We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
78
28
4
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
78
28
4
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden homemade pies excellent beer mash cumberland sausage high standard lake district little gem the pub clive landlord dog whitehaven pint ale hosts lakes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 121 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We popped in for dinner and had excellent Cumberland sausage with the best mash I’ve had in ages.
Good local beers too.
It was too cold to visit the beer garden but it’s so well located next to the beck.
I may well come back to do the riverside walk to the Abbey.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 526angelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019

The owners of the Stanley Arms are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are good but would be a bit limiting for a long stay. The bar are doubles as the restaurant, which is fine as far as I am concerned but may not suit everyone.

The menu is quite varied and there is always at lest one daily special. The food itself is very good and well-priced.

Overall, I enjoyed staying and eating here and would recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MopTop B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018 via mobile

This pub is so friendly, with a fantastic menu of home cooked food at very reasonable prices. We visited every night of our trip for a meal. The owners, staff and regulars are all very welcoming, we felt at home there straight away. It is the most dog friendly establishment we have ever visited, our pup loved going just as much as we did Would definitely recommend and we will 100% return. 5*

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank nickifod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Have been here a couple of times before and the food was good and the landlord seemed a bit eccentric but didn't bother us .This time however he acted as if we were an inconvenience to his evening sitting at the bar with his cronies . There is a big tv in the room where we were eating and we asked to put it on to see Strictly Come Dancing .He opened the back door into the garden and shouted " What have I done to deserve this !" .Himself and a friend played snooker/pool very loudly while we were sitting there and complained that we weren't watching it anyhow ! He returned to the bar then came back round and switched the sound down and asked why we didn't sit nearer it ! Bearing in mind there were no other customers in the room to disturb and we didn't have the volume up high. Our meals came and looked nice but my steak was bloody so when the waitress asked was it ok I took her up on the offer to take it back to the chef .About 10 minutes later while my husband was eating alone she brought it back -it was not bloody anymore but positively cremated ! The landlady came round to ask was it ok and I said not really .A few more minutes passed and the landlord came round and gave a half hearted explanation of how it is difficult to get a steak right .He also said that they would make sure we were sorted next time we came .No mention of making it right this time ! No reduction on bill and one thoroughly spoilt last night of our holiday . Will not be going back or recommending this place to anyone .
Think the landlord needs to remember he's running a pub in a hotel and not a bar in his home !

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank roz501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We had the family over & needed somewhere to go locally for lunch. We have passed this hotel many times & have always meant to pay a visit. Glad we did. Firstly, they are dog friendly & our little one was made really welcome. The food was great & good size portions, We all had the steak & ale pie. Great value. Before leaving we looked around the beer garden which has the added benefit of the sight & sound of the river, it also appeared very safe & secure for family's with children. Excellent place for a drink on a sunny day or a pub lunch. Now we know we will certainly be making another visit, time allowing.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews