We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally excels my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sella Park Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calder Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed one night here for a weekend break at the Lake District. There were four of us, all in our twenties. My friend and his girlfriend stayed in the room on the top floor, their room had a low ceiling but was full of character. The room I stayed in with my girlfriend had high ceilings and made it look especially spacious. The beddings were clean, and the bed was very big and comfy. The biggest I've ever slept on. All rooms have free WiFi. However, the cell phone signal on my Vodafone was intermittent, even when it had connection, it was 2G. I had to contact my friend with text messages. The breakfast was excellent quality, my girlfriend said it was the first time she saw jams provided in small glass jars at a hotel rather than plastic capsules. The jams were Wilkin & Sons, my girlfriend told me they are normally top end jams in the supermarket.
Overall, for the price we paid (£70 for a double room), it was definitely value for money!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor has low ceiling space, and naked beam, but they are very well decorated. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weili D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 158 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed Friday night - helpful staff, good sized room (11) with charm and character. Nice additional touches, good quality refreshments - bathroom roomy and well appointed. Really comfortable bed, some background noise from adjacent room but ok. Breakfast excellent and cooked to order with locally sourced produce. Will return again if in area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikingDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We found this hotel to be very relaxing and the staff friendly and helpfull. Only stayed one night, but plan to return for a longer trip when time permits.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsaywWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We got a KGB deal and stayed a Friday and Saturday night at the end of April 2012. The service was perfect - understated but attentive (the evening shift manager was great). Very dog friendly, with our dog allowed in the bar with us on an evening. The bar was lovely and looked out onto the garden. The breakfasts were very tasty and we ate from the bar menu both evenings and had delicious meals that were great value for money. The bedroom was big, with windows to two sides looking out on the lovely garden. It made a great base for walking the western lakes as was only approx 10 miles to Wast Water where we parked both days to head up to the hills. We have already recommended this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We Stopped here on 21st April 2012 and i have to say this is one of the best hotels we have ever stopped in. The ground are very beautiful and the river is very relaxing although you can see the power plant in the distance (if you want to) the landscaping has hidden this very well. the staff were very helpful and the food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast was fantastic.
we are already looking for an excuse to go back.

Mat And Claire Cheshire

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matcrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Have just returned from an overnight stay at Sella Park.
This was a birthday treat for my husband.

We checked in late afternoon, were made most welcome and shown to our room which was a pleasant surprise as it was the Bridal suite with 4 poster bed.
Good hospitality tray and pleasant toileties. Good housekeeping, which must be a challenge as the building is in parts quite old.

We dined from their Whitehaven News offer menu; 4 courses for £45 including a bottle of wine. This was excellent value and we could not fault the food, it was delicious.

Following a good nights sleep we had an excellent full English breakfast, my only comment would be; is it was a shame the plates had not been heated.

All in all a good stay, good food and we would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed two nights on a kgb deal Tuesday & Wednesday. Good value.
This is a good 3 star hotel. Quite old, but is lovely with lots of character throughout although a bit tired in places.
Bedroom was enormous with good quality decor, bathroom large as well.
We didn`t eat in the restaurant as we thought it was expensive, but the bar snacks and drinks were really good and reasonable. Our only negative was the restaurant and bar area lacked atmosphere but if more people used them perhaps this may be better.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Hotel ideally placed for west side of the Lakes, the coast, Cockermouth etc.
Wastwater was wonderful, middle of January, snow on the hills, saw one car, had the place to ourselves. Bet this doesn`t happen often!!
On the way to the hotel drove over Wrynose Pass & Hard Knott Pass. FANTASTIC.
but really hairy. Not sure what you do if something comes the other way.
We had a really lovely break

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ForzaRobur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calder Bridge
2.4 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
79 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St. Bees
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
367 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sella Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sella Park Country House Hotel

Address: Calder Bridge CA20 1DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Calder Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calder Bridge
Price Range: $137 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sella Park Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Country House Hotel in 5 acres of grounds sweeping to the river, top-quality local produce deserved in the rosette winning Priory restaurant. All rooms fully refurbished with all modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sella Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing