We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Damson Dene Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,287)
Filter reviews
2,287 results
Traveler rating
1,004
846
264
99
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,004
846
264
99
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck pondgroupon deallog fireleisure facilitiesmanager waynejacuzzi bathevening mealfour posterquiz nightreception areadog friendly hoteltwo nightsthree course mealvenisonbreakfast was buffet stylefamily roomlake district
Filter
Updating list...
1,320 - 1,325 of 2,287 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we booked a 2 night stay with a deal of 3 cse dinner and breakfast ,and could not fault it food was great service friendly polite staff and the ducks!! room was lovely and leisure facilities were great read past reviews and yes a little attention to detail is needed but it does not exacly stare you in the face ,its a lovely well run hotel ideal for location to lakes will definitley stay again infact waiting for the winter to come back food is fab and breakfast excellent we stayed in a 4 star gold other week but it did not match the damson dene !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We really appreciate your nice review. Thank you for all of your comments and we hope we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a weekend stay here with 15 members of the family as a get together before our wedding here In December. Between us we had room 10, room 2, room 27, the woodland suite and a cottage and all the rooms were great, could nt complain .
Had a gorgeous meal in the evening, all sat together and the service and the food were excellent, stunning food.This was followed by a quiz in the bar, where wayne had us in stitches, really good atmosphere with all the guests getting involved , had a really good giggle : )
The children more than made the most of the leisure facilities and loved the pool there, really good fun all round, cant wait for the wedding now.
Thanks again to the damson dene and all it s staff, wayne, amos, laura, jean and Yvonne, to name but a few, for a memorable stay, cant wait for the wedding now : )))

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We are all looking forward to December and hosting your wedding! I'm really pleased you had a nice stay with us and want to thank you for posting this lovely, 5-star review. I'm sure before we know it it will be wedding time! Best of luck in the final preparations. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

we stayed for a weekend we had a nice stay the room was small but nice and clean the staff were all lovely and couldn`t do enough to help. the food was very good as was the bar . the receptionist was superb what a asset keep up the good work hanah . me and my wife both had spa treatments with sharon and the lava shell massage was the best i`ve ever had its a must for relaxing it was actually the best part and its hardly mentioned when booking

Room Tip: we had a room on the corner by the road and had a lovely nights sleep
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirminghamJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for the 5-star review. Thanks for mentioning our staff in your review too! Sharon is wonderful, as you say, and she is happy to read your kind words. Do come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent 3nights here very pleasant surroundings Hotel could do with some upgrading in certain areas Staff very pleasant willing to stop and talk Food good but didn't have full change of menu every night Would recommend and return sometime in the future

Room Tip: Would not go for a standard room next time
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187069Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thanks for posting your nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We initially thought this hotel was a bit out of the way as its a 5 mile drive to Bowness but after spending the afternoon there, it was heaving as it was a bank holiday, we were glad to get back to the peace and tranquility of the hotel.
It was good value for money, and included a boat trip on Windermere which was lovely. The bar menu is rather limited so we ate out on our 2nd night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thanks for this nice review. The Lyth Valley is a bastion of peace and tranquility, especially compared to bank holiday Bowness! I'm glad you think us as good value for money as that is exactly what we are going for! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews