We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,342)
Filter reviews
2,342 results
Traveler rating
1,030
863
271
99
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,030
863
271
99
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck pondgroupon deallog fireleisure facilitiesjacuzzi bathmanager waynefour poster bedquiz nightevening mealreception areadog friendly hotelvenisontwo nightsthree course mealbreakfast was buffet stylelake districtfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
2,121 - 2,126 of 2,342 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Booked this last minute as a getaway after our wedding. I found it on a dog friendly hotel website and I have to say it did look lovely on the website. We were really looking forward to it having seen a photograph of the four poster bed on the website and the photographs of what I thought was the lounge looked lovely with a roaring fire.
As we approached our destination our hearts sank, even in the bright sunshine it looked dismal and bleak on the road. We remained positive and went to check in, we were directed to our room which was down stairs down a long dark prison like corridor and upon opening the door we discovered not just that the 4 poster took up 80% of the space but it had also not been cleaned or made from the previous occupiers, there was an unmade bed, drinks bottles, a filthy bath, it was awful. We informed the staff who were not apologetic and left to consider our options. As we both wanted to cry at this point we did not take in the beauty of Fell Foot Park we instead did a quick desperate search to find alternative accommodation. Upon finding accommodation we immediately went back and checked out, again the staff were not apologetic and we lost our £50 deposit which is a shame.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank mcqueenhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

We are disappointed to read this review as it is highly unrepresentative of the level of service we aim to provide at the Damson Dene Hotel. The matter has been looked into and a private email has been sent out to the customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed there 5th June on the Sunday Saver deal. It was a lovely hotel and a very relaxing place. The views are lovely and the staff are very helpful, the food is also lovely. The rooms were so clean and tidy, from watching the c4 The Hotel they made the hotel an awful place to go but I strongly disagree. I most certainly be going again. Thank you to all the staff ;)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heidihidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we really appreciate your positive feedback. It's great that you had a relaxing stay and that you enjoyed enjoyed our food and service. We hope you see you again when you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed here in April/May and was really happy with the stay.

I think the TV Show portrayal of the staff is fairly accurate. The staff, particularly Wayne are lovely. Lavinia is also lovely, and Paul the bar manager is very helpful and accommodating.

Food was excellent. With big breakfasts and lovely evening menu and quite posh service when we dined there.

The hotel isalso accurately seen on TV as not 5 star opulence, but it is clean, the gardens pretty, and overall very friendly. If I'm in the lakes again. I will definitely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heffers49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for this great review. The staff will be really pleased to hear that they contributed so positively to your stay. We look forward to seeing you when you return to the Lake District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We loved our 4 days break in this hotel! Wayne very friendly and all staff nice. Beautiful views of the grounds from bar and restaurant, would love to come and stay again. Also having our collie wth us, dogs made welcome. David and Susan Melville

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanm589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are very glad that you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you are able to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

mywife and myself and tow small dogs stayed here for two nights.there are no smells and the hotel is tidy.we had a great room with a four poster bed and was over looking the gardens. the dinning room was of a great standard and all produce was sourced locally.meals were of a great standard and breakfast was a treat.the staff were all very polite and courteous.
wayne and his dog fly and staff made us feel very much at home in a relaxed setting.locationn is ideal for seeing the lake district.we will certianly be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsmith1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for writing such a lovely review. It is always nice to hear such positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed a relaxing stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews