We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taylor`s Trip To The Lakes”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Just returned from a two day break at this hotel and I must say my husband and I was most impressed, we were given a two night stay by our son and daughter-in-law as a Christmas present..
The Hotel was very clean comfortable had excellent food and had good leisure facilities, which we used each day, staff were very helpful and polite. Would recommend this hotel and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TUGGYTAYLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

I am thrilled your Christmas present at the Damson Dene exceeded your expectations! I'm also glad you got to enjoy the use of the pool and leisure facilities. I feel it offers a nice treat to be able to go for a swim, or use the steam room, etc to relax. I hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
There are newer reviews for Damson Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,734 - 1,740 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

We came for the first time in august and loved it. We were then bought a 2 night stay with dinner bed and breakfast as a Christmas present. My 2 young boys were looking so forward to going. Our family room was room number 2. It was lovely and spacious with 2 single beds plus double bed! My mother stayed in room 29 and she was more than happy with the views over the valley and gardens. The entrance lounge had a lovely fire burning which added to the cosiness of the hotel. The food was amazing and the staff were always polite and caring. The only downside was that we didn't see Wayne the manager, probably having a holiday from being busy at Christmas. Hope to come again sometime soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jsumnerandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

What a wonderful review! Thank you for that. We are happy your family enjoyed your stay with us. Like you, we believe our lounge to be cosy and comfortable, just what people need after a long walk in the Lakes. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and food. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Recently stayed for a two night break.We chose the hotel as it is dog friendly and we have two young dogs and wanted to take them with us.The only slight problem was we were placed in a lovely room with four poster bed and jacuzzi upstairs thro a fire door and along a corridor which was a nightmare with two young dogs who wanted to go out all the time.The dogs were scared of the stairs and we had to carry them up and down which was embarassing as they are quite big but it amused all the guests in the reception area!!!!Looking back it was quite funny really but we may ask next time if we could have a ground floor room!!We had a great time,the food is fantastic and all the staff are wonderful and very attentive.Wayne you will be glad to know i am still rotting my teeth on my wine and soda!!!!Ha ha ha we will return without doubt and enjoy your lovely hotel once again.Cathy and Brian

Room Tip: book this hotel straight away its a delight
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cms7445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

Hi Cathy and Brian and thanks for your wonderful review! I remember well your two lovely dogs with their fear of the stairs! Yes, next time we will book you into a ground floor room. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Went for our second visit following a lovely stay in September. We enjoyed that visit so much we decided to book for a Christmas Party night. Upon returning home we told our friends how great the hotel was so a further four couples decided to join us. It was quite simply the best night we had last year, and all our friends agreed. Food is fantastic, staff very helpful and the four poster rooms we all had were amazing. Wayne is a true credit to the hotel . We will all be back for a party night next year and my wife and I can't wait for our next visit prior to that. Chris and Sharon Heffron.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

Hi Chris and Sharon,

We appreciate your visits to the hotel and we couldn't be happier that you've enjoyed your Christmas party night! All our staff worked very hard to make this past Christmas one to remember. I'm sure we'll see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We have just returned from a tremendous stay at the damson dene. I had some reservations initially as I did not realise it was a dog friendly hotel or had been part of a tv show. These concerns were quickly quelled upon arrival as the staff were so helpful and accommodating. The hotel is very clean, and some guests had very well behaved dogs with them. In our time there I did not see a trace or smell of any animal. The gym and pool are fine for a quick workout, but the highlight for us was the food!

The menu changes daily and the meals we had were some of the best we have enjoyed. Service from the hard working staff is excellent with nothing being too much trouble. The bar serves local real ales at a decent price, and made a great location to have a couple of pre-dinner drinks.

If you are looking for a hotel that is clean, has good food and excellent service at a reasonable price then it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacs9303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you for your great review! Wonderful, hard-working staff, great food, well-behaved dogs, and more! You summed up well the kind of atmosphere and holiday experience we try to create at the Damson Dene so thank you. We do hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Cosy hotel. Comfy sofa's and wood burning fire place in reception. Tasty food and great service all round from friendly staff (specially the manager who does everything and all hours!!)

Negative side.....rooms are small and if the next door is watching you could hear it !! Just below our room was the games/tv room and I guess kids were allowed to play and watch tv any hours as we could hear them in our bedroom. The water pressure is poor in all bathrooms (we booked 3 rooms). We stayed for 3 nights and jacuzzi was out of order all the time we stayed. Would have been nice if it was sorted as our visit was just for relaxing.

Positive side......food for vegetarian was good. I would say that our stay was a fun stay. Quiz night was lots of laugh and again the manager was a great entertainer.

Room Tip: We had a four poster bed room but the rooms were very small !!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ganesh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay over the holiday period and for your review. I am very happy you enjoyed yourselves. We take great pride in our food as well as our staff. Everyone works hard to ensure our guests are well-looked after. The jacuzzi in the leisure centre was waiting for a part over Christmas, but it is now back to proper working order. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Damson Dene over the New Year and had a delightful stay. After parking in the spacious car park we were welcomed by a warm cosy fire in reception. The receptionist greeted us with a smile before telling us about our room. Our spacious family room had a large four poster bed, two singles, a flat screen TV that offered many channels and an en-suite bathroom which had both a bath and shower in it. On our first evening we gathered in reception along with many other people around the warm fire while Wayne offered us delicious assorted canapés and bucks fizz. After getting to know some of the other guests we made our way into the dining room for a very filling 3 course evening meal. Our children could choose from either the main menu or the children’s meal. The restaurant staff were very quickly there if we needed anything filling up!. After the meal it was nice to relax on the very cosy sofas in the reception area in front of the fire.
Breakfast at the Dansom Dene was a very good experience. Cereals were following by a choice of fruit, yogurts, toast and the Full English Breakfast Buffet, not forgetting unlimited tea, coffee and a selection of fruit juices.
New Year’s Eve dinner menu was even better than the night before, 6 courses were included in the candle lit dinner. The atmosphere was very joyful, everybody was in full swing. After most people had finished eating the DJ started entertaining us getting everybody up and into the spirit. He then played a variety of songs from all genres and eras to suit everybody’s choice while the polite staff quickly cleared the tables then filled our champagne glasses ready for midnight. It was a late night but it was worth it.
New Years Day was spent relaxing in the leisure facilities. A clean gym was equipped with a selection of machines targeting at different areas of the body. Whether people wanted a steady run or full on weight session you could in this gym. The swimming pool was warm and relaxing as was the sauna and steam room. Our final evening meal consisted of yet another fine selection of choices giving us the opportunity to try something new. This was followed by the New Year’s Day quiz in the lounge bar. Wayne was the host for the quiz, with only one question being about him!! which we knew the answer to! I think the answer to that question was only known to a few as it helped us to win the quiz. A bottle of champagne was our prize.
Overall our stay at the Dansom Dene was well worth its money. I cannot state enough how friendly the staff were, nothing was ever too much trouble for them, and the food was 1st Class.
Thanks Wayne & co......

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claire f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,056 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: $97 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing