We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,355)
Filter reviews
2,355 results
Traveler rating
1,037
867
273
99
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,037
867
273
99
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck pond groupon deal leisure facilities log fire jacuzzi bath manager wayne four poster bed quiz night evening meal reception area dog friendly hotel venison two nights three course meal breakfast was buffet style lake district family room
Filter
Updating list...
2,145 - 2,150 of 2,355 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife ,baby and I stayed at the Danson Dean in May for a short break after seeing the TV program ,we were made to feel very welcome by the staff on arrival and they all made a fuss of our baby our room was very clean and the food was very tasty . the manager Wayne was very friendly and very funny and spoke to all the guests in the restaurant and everyone seemed happy, my wife could not stop laughing , we will be returning to the Dansen Dean. next year I would like to thank all the staff for a lovely stay ..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank londek5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay as much as you enjoyed the TV programme. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I booked this hotel BEFORE the tv documentary and only learned about same a few days before we went, so was unaware of the allowance of pets. We stayed there about 10 years ago and this was not the case then. It would definitely have been a factor when choosing our stay. In fairness, the hotel did not smell doggy, nor did I encounter dog hairs. However, whenever we left our room we set off barking from all of the rooms that contained dogs. Sleep was disturbed by barking or the noise of said animals bounding around in their rooms. I do not relish the thought of sleeping in a room previously occupied by a dog (especially if it had jumped into the pond).

Apart from this, everything else was fine - good food, friendly staff and excellent housekeeping.

Room Tip: Room 11
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Shuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

We are sorry to hear that your stay was affected by our acceptance of dogs at the hotel. However, we do advertise quite clearly that we are dog-friendly and it is often a major pull for many of our guests. We would like to thank you for your positive comments with regards to our service and food, the staff will be pleased to hear that their efforts are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from the Damson Dene and I have to say what a wonderful time we had. It is in a great location,( just a few minutes from the lakes) and it really is a home from home. The staff deserve full credit for this, espicially Wayne, Paul and Amos, who made us feel like old friends from the minute we arrived.
We stayed in a 4 poster room with jacuzzi bath (may have to purchase one myself now hahaha) which was very clean and comfortable and the food was just delightful.

So if you are looking for a quiet retreat with beautiful views and great company, this is the place to go.......We'll see you all again soon!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JareckiL-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were worried by the channel 4 propramme on this hotel and would have cancelled. Fortunately we had paid a deposit and there were 8 of us in the family group, otherwise we would havwe missed out on a fantastic weekend. The staff were extremely efficient , and helpful. Wayne the manager led from the front and was always there ensuring the service was spot on. The hotel decour was superb and the food excellent. We felt the staff really cared that we enjoyed ourselves. They even managed to provide a helping of profiteroles after the end of dinner when we returned from a slightly disappointing meal out. All the staff seemed to care and went that extra mile to contribute to our enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We booked a one night stay as a base for exploring the Lakes after watching the series about the hotel on Channel 4. We booked a family room (one child aged 5 and the other 10). Used to spending the night all in the same room, but not ideal! When we arrived at the hotel we were advised that we were staying in the Annex (Cottage 3). There was a twin bedroom downstairs and bathroom and a large double room upstairs (although the wardrobe was downstairs in the children's room). Both bedrooms had flat screen TVs and were clean and tidy. This size of accommodation for a family is a bargain on the Sunday night rate (of a bank holiday weekend) of £140 including dinner, bed and breakfast. Carvery for evening meal was excellent. The staff are very polite and speak excellent English. The bar is small, but well stocked and the grounds are great. No where near as chaotic as the television show. In fact calm, relaxing and good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MizzyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews