We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Head at Middleton
Nearby Hotels
Beckside Hall(Middleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
75
22
5
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
22
5
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubwarm welcomesteak and kidney piedouble bedfairy lightskirkby lonsdalefamily roombig car parklovely mealpateexcellent place to staycumberland sausagefull english breakfastshort drivestayed for one nightlog firelovely location
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 107 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just recently stayed for five days at The Head and can only wonder about the "average" and "terrible" reviews posted on here, in our opinion these reviews are most unfair and should be ignored.
The accommodation is spacious, spotless,and very comfortable, the garden is NOT overgrown it is set out to be a typical cottage garden which in turn attracts different species of wildlife.
Liz and David are superb "mine hosts" with nothing too much trouble, one only needs to ask. The menu at first glance does appear to be typical pub grub but there the similarity ends because the quality of the food and the cooking is certainly well above "pub grub" standard, in fact we have dined in "starred restaurants" and many times the food has been of lesser quality than at The Head.
This was our first visit to the area and will not be our last, The Head will most certainly be our choice of place to stay due to its location but not least because of the warm welcome we received from Liz ,David and staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pianistsuperb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Recently stayed overnight with my 3 collies and will definitely return. Made to feel very welcome, lovely rooms, dog friendly which is unusual when trying to book accommodation anywhere in the Lakes. Loved the gift shop attached to the pub as you can take away a nice souvenir of your visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We spent a thirteen night holiday in May/June. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome and by the end of our stay we felt more as friends than guests. Elizabeth and David could not do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was clean,comfortable and spacious, and the food excellent. With it's location between the Dales and the Lakes, it's value for money and it's all round homeliness, The Head is to be thoroughly recommended, whether it be for a one night stopover or for a longer stay like ours.
We fully intend to have another break there next Spring

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sulan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay the rooms and food were excellent. Good choice of menu. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolew64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stopped at the Head for one night on a quick trip around Cumbria / Yorkshire Dales, we also had food. The staff were friendly, the food was good (and very large portions), the rooms were large, clean and comfortable and overall I was very impressed.

I thought it was very well priced as well to be honest.

Lastly the object of our little trip was to drive some windy roads in exciting countryside and the head is well placed to do just that. Really had quite a refreshing time.

Rob

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews