We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Damson Dene Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
$195
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
$449
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$251
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$355
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
$60
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,272)
Filter reviews
2,272 results
Traveler rating
999
840
263
96
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
999
840
263
96
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck pondgroupon deallog fireleisure facilitiesmanager waynejacuzzi bathevening mealfour posterquiz nightreception areadog friendly hoteltwo nightsthree course mealvenisonbreakfast was buffet stylefamily roomlake district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,912 - 1,917 of 2,272 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed four nights late September on the Travelzoo deal. Receptionist was really friendly and helpful on arrival. Room 14 by the road, traffic not a problem. The room was compact, you did beat the dressing table with the door every time you went in but it was adequate and clean. Tea tray well stocked and nice little smellies in the bathroom. The only downer was the bed and pillows, they were awful. We actually went to Asda and bought some new pillows. The food in the evening was fantastic. The breakfasts got a bit boring, plenty to eat just never changed the choice of fruit. Word of warning - the tongs get really hot so use a napkin to pick them up. We were lucky and had fantastic weather so we never got to try the pool out. I didn't realise before i booked it that the hotel was dog friendly and i have to say despite seeing some huge dogs in reception i wasn't disturbed by any barking and never noticed any doggy smell. I was charged for a newspaper i didn't receive though. I should have checked the bill better before paying it. I would return but the price would need to be right. The location and views are fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveholidays_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

After reading a few unfavourable reviews about the Damson Dene I was a bit worried that it would be a downtrodden and dirty place with awful food and expensive drinks, but it was with great relief that we found it to be exactly the opposite. We were in cottage 2 which was fine for us as we prefer to be away from any noise. The cottage was immaculate, the beds and towels fresh and clean, and the big screen TVs a real bonus. It poured with rain the whole time we were there but it didn't stop us from enjoying the view of the pond and gardens. The leisure centre is fairly small but it was a nice bonus on a wet day when sightseeing wasn't really an option. The choice of food for the evening meal was excellent and the quality and presentation were first class. Similarly, the breakfast was of excellent quality with a good range of hot and cold food. The staff were attentive without being overbearing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: The cottages sleep 3-4 and have TVs upstairs and down!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My partner really wanted to visit after watching on the TV, my initial thought was dread as in my mind it was going to be a totally cheesy experience....the truth was far from it.
From the way you are first greeted to the final good bye the whole experience was amazing, I have never received such fantastic customer service before in a hotel.
Although the decor is tired it adds to its overall character, the rooms are clean and comfortable.
The evening meal was beautiful, being a bit of a foodie I was pleased and again would recommend.
My only grumble was how hot it was in the hotel, myself and other ladies of a certain age certainly were having uncontrollable senior tropical moments due to the heating being on what we thought full blast.
Reasonably priced, wonderful staff (thanks Amos), service, food and wines lovely....not often I would say give this place a visit, but I will visit again and even stay longer...... a great set up, managed very well. Well done all at the Damson Dene.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Had to go after watching tv series. Would recommend - staff absolutely delightful - so friendly. Best surprise was the food. The restaurant now has a new chef and food was really good indeed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were staying as a friend was getting married nearby. Room not ready when we arrived so had to dress for wedding in swimming pool toilets- accompanied by 5 four year olds and their parents who had just had a swimming lesson, with the area under an inch of water.
Arrived back much later in the evening, luggage had been taken to our room. Globe blown on one of the two bedside lamps, time on the clock wrong by a few hours. Very large four poster bed so large that we couldn't get the medium side suitcase past the end of the bed and the wall (sideways on my partner's head worked!). Squishy bed creaked every time one of us turned over, so woke up cranky. Next morning (Sunday) saw a flyer in the room for Weekend Special Beauty Treatment Package- book at reception. Tried to call reception, none of the speed dial buttons on the phone working, so walked up there. Reception said that the beautician doesn't work Sunday. Gave up and went to breakfast. Lukewarm bain marie-style fare. In all it cost us more than 5 star accommodation in Sydney and we left feeling hard done by. We went somewhere else in the Lake District the next night which was 70 pounds cheaper and three stars nicer, with a freshly cooked breakfast included. It wasn't all bad though. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the ducks are brilliant and love cold toast and the external grounds and flowers beautiful. Also note to anyone with mobility issues- there are steep flights of stairs in the hotel to get to many rooms and no lifts, so attempt with a heavy suitcase at your peril...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank specialjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to offer your reviews of the Damson Dene. We appreciate your opinion, but do not believe your stay is representative of our hotel. All rooms for arrivals are ready between 2 and 4 pm. If you arrived prior to that, the room may still have needed to be cleaned from previous nights guests. We also have other bathroom facilities than the pool area that could have been changed in. Also, we would have gladly helped with your luggage had we known. We did have an issue with the phones, but that has since been rectified.

Again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews