We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic...very relaxing”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights. She wanted to go as an avid watcher of the TV show and as I worked there 27 years ago I thought it would be nice to go back. We were not disappointed. It was a fantastic break. The best of hotels can be awful if you haven't got the right staff. The staff are very warm, welcoming and friendly, extremely polite and nothing was a bother to them. The food was fantastic, especially the presentation of the deserts. The hotel was quiet and relaxing, not like the hyped up chaotic version shown on the TV. We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milly167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's lovely that you were able to come back and visit the Damson Dene after so many years and we are very pleased that you experienced the welcoming, relaxing break that we aim to provide. We look forward to seeing you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,966 - 1,972 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

I was horrified when I heard I had booked 4 rooms for the family in this Channel 4 fly on the wall hotel. However knowing TV over dramatisation and on calling the hotel speaking to Yvonne the Reception Manager I was re-assured.
The reception areas are so clean you would not know dogs had been there!
The staff are so friendly, helpful and courteous they are wonderful ambassadors for their countries of origin Nothing is to much trouble for them. (They are not all Polish speaking with no English!!). I have often experienced English hotel staff far less courteous.
The food is excellent, served timely and efficiently, the chef's are to be complimented on their presentation.
In the beautiful countryside within an easy drive of Windermere and Bowness with its amenities and steamer it could'nt be better located. The local wild life and fauna all around, for views and a look at the lovely rooms visit the hotels website.
If you have heard about the show and are not sure ignore it is a lovely 3 star country hotel and spa that deserves a plus rating considering the hard working staff, food and spa facilities. Ofcourse some people love the programme and they have visitors now popping in for lunch and photos with the stars!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pedwards49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

What a lovely review, thank you. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the food and service was of an excellent standard. The staff will be delighted to hear that they were able to contribute so positively to your experience. We hope that you and your family are able to come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Our short stay at the Damson Dene was an excellent choice. The staff from the General Manager down were very pleasant, professional and helpful.
The room was clean and tidy, with assorted coffee, tea and chocolate packets for our use.
The outdoor location with the lake walks and wildlife helped us to relax and further enjoy our break.
The evening meal and breakfast were of a high quality.
We really did enjoy our break and will return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank j0hnmillingt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy our facilities, food and surroundings. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

... if you watched the programme, the hotel is much bigger and better in real life, you didnt get to see the gym and pool areas... we me wayne and amos, and fly the dog... everyone was really chatty and friendly... we may be bias cos were fans of the show and a bit star struck, wayne and amos where lovely in the flesh... we'd definately recommend it!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cessie186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I talked my partner into spending the weekend at the Damson Dene hotel after watching the TV show on channel 4. Firstly the negative reviews on this site, don't listen to them! They all are very similar which was weird, I think it may be a competitor taking advantage of this site.

On arrival at the hotel we where greeted by a lovely receptionist who checked us in. She was absolutely fantastic and answered every question my partner had about the local area and what there was to do. Due to car trouble we arrived at the hotel after midnight. We where so worried that we would not be allowed to check in or be stung with a massive fee to pay. After we where checked in the receptionist even offered to bring us up some dinner even though the kitchen was closed.

The rooms are basic but not bad... I have stayed in much worse rooms at holiday inn and premier inn over the country.

Overall I would highly recommend anyone to go to the Danson, give it a try... Any issues you have WILL be resolved buy the many lovely staff who work there

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chrismcc1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for writing this great review. We are pleased that you chose to come and stay with us after watching The Hotel. We are really happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and your lovely comments will be passed onto the relevant staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife ,baby and I stayed at the Danson Dean in May for a short break after seeing the TV program ,we were made to feel very welcome by the staff on arrival and they all made a fuss of our baby our room was very clean and the food was very tasty . the manager Wayne was very friendly and very funny and spoke to all the guests in the restaurant and everyone seemed happy, my wife could not stop laughing , we will be returning to the Dansen Dean. next year I would like to thank all the staff for a lovely stay ..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank londek5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay as much as you enjoyed the TV programme. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I booked this hotel BEFORE the tv documentary and only learned about same a few days before we went, so was unaware of the allowance of pets. We stayed there about 10 years ago and this was not the case then. It would definitely have been a factor when choosing our stay. In fairness, the hotel did not smell doggy, nor did I encounter dog hairs. However, whenever we left our room we set off barking from all of the rooms that contained dogs. Sleep was disturbed by barking or the noise of said animals bounding around in their rooms. I do not relish the thought of sleeping in a room previously occupied by a dog (especially if it had jumped into the pond).

Apart from this, everything else was fine - good food, friendly staff and excellent housekeeping.

Room Tip: Room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Shuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

We are sorry to hear that your stay was affected by our acceptance of dogs at the hotel. However, we do advertise quite clearly that we are dog-friendly and it is often a major pull for many of our guests. We would like to thank you for your positive comments with regards to our service and food, the staff will be pleased to hear that their efforts are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
502 reviews
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,088 reviews
2.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: $91 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing