We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is!”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It is what it is!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed 2 nights on the groupon voucher and to be fair it's a three star hotel and that's what you get. the icing on the cake is the fantastic food , lovely staff and the gorgeous surroundings.
Our room was unusual the main part had no window which was odd but through a arch was a little annex with two windows and a single bed that my daughter loved as it gave her a little in dependant space of her own yet she was still safe .
The breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere !
We are on Vodaphone and had no problems with service or internet .
On reflection I would say a tin of magnolia would solve a lot of the gripes people have and our room 2 did have an overwhelming smell of smoke of an evening from the fire how you would resolve this I don't know.
All in all we got value for money but I wouldn't pay rack rate

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvrholsCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for visiting. Your review was enjoyable to read. Room 2 is a good family room; kids definitely enjoy being in their "own" room, but parents appreciate that they are close by as well. We are very happy that you found us to be good value and appreciate all of your comments about our food, staff and location. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    787
    232
    86
    66
See reviews for
309
1,339
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed last weekend and found the hotel was very good but for one or two niggles. The water pressure in our room was low and barely able to run the shower, the other was that the internet connection was equally feeble. As a result I could not recommend this hotel for work conferencing or streaming Iplayer. To be fair though, everything else was A1.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Savsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks for visiting and posting your nice review. Very happy you enjoyed your stay save the couple of niggles; we are sorting out the bugs in our new WiFi system, but we aren't far from having it being perfect. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I had booked the two night Groupon deal for my boyfriends birthday and were really looking forward to it. The receptionist Yvonne was rather surly and not as friendly and accomodating as i would have hoped, which didnt give us the greatest first impression. We were given room 34 and on entry we were greeted by the most unpleasant wet dog smell. The window was wide open in the hope to get rid of the smell but it was absolutely ingrained into the carpets, along with lots and lots of dog hairs. I would have thought that pet friendly rooms would be kept for customers with pets only, especially accounting for people with pet allergies. We complained at reception and moved to room 20 which thankfully was odour free.

The room was satisfactory but certainly dated. The bed was hardly big enough for two people. The water in the bathroom taps spluttered out constantly and soaked everywhere.

We couldnt get Wifi in the room at all and had to stand out in the corridor to get any signal.

The food for the evening meal was probably the worst food myself and my boyfriend have ever had. We actually couldnt bring ourselves to eat course 3 and 4. The quality, portions and presentation may have been acceptable 20 years ago but certainly hadnt kept up to date with current dining standards. My boyfriend started with the pate, which was two huge dollops of mushy pate and one small piece of toasted bread, with some token salad leaves in the middle of the plate. I had the Tarte tartin, which was basically a half cooked cirle of puff pastry with caramalised onions ontop in the middle of a huge bowl full of spinach and salad leaves and some goats cheese pieces strewn around. My boyfriends risotto was the most disgusting mush on a plate we had ever seen, with giant pieces of green beans, courgette and broccoli in between white mushy rice topped with a large amount of goats cheese. My salmon came out totally raw in the middle so I asked it be cooked some more, it came back only just cooked through but with a lot of bones in it too. The 'potato rosti' was a mound of crushed new potatoes which had absolutely no flavour whatsoever. We had about two mouthfuls and couldnt eat anymore. They say you eat with your eyes and i can honestly say that this food had no attention to detail when it came to presentation, no thought involved regarding portion sizes and no idea when it came to flavour. The waiter did ask us if we wanted anything else but we politely declined.

On check out the receptionist asked us if we enjoyed our stay and we were honest. She stated that the hotel was known for its good food which we were surprised about. We declined the voucher she was going to give us for another stay.

On the whole i think i had high expectations mainly due to the website and the photographs of the hotel but in reality the whole place is dated and in need of a good once over. On a plus the waiters in the restaurant were attentive and polite and the pool was quite nice but we certainly wouldnt be going back to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 34 if you dont have a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozza1983photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We were disappointed to read this review, not least because we are quite well-known for the quality of our dining experience. As others can read on here, our food and the chefs preparing it are highly regarded for their skill. We are just sorry that this couple was unable to experience what so many others have. We do have several rooms held off as pet-free, but the nature and high occupancy of the hotel sometimes makes it difficult to allocate pet-free rooms at all times. Typically, the rooms are cleaned to such a standard that all pet residue and smells are gone. We do apologise that this was not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Although I was a bit disappointed our room did not have a bath we had a lovely stay. The food served was top quality and my boyfriend was very impressed with the 'help yourself' style English breakfast. In fact he liked it so much he helped himself to a second full plate!! The evening meal was included in with our 2 night stay and was excellent.

The pool was small but clean. I did find it a bit cold for me, but I was informed that the temperature was average for a competitive pool. I also treated myself to a facial in the treatment room which was extremely relaxing and good value for money.

On the first night we joined the quiz and it was great fun. All money raised was for a local children's charity and Martyn was a brilliant host. There was a lovely atmosphere and all the guests seemed to be also having a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. Guests certainly won't go hungry whilst staying with us, and our delicious breakfast buffets sets one up nicely for the day! We're pleased you enjoyed the quiz as well and the local children's group will certainly appreciate your help. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doune, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Last week we met up with four friends, for a two night break, at the Damson Dene hotel.
We stayed in a downstairs family room at the back of the hotel, that had two bunk beds in addition to the double. The space was fine for a couple, but I would imagine it would be rather tight for a family of four. The bathroom was small and although it had a shower fitting did not have a shower screen or curtain. Sitting in the bath to have a shower was certainly novel!
The view out of the room was not so good either, looking on to steps and the laundry.
I would agree with the comments of other reviewers, that the hotel is tired and in need of updating.
However, the staff were lovely and the selection and quality of the food in the restaurant was very good. In saying that, unfortunately four meals had to be sent back: two for being cold and two for not being as described on the menu! However, the staff were very helpful and sorted this out.
Also, quality and quantity of food at breakfast was very good indeed.

Room Tip: Upstairs room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us and for your nice comments about our staff and food (although this was definitely the only time meals had to be sent back like that and I do apologise). We do hope you'll consider visiting us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Had a brilliant weekend ,hotel very clean,food very good,staff very friendly and helpful .Quite location,, beautiful scenery,also treated myself to a massage and facial ,after going for a swim and sauna at the hotel ,,felt relaxed and very pampered , Hotel as some nice walks near by, and not for from lake windemere by car.The drinks at the bar were dear,but over all cant complain .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Lovely review thank you, although it does seem like the rating should be higher than 3-stars but we won't complain! We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed our location, staff and food and hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at the Damson Dene last week on a 2 night Groupon deal, with evening meal included on the first night, and breakfast both mornings. The hotel appearance is a bit tired and in need of some updating but that didn't stop us from thoroughly enjoying ourselves. I used the pool and steam room which was lovely and relaxing. We had the evening meal in the restaurant on the first night which was superb (highly recommend the chicken with risotto), and ate in the bar area on the 2nd evening which was just as delicious. The buffet breakfast was scrummy and no limit on extra toast etc.
The staff were friendly and very accommodating. Wayne is a great host, along with Fly. A great atmosphere throughout the place. Our only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer. We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Everyone has enjoyed reading your review and all of your kind comments, so thank you for that. It is always nice when the only regret is not having been with us for longer. We will definitely look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
491 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,530 reviews
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing