We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,357)
Filter reviews
2,357 results
Traveler rating
1,037
868
274
99
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,037
868
274
99
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck pond groupon deal leisure facilities log fire jacuzzi bath manager wayne four poster bed quiz night evening meal reception area dog friendly hotel venison two nights three course meal breakfast was buffet style lake district family room
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 2,357 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just returned from our second visit to the Damson Dene - and disappointed we were not. Everything was of the same high quality standard we have come to expect from this hotel on both of our stays - the staff, food and the room. Unfortunately the leisure centre was closed during our stay, this just gives us more reason to return to see the refurbishment! We acquired the same Groupon deal as before which included a lovely evening meal on the first night aswell as breakfast on both mornings and cream tea between 2pm & 5pm. We will definitely return!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Thanks so much for visiting us again and taking the time to post your nice review. Happy that we met your standards once again and you had a nice stay. We'll look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017

Clean tidy room friendly staff excellent food we had a great break than you.
Cream tea In front of a roaring log fire.
Easy travel to keswick,fell foot, and windermere/bowness.
Even had the pleasure of meeting a local deer.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Short, sweet and five star; the perfect review! Thanks so much for posting it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and even had the chance to meet some of the neighbours. Hope to see you again! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017

Our first trip to this hotel and it wont be our last. Service was efficient and friendly with all the staff doubling up on their duties with a nice smile. We were allocated a room which was on the small side but very clean. Having had the chance to look at the new extension we will definitely upgrade to one of these next time. Food was nice with a great breakfast (just missed my black pudding!). Didnt use the spa but it did look nice with a good array of machines in the gym.The gardens will be great on a warm and sunny day and the hotel is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Bowness. Looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new annex
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

It was lovely to welcome you for your first stay here! We are delighted it won't be your last and with all of your comments about the staff and food too. You are spot on about our location too; close to Bowness, but not too close! Thanks again and we will look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017

Had the most relaxing couple of days at the damson dene hotel although the leisure centre was being refurbished we were offered there facilities at there sister hotel.All the staff were super helpful and friendly dogs lovec the walks around the grounds and made very welcome are 2nd visit will defo be going again and would recommend to anyone to go lovly sitting round open fire on a cold november evening l9ved it.

Room Tip: We had the 4 poster so comfortable and had a lovely bath with a jacuzzi so relaxing.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thanks for visiting and for such a lovely, five star review. We do love dogs here and they love being made a fuss over too! The area is perfect for dogs with lots of walks nearby. We also appreciate your kind mention of our friendly staff too! Hope to welcome you back for visit number 3!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile

2nd stay here

All good, we where allocated in the new extension. Our room was of a 'Hilton' standard.!

Restaurant food is top quality and the breakfast, self serve was extremely good value.

Staff are friendly and helpful and check in/out was great.

Location is ideal .and we will be returning.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cbellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Wonderful to welcome you back and we couldn't be happier to read your lovely comments. That five star rating means so much to us as well. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews