We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Punch Bowl Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Crosthwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked the Heelis room, very nice, spacious room with beamed ceiling, and double bed with crisp cotton bedding, treetop view.

Bathroom large with roll top bath, separate rainwater shower and under floor heating.

On arrival, offered complimentary afternoon tea, which was a nice touch, and unexpected. Tea/coffee upon request.

Could not wait to write this review, having just had dinner and not experienced breakfast thus far.

Dinner, prepared by the 22 year old chef, was absolutely divine. Starters of brown crab bavarois with passion fruit & dressed white crab, scallops with white chocolate and truffle risotto, beautifully presented and packed with flavour. Mains of sea bream and cod followed then to top it off, lemon tart and blackcurrant and liquorice soufflé.

The meal was innovative, cooked to perfection, using mainly locally sourced ingredients, we were extremely impressed.

If breakfast is of this standard, we will be returning home in good spirits (even though the weather has tried it’s best to dampen them! – is this really July?)

We look forward to returning sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skater-babe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    126
    45
    10
    9
See reviews for
113
422
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've just come home from a night at The Punch Bowl...and wanted to write a review before unpacking! Everything about this place is perfect. THE ROOMS are luxurious - we stayed in Strickland which from the photos and price range I had expected to be small but beautiful...in fact it was really spacious and really, really beautiful! High ceilings, sumptuously furnished, gorgeous bathroom with mood lighting beneath roll-top bath. THE FOOD was second to none...and we've eaten in several Michelin starred restaurants. It was equisite...and not pretentious, not overpriced and portions were good (we like our food!!). SERVICE was excellent...friendly, attentive staff. The whole experience was wonderful...absolute luxury, yet friendly and relaxed, and - guven thr standard of food snd accommodation - reasonably priced. Will be recommending to everyone we know and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our anniversary and loved every moment. Found the service friendly and efficient. Room absolutely lovely and very comfortable, as it the whole place.

We dined in the restaurant and the meal was fantastic - they even gave my husband his dessert for free as they were not happy with the souffle and it would have taken ages to make another one - he gladly accepted it and thought it was delicious!

It is expensive for the room but we felt it was worth it for a special occasion and certainly did not feel short changed .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlliB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is the third year running we have visited this restaurant and it just seems to get better every time. We went four times in our week's holiday and it was excellent on each occasion and we worked our way through most dishes on the menu! The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food great. The location is beautiful and the atmosphere is relaxed with a choice of eating in the bar or pub area. Both are nice but we preferred the intimacy of the restaurant. My only complaint is that we live too far away to visit every week but we will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfect fine dining restaurant , travelled from lancaster just for this .
Excellent location /outside seating area lovely / chilled wine / food super and great choice . Recommend the shrimps . Prices seemed reasonable
Going again next week !
Little hidden gem in the middle of nowhere

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank clairelorobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

good food but small portion sizes. I would say they are a bit overpriced for what you get....especially being used to London prices. But good quality food, attention to detail, and very attentive and helpful staff. Would recommend and would go back. they allow dogs in one of their dining rooms which is great for dog owners holidaying in the area...even although a miserable couple adjacent us complained all through their dinner in loud voices about how disgusting and unnecessary it was to allow dogs in (get a life mate).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmaglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My Partner booked a table for my birthday lunch and it did not disappoint. The food was beautiful and the roast beef was perfect. The atmosphere was relaxed, the staff were friendly and the owner is an absolute charmer. If you have a sweet tooth the desserts are heavenly, a little wooden cart piled high with everything you could possibly want. The portion sizes are huge, we had a little stroll around the gardens between our mains and dessert to make room! All in all a wonderful birthday lunch. Thank You for making it special (The homemade chocolates at the end in a little basket were the perfect final touch). Will definitely be back soon. x x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
1.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,115 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
5.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 13 in Kendal
91 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
20.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Punch Bowl Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Punch Bowl Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Punch Bowl Inn & Restaurant
Address: Lyth Valley, Crosthwaite LA8 8HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Punch Bowl Inn & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Punch Bowl Inn & Restaurant Hotel Crosthwaite
The Punch Bowl Inn And Restaurant
The Punch Bowl Inn & Restaurant Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing