We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,342)
Filter reviews
2,342 results
Traveler rating
1,030
863
271
99
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,030
863
271
99
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck pondgroupon deallog fireleisure facilitiesjacuzzi bathmanager waynefour poster bedquiz nightevening mealreception areadog friendly hotelvenisontwo nightsthree course mealbreakfast was buffet stylelake districtfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
2,135 - 2,140 of 2,342 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were worried by the channel 4 propramme on this hotel and would have cancelled. Fortunately we had paid a deposit and there were 8 of us in the family group, otherwise we would havwe missed out on a fantastic weekend. The staff were extremely efficient , and helpful. Wayne the manager led from the front and was always there ensuring the service was spot on. The hotel decour was superb and the food excellent. We felt the staff really cared that we enjoyed ourselves. They even managed to provide a helping of profiteroles after the end of dinner when we returned from a slightly disappointing meal out. All the staff seemed to care and went that extra mile to contribute to our enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We booked a one night stay as a base for exploring the Lakes after watching the series about the hotel on Channel 4. We booked a family room (one child aged 5 and the other 10). Used to spending the night all in the same room, but not ideal! When we arrived at the hotel we were advised that we were staying in the Annex (Cottage 3). There was a twin bedroom downstairs and bathroom and a large double room upstairs (although the wardrobe was downstairs in the children's room). Both bedrooms had flat screen TVs and were clean and tidy. This size of accommodation for a family is a bargain on the Sunday night rate (of a bank holiday weekend) of £140 including dinner, bed and breakfast. Carvery for evening meal was excellent. The staff are very polite and speak excellent English. The bar is small, but well stocked and the grounds are great. No where near as chaotic as the television show. In fact calm, relaxing and good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MizzyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I am one 5 friends who worked together 45 yrs ago and meet up every year for a long weekend. This was our 3rd year at Damson Dene. Service, ambience, food and location all excellent. One or two corners of the hotel are a little tired but Wayne the manager (what a super guy) said they were being attended to. Would definitely rate this hotel as an excellent base for exploring the wonderful countryside and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Many of them are not British but their professionalism and care could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank florence041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We originally booked our break via a Travelzoo offer back in early March. We had never heard of the Damson Dene but considering it's proximity to Lake Windermere, we decided to go for it. Imagine our surprise when we discovered a month later, that the hotel would be the subject of a CH4 documentary. This certainly didn't put us off as the saying goes "don't knock it until you've tried it".

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and afternoon tea was arranged by Lavinia. The foyer/reception area feels like a home which we feel is very important in making people feel comfortable during their stay.

Our room was superb. A four poster bed with a bathroom containing a jacuzzi. Fresh sheets and pillows and the usual complimentary soaps and shampoos in the bathroom with a rarely seen sewing kit, shoeshine and shower caps. Tea and coffee making facilities were excellent with a wide range to choose from.

The food served in the restaurant was first class (well done Kirk & co). The menu changed on a daily basis. Dinner and breakfast were of an exceptionally high standard especially the sausages, lamb and soup. The wine and spirits selection was comprehensive. We must add that it was such a joy in getting served by staff who smiled and never had any hesitation accommodating our requirements.

The surrounding gardens and scenery are very picturesque. During the summer, you could most definitely sit outside and enjoy the sunshine.

And the most important aspect of this review refers to the staff. Very helpful and attentive. We were treated with respect and courtesy at all times as well being treated more like friends than guests. We really did feel at home. A special thank you goes out to Wayne, Amos and Lavinia. You truly know how to look after your guests.

All in all, we had a fantastic time at the Damson Dene. I would be inclined to ignore the CH4 documentary as it only shows what the audience should see for the sake of boosting viewing figures although a bit of free advertising doesn't hurt. We are already looking to returning this coming September.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BobsBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Well, what can I say about his hotel, the location is beautiful but you definately need a car to explore. I dare say that the tv programme has helped in the number of visitors now booking to go to here. The food was good, service good, rooms could do with some updating and better cleaning, I don't have a dog but the hotel does advertise that it is a dog friendly place. The staff that we met were friendly and polite but some were hard to understand, wish I understood Polish or Romanian!

I think the owner of the place summed it up with the line 'we cater to mondeo man' and that is exactly what it does, no frills, the one thing I do object to which was also said in the programme that the British are lazy etc, do not judge all of us - the reason why eastern europeans are employed is because they will work unsocial hours for a pittance and will put up with a lot!! Lets hope the ones that work here will stay in Britain.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pookie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews