We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our daughters wedding day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our daughters wedding day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

we have just returned after an amazing 4 days at the damson dene to celebrate the wedding of our daughter sara to scott woods,it was just perfect,the manager Wayne is a true gentlemen ,along with his caring staff nothing was to much trouble ,the location was perfect,the food was excellent,also plenty of it,the hotel looking amazing,christmas trees and decorations everywhere,truly wonderful,thankyou so much Wayne for making their special day just perfect,even the visit from santa for all the children was wonderful.We can,t thankyou you enough for all your help,we will definatley return very soon ,so can we wish you a very happy christmas,and a very happy new year,thankyou once again,best wishes from Heather and Dave,Sara,s mum and dad xx

Room Tip: ask at reception,they are very helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wedding939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Wonderful 5-star review thank you. It was our pleasure hosting this beautiful wedding and we really appreciate your kind review. Thank again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    784
    230
    84
    66
See reviews for
304
1,333
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My family and i have just attended a wedding at this hotel. On arrival the foyer was homely and welcoming and the wedding itself was beautiful. The food was very nice although drink were a bit pricey. The wedding itself and how we feel they supported the bride were excellent.
However, the room itself was disappointing. We was in room too and had an extra bed and a travel cot in order to make it a family room. On arrival my husband sat on the extra bed (with intentions to take his shoes off) but when he sat on the bed the whole thing collapsed so he spent the next 10 minutes fitting it all back together so it was safe enough for our son to sleep in. The room itself was not very well cleaned. There was a dead wasp on the floor near the skirting and when we went into the bathroom the bath had hair in it (what appeared to be someone previous shaving their legs) this indicated that the bath had not been cleaned and therefore i needed ti clean this before i could bath my own two children that night.
There were slight imperfections that went on to further disappoint such as a crack in the bath and the tap cap missing. Also throughout the night we lost the use of our bathroom light and the light above the mirror never worked from the beginning.
On arrival seeing a four poster bed i was looking forward to a great nights sleep however the bed itself was uncomfortable and the whole bed creaked with every turn in bed.
The highlight of the stay after (of course) the wed of our family, was the duck pond and the children being able to feed the ducks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJWaldron88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was a lovely day and we were very happy to play our small part in the wedding. I do apologise for the issues with the room you were in. We will definitely have those issued looked at asap as it is such an excellent room usually - large, comfortable - in short perfect for families. Thank you for bringing these things to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We spent two lovely days at the damson dene. We were celebrating my nieces wedding, which was held at the hotel, and everything was wonderful. The hotel itself has a warm and friendly atmosphere and manager, Wayne, and his staff could not be more attentive. The food was excellent and the restaurant was a lovely room with great scenic views. The rooms are very comfortable and warm. We must give a special mention to Fly, Wayne's gorgeous dog. Highly recommended and we hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to host your family for the big wedding and we are delighted you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for your special mention of our staff, food and of course, Fly! We hope to see you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We purchased a Groupon voucher for this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights
The staff were very welcoming and the Manager was so friendly. The restaurant was good and the food was also good. The hotel was very clean and had lovely big settee's and a log fire in the reception. In the evening we had a quiz and everyone joined really good fun. I would recommend this hotel. Ken and Jenny

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenjen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review and for staying with us. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of our great offer and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale Lancashire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

A very pleasant Groupon stay for 2 x nights; we had to cancel original booking due to family illness and re-arrange for 29th and 30th November, The staff who changed the booking for us could not have been more helpful. This is a nice cosy hotel tucked away with a nice pub for non-residents as well, a nice Restaurant and very pleasant staff. It was tastefully decorated with Christmas trees and Christmas decorations too. We agree with lots of comments on here about the place looking tired in places but don’t let this put you off since it is spotlessly clean. We would not usually choose to stay at a dog-friendly Hotel and we did find dogs were always in the bar whenever we went in; thankfully this was not a problem for us on this occasion. One negative thing we did notice was that you can clearly hear what is going on in rooms above and next to you. We knew when TV’s were on and off, when they were chatting and walking around etc. We dined in the Restaurant both nights and we found the food very nice indeed. The staff are all very pleasant and efficient. Tablecloths would be a nice touch we feel, rather than just table mats. There was a good choice at Breakfast too and once again staff very obliging, We would consider this Hotel again if on a deal for a short break but to be honest would prefer a no pets welcome establishment as first choice usually.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GNP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and for your kind comments about all of our staff. We are further pleased you found us to be good value for money. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
287 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just come back from our 2 night stay at the Damson Dene and loved it!
The staff were so friendly and welcoming, particularly the manager Wayne who really went out of his way to talk to all the guests.
The hotel is lovely, cosy and very clean with a nice lounge area in the foyer, a lovely bar area and a large dining area.
The food was superb! We had the 3 course meal on the first night which was excellent with really large portions. The trio of sticky toffee puddings were amazing! Breakfast was also very good.
The bar prices were very reasonable and there was also a pub quiz on the Saturday night run by Wayne which was really good (I believe there was also one on Friday night too!). It was a great way to spend the night as we got chatting to other guests and have a good laugh!
The room itself was quite small but it was cosy and the bathroom was quite a decent size. It was very clean though and previous reviewers who claim it's worn may need to remember this is a 3 star hotel, not the 5 star hotel they may be looking for! I thought everything else about the hotel certainly made up for any wear and tear in the room!
The leisure facilities were ok - the pool was quite cold and the place needed a spruce up as there was a bit of peeling paint - however I believe it is getting decorated over the next few days!
All in all we had a fab time and I will really miss feeding those ducks in the morning! Thank you Wayne and co. for your excellent hospitality, we'd love to come again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen_Andy_Lawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your stay and wonderful, 5-star review. We really cannot thank you enough for all of your kind comments about our staff, food and lounge area. We're pleased you enjoyed the pub quiz as well. We'd love for you to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in November on a special offer following an earlier stay at a hotel which is part of the same group. Nice welcoming log fire in reception on arrival, warm welcome from receptionist. Rooms rather compact but very comfy and warm. I have only rated it average though, because the standard was what I would expect from a 3 star hotel and because of the sound of running water to adjoining rooms as other guests used their bathrooms. This sounded quite loud at times as the hotel is in a very peaceful location.
Had a meal in the Restaurant one night and in the bar on the other - both excellent. Full english breakfast also excellent and the staff very friendly and efficient. Didn't use the Spa or gym so can't comment on that. Will stay there again especially as we received another special offer voucher on checkout. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 165andrewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your kind review of your dining experience and our staff too. We will look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing