We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,355)
Filter reviews
2,355 results
Traveler rating
1,037
867
273
99
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,037
867
273
99
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck pond groupon deal leisure facilities log fire jacuzzi bath manager wayne four poster bed quiz night evening meal reception area dog friendly hotel venison two nights three course meal breakfast was buffet style lake district family room
Filter
Updating list...
2,142 - 2,147 of 2,355 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Our short stay at the Damson Dene was an excellent choice. The staff from the General Manager down were very pleasant, professional and helpful.
The room was clean and tidy, with assorted coffee, tea and chocolate packets for our use.
The outdoor location with the lake walks and wildlife helped us to relax and further enjoy our break.
The evening meal and breakfast were of a high quality.
We really did enjoy our break and will return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank j0hnmillingt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy our facilities, food and surroundings. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

... if you watched the programme, the hotel is much bigger and better in real life, you didnt get to see the gym and pool areas... we me wayne and amos, and fly the dog... everyone was really chatty and friendly... we may be bias cos were fans of the show and a bit star struck, wayne and amos where lovely in the flesh... we'd definately recommend it!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cessie186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I talked my partner into spending the weekend at the Damson Dene hotel after watching the TV show on channel 4. Firstly the negative reviews on this site, don't listen to them! They all are very similar which was weird, I think it may be a competitor taking advantage of this site.

On arrival at the hotel we where greeted by a lovely receptionist who checked us in. She was absolutely fantastic and answered every question my partner had about the local area and what there was to do. Due to car trouble we arrived at the hotel after midnight. We where so worried that we would not be allowed to check in or be stung with a massive fee to pay. After we where checked in the receptionist even offered to bring us up some dinner even though the kitchen was closed.

The rooms are basic but not bad... I have stayed in much worse rooms at holiday inn and premier inn over the country.

Overall I would highly recommend anyone to go to the Danson, give it a try... Any issues you have WILL be resolved buy the many lovely staff who work there

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chrismcc1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for writing this great review. We are pleased that you chose to come and stay with us after watching The Hotel. We are really happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and your lovely comments will be passed onto the relevant staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife ,baby and I stayed at the Danson Dean in May for a short break after seeing the TV program ,we were made to feel very welcome by the staff on arrival and they all made a fuss of our baby our room was very clean and the food was very tasty . the manager Wayne was very friendly and very funny and spoke to all the guests in the restaurant and everyone seemed happy, my wife could not stop laughing , we will be returning to the Dansen Dean. next year I would like to thank all the staff for a lovely stay ..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank londek5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay as much as you enjoyed the TV programme. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I booked this hotel BEFORE the tv documentary and only learned about same a few days before we went, so was unaware of the allowance of pets. We stayed there about 10 years ago and this was not the case then. It would definitely have been a factor when choosing our stay. In fairness, the hotel did not smell doggy, nor did I encounter dog hairs. However, whenever we left our room we set off barking from all of the rooms that contained dogs. Sleep was disturbed by barking or the noise of said animals bounding around in their rooms. I do not relish the thought of sleeping in a room previously occupied by a dog (especially if it had jumped into the pond).

Apart from this, everything else was fine - good food, friendly staff and excellent housekeeping.

Room Tip: Room 11
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Shuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

We are sorry to hear that your stay was affected by our acceptance of dogs at the hotel. However, we do advertise quite clearly that we are dog-friendly and it is often a major pull for many of our guests. We would like to thank you for your positive comments with regards to our service and food, the staff will be pleased to hear that their efforts are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews