We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Day Break 30 May 2014”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at Damson Dene for three nights from 30 May 2014. Our room was lovely, four poster bed and jacuzzi in the bathroom. The standard of the room was very good, nice and clean and the room service was good. We loved the hotel, the lounge was very comfortable. Our reservation was for dinner, bed and breakfast and the food did not disappoint. It was excellent with a good quality and variety and the service, well you would find it difficult to better anywhere. The hotel is to be commended on its service. One point though it was disappointing to see the overflowing bins outside and the patios could have done with a sweep. Still we will definately be returning. J Watson Wakefield

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Lovely review thank you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The 4-posters are a bit of the divine aren't they! We are further happy you enjoyed your meal with us; your comments were high praise indeed. We've made a note on the issues you raised and will sort them asap. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

947 - 953 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I had a 2 night break in this olde worlde hotel in a wonderful setting. Pretty grounds with pond and ducks.
Food is excellent. Staff in dining room were efficient and friendly.
Room small but had everything we needed. View from window overlooking meadows was great to wake up to. This was our second visit and we will certainly return. Would recommend .

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor as I have some mobility restrictions. There appeared to be some flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sHEILAPEELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thanks for staying with us again; your review brought smiles to our faces as well. You highlight our best features with your comments on our staff, food and peacefulness! Thank you for recommending us to others and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my family on 07/06/14. On arrival I went to check-in half way through the assistant manager took a phone( she said she had to answer) as her call took a while I had to sit around and wait to continue my check-in. 20 minutes later I went to finish my check-in! The assistant manager informed me that breakfast was at 8am! I told her that we had to leave early, so would it be possible to have a cold breakfast and some coffee, she replied " well I'll put a note down as we only have a cook and their is no staff till 7.30am. Them room was ok, the bathroom was not clean their was dirt around the bath panel, the was mould behind the taps, also the shower pipe was broken with sharp metal sticking out, dangerous when you have children. Also trying to have a shower you either burnt yourself or froze there was no medium. Monday morning came, my family came down for the cold breakfast that we pre-ordered! What breakfast ! The restaurant was locked! No staff to be found, I couldn't even report to reception as reception was closed! So I was not able to check-out! So I had to leave my key on the desk. I think they have very poor service quality & to have paid for something that I didn't receive is appalling & not being able to complain about it! I will be sending an email as I'm not happy with the service my family received.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ciaranscause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

There are many fallacious statements in this review that need to be set right. To begin with, after we offered them an earlier breakfast, we did fail to organise it. That is our fault and we take full responsibility for it. We are human and mistakes do occasionally occur.

When this guest came to check-in, it was before the actual check-in time. Given the room was ready, we were very happy to let them check-in. The phone did ring, and staff are trained to always take a phone call, to get a number so we can ring them back. Most guests understand that in a busy hotel, sometimes having to wait a minute or two for something is not the end of the world. Had the guest checked in after 2pm, rather than before, there would have been two members of staff at reception and it would not have been a problem.

Finally, we were not made aware of any issues with the room during the stay, but we are sorting them now. Once again, we apologise for the mix up with breakfast. We hope others reading this review will take into account our side before making any judgments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just back from another 2 night Groupon break at Damson Dene, we always enjoy our stays. Manager Wayne and the staff are always friendly, the food is delicious, we will certainly be returning.
Only niggle was we didn't get our choice of room despite booking early, but never mind, better luck next time.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the duck pond are my choice when available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L1ndaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

We thank you for your continued visits and another wonderful review. Thanks again for your kind review of our staff and food. We hope next time to be able to offer your favourite room once again. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We should have stayed at a different hotel but due to maintenance issues we were given a room here and after reading reviews we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in one of their cottages which was clean and had everything we needed. It has a lovely terraced area which if bedding areas and seating were better kept could be quite a place to enjoy a drink especially as it overlooks the duck pond. We ate breakfast both mornings which we couldn't fault and an evening meal that was excellent. All the staff were very nice and there is lots of potential with a little brightening up here and there. I would stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank ZenaP0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you were able to visit us, despite it being on the back of problems at another hotel. Thank you for your kind comments about our clean accommodation and friendly staff. Hopefully we'll be welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed as part of a Living Social deal and were very pleased.
A couple of negatives - the room we were in (35) was quite small but it was a late decision and we were told in advance that vacancies were limited. While there are a number of reviews claiming it is dirty and dated, we feel this was harsh. It may be a little dated but we found no evidence of it being dirty, either in our room or the public areas.It is a litte way from Windermere its self but that is quite obvious so should not come as a surprise.
On the positive side - the food was very good. A great breakfast that set you up for a day,whether you are off walking or just sightseeing. The package we had included evening meal and this was very nice with localy sourced produce and a good menu.The hotel bar had more of a pub atmosphere rather than the stilted feel of many hotel bars. The staff were all very attentive and polite with a very friendly approach.
We did have a problem on our last night when our plans for a lie-in and a leisurely start to the day were spoilt by a flood through our ceiling. This was the fault of a resident who managed to leave a tap running all night thus flooding both their room and ours!!!
This was hardly the fault of the hotel or the staff and a better guide is the way they dealt with it. It was efficient and quick. We were then offered the use of another room and our bar bill was cancelled inview of the disruption.
Would we return, Yes, especially if we could get it at the reduced rate again.

Room Tip: We were in room 35 which was quite small. Not sure about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ibbo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your review; we've enjoyed reading it. Yes, we are sorry about the unfortunate water leaking above but I am very happy with the response of staff and that you did not let it affect your stay. Do try and book in advance for an excellent selection of rooms to suit all tastes! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Booked this for our anniversary and having read reviews, we kept an open mind. Arrived half hour early (instructions said room ready for 2 or later if busy). Receptionist very friendly and said she would check if room ready. Back a minute later and all ok so we checked in. We had a free upgrade to the Bluebell Suite. Room was lovely, very clean. Good sized clean bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Nice patio area outside door to garden. Tea, coffee & biscuits provided on shelf in wardrobe, with a dinky kettle which was just the right size for two cups. Bed was comfy with nice soft pillows. Only slight downside was we could hear if anyone in room above when they moved about. (I presume that was due to wooden sprung floor??).
Had dinner in the restaurant on the first evening which was included in the price, with a lovely view over garden and pond. Amused by antics of the ducks. (Having read negative reviews about the dining room, we don't see what was wrong with it).
Dinner was well presented and tasty. Only minor point was pate starter came with a generous portion of Pate, but only one slice of toast. (Could have done with two). Portions not massive, but when having three courses, don't really need to be. We found it to be just right. Good selection of wines too. Later that evening there was a quiz in the bar area, which was made good fun by the question master Wayne. We didn't use the leisure facilities as ran out of time, so can't comment on them. Lovely lounge area with comfy settees. Good location, not too far to Bowness centre.
Would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

This was a lovely review to read, thank you. Thank you for all of your kind comments about our staff, accommodation and food (we have noted your comments about the pate starter). We are further pleased you would stay with us again. we sure hope you do. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
469 reviews
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,068 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: $93 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing