming was great! We only stayed one night, but Bob was a great host and recommended a place on the beach nearby for dinner. If you want to splurge on your Baja trip I recommend a night here! Breakfast is cooked to order from an extensive menu. Get the lighthouse!!

Date of stay: July 2015
3  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2015

We absolutely loved this wonderful guesthouse!

First, a caveat: Sue Frambes suffers from numerous allergies, which is why Playa Frambes puts a strict NO SMOKING warning in all of their marketing and communications. Bob and Sue have even refunded the money and shown the proverbial door to people who don't smoke anywhere on the property but who merely SMELL like tobacco smoke.

They have no phone service, so the web and email are THE way to contact Playa Frambes.

And their best presence on the web is their Facebook page...

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Playa-Frambes-Lighthouse-Resort/258621704166288?ref=ts&fref=ts

In particular, I recommend the drone video of the place posted on their Facebook page...

http://youtu.be/EPHROVeSZsM

...worth at least a thousand words. Two of the octagons are Bob and Sue's home, and the kitchen/dining area, respectively.

Having said that, the place is good. It is somewhat remote (twelve km south of Mulege) and they therefore run the place as a B & B, but this forces guests to drive to Playa Santispac or into Mulege for dinner (no kitchenettes in the units, either. Again, we imagine that this is intended to protect Sue).

Still, it is THE place on Bahia Concepcion to stay that isn't a campground or a long-term rental. Clean, on the beach, neat, organized, and the quirky lighthouse is an option for energetic young guests who aren't very big. In all, there are four casitas: the three pleasant, octagonal 2BR casitas, and the 1 (small) BR accommodations in the lighthouse. A swimming pool, kayaks, a small boat with an outboard engine, and two wee dachshunds complete the features.

Bob and Sue are charming and helpful in the extreme. When a bacteria bomb went off inside me (NB: NEVER eat at La Hacienda in central Santa Rosalia), Bob drove me to the clinic in Mulege for treatment, checked on me a few times thereafter, and brought me a small plate of toast that evening. When you're sick and slightly frightened, a guy like Bob is a godsend.

The standing rate is US$120/2,000 pesos per night, cash or PayPal only, but we felt that Playa Frambes was spiritually akin to that he best that southern Baja offers, and can recommend it to non-smokers who don't mind driving off for dinner and errands.

One of the great finds in all of Baja.

Room tip: The lighthouse is lovely, but tall people or people who have visit the restroom in the night might prefer the far roomier casitas. The casitas are 2 BR, so families or couples will really fare well. Bob and Sue will put you as close to the beach as possible, but really, all the rooms are lovely with views, breezes, gorgeous Balinese bamboo furniture, and on and on and on. There are NO bad rooms at Playa Frambes.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank LengthyStrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews