We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spinmaster with hidden charge”
Review of The Knoll

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Knoll
Ranked #1 of 2 Lakeside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spinmaster with hidden charge”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Their website was very promising - maybe my expectation was too high. Or the website was misleading. We stayed there for three nights and were very disappointed.
They promised "relaxed time", which means we had to wait for the breakfast until 9 am to start (the website says 8:30am), so by the time we are done, a third of the day was gone. Or we never see any staff around except the part-time breakfast person (she was nice) to ask questions. Their beautiful garden was nice but covered by dog poops (really bad odor) so we had to close the windows, there was no enough parking spaces, those small details were so neglected.
The biggest problem we had there was the laundry charge they had never explained prior. At the first evening, we caught the staff lady to ask where we can find a coin laundry for three shopping bags of dirty clothes. She said they can do it for us. We checked the accommodation manual in the room but there was no mention of the laundry charge so we were wondering if they would charge and how much it would be. It took them 48 hours to do the laundry without any notice (and we couldn't find anyone to ask about it during the time), then they charged about 20 pounds for that at the check-out. During the two days, we had to buy a complete set of new clothes to survive. If we knew how much they charge and how many days it took, we would have gone to a coin laundry by ourselves. At least they should have told us how long it takes them to do that and how much they have to charge.

It may be a good hotel to other people, but this was not for me. Hope the other guests won't ask them to do the laundry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nekoya3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We’re really sorry that your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. We feel especially saddened as we felt we had developed a good rapport with you during your stay. Some of the points you raised could have easily been resolved whilst you were with us.

You have highlighted the ‘hidden charge’ of laundry. We started to offer this service following feedback from other guests who didn’t want to travel 10 miles to the nearest coin laundrette. We based the price of a serviced laundry load (£6.50) on the staff time and cost for running the machines and tumble drier per load. We do specify this cost in our room welcome pack which would have been in both of your rooms but I’m sorry if this was not made clear to you at the time we offered this service. Your laundry was available that evening and again, I apologise that we didn’t deliver this to your room that night but generally guests ask for this when they need it and we are always here on site at all times of the day and night.

Our breakfast service starts from 8.30am and I know from the days you were staying with us you were down for breakfast at 8.30. The cold breakfast buffet with juices, fresh fruit, cereals, nuts, seeds, granola, yoghurt etc is available from that time. Orders are then taken as guests arrive and it may have been that by the time you placed your food order to you actually having it delivered to your table would have been closer to 9.00am. As you know, we have a wide choice of dishes available and produce all our hot food to order so it is as fresh as possible. We also don’t like rushing people when they have cereals and fruit to eat before hot food is delivered. However, if people need an early start then we are always happy and willing to offer an earlier breakfast service if asked. It’s something we do regularly here. In fact, we have a guest staying this week who has needed a 7.00am breakfast every day.

The reference to the dog poop in the garden concerns me. I do have 2 whippets but they are strictly off limits when it comes to the guest gardens. They only have access to a private yard which is checked and cleaned throughout the day. They are walked off site everyday and there would rarely be a ‘mess’ in the yard so this comment surprised me.

It’s always upsetting to think that we have not made our guests happy and I feel especially saddened that you didn’t feel able to ask us during your stay for early breakfasts or for the quicker return of your laundry.

As a gesture on our part I have refunded the laundry cost of £19.50 which equates to the three loads of washing we cleaned, dried and folded for you.

We have worked so hard over the last 10 years to achieve our Visit Britain Gold award, our AA highly recommended award and our Michelin Guide entry. All of which are based on food, hospitality and cleanliness so it is especially hard when we receive feedback in this way. Again, we are sorry we didn’t get things right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    23
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
238
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We have just returned from a really relaxing stay at the Knoll, just what we needed! The staff couldn't have been more helpful,nothing was too much trouble,the room was so clean and was very tastefully decorated,the ambiance of the guest house was so warm and welcoming, and the food was delicious.!! What can we say, except if you are choosing a place to get away from things then don't hesitate,book up now!
Julie and Keith.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_shearer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Julie and Keith. Thank you so very much for the lovely review you were kind enough to post on Trip Advisor. It's always good to hear that largely we seem to be getting things right. You must try and get back for an autumn break. The colours are spectacular and we are offering some great midweek deals! Best wishes to you both, Jen and the gang xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Really enjoyed staying here! The attention to detail in all of the rooms was excellent. Really spacious and very welcoming. A lovely picnic lunch was booked and worth every penny. I would definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFCDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

After wanting to try the Knoll for a number of years we decided to finally give a go and booked two nights.

The house is located in a lovely, quiet location near the lake. The room was clean and well presented as were the public areas and a lovely breakfast menu. The staff were warm and welcoming.

We ate out both nights at The Swan Hotel and Spa, a few minutes drive away as The Knoll were not doing evening meals during our stay (we will definately try the Knoll evening meals next time). We ate in the Swan's restaurant and the pub and have to say the meals were excellent.

We will definately return to the Knoll and eat at The Swan Hotel again, hopefully next time we will miss the torential rain!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beetle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
We're so pleased you enjoyed your mini break with us. The Swan's facilities are excellent and glad you liked the opportunity to use the spa there. Hopefully you'll maybe sample our evening cuisine if you come back. Again, thanks so much for taking the time and trouble to give us such lovely feedback. Warmest wishes, Jen Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Brilliant! Loved every minute of it! From how the booking was handled, phone calls before hand, to checking out at the end - the staff were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was always polite and cheery. Our room (number 8) and the decor of the whole house was simply beautiful. All the fine details were just so. Breakfast was brillliant - so much choice! And we enjoyed dining in so much on the first night that we dined in again on the second night. The food was exquisite, couldn't fault it - and each option so tempting that it made for a difficult choice! Would recommend to anyone who likes a small hotel with a personal touch and an element of fine dining. Also has access to local spa facilities.

Room Tip: Room 8 was lovely, but all appeared beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephensMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
I was blown away with your wonderful review. It means so much when people take the time to give us feedback - especially when the feedback is so positive. You were a delight to look after and I really hope you'll come back. Our best wishes for a great summer. Jen xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

My partner & I have just returned from spending 5 nights at The Knoll for our honeymoon. We have been holidaying here for 5 years now, and vow to return for years to come.
The food is out of this world, as is the service. Den's front of house banter helps to make the Knoll what it is - warm, friendly & welcoming.
Thank you Jen, Den, Ali and Mo for making our that bit more special!
We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redwards81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
How lovely to get your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to look after you and we're so pleased you enjoyed your special time with us. We hope we'll be seeing you again! Jen x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We have recently returned from what I think is our 6th or 7th stay at the Knoll and once again it was a wonderful experience. The food is fabulous, the rooms are great and the staff are friendly and welcoming whilst being efficient and professional. It really does feel like a home from home.

If you are looking for a friendly pampering getaway the Knoll is the place for you - I know that we will be back

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PodScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
I have finally worked out the joys of responding on Trip Advisor! Anyway, I just wanted to thank you for your lovely review. It's always good to hear when we have got things right. It's also handy to know when we haven't and we have certainly taken on board the feedback from the various reviews here and actioned them. Anyway, again, thanks and we l;ook forward to seeing you both again. Jen x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
7.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
382 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
354 reviews
4.1 mi away
No photo provided
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knoll

Property: The Knoll
Address: Lakeside, Lakeside LA12 8AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knoll 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tranquil country retreat stands in beautiful grounds at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, surrounded by spectacular woodland. The unwinding begins the moment you arrive. Following a warm welcome, you'll be shown to one of eight beautifully appointed bedrooms, each with its own luxurious en suite bathroom. We've thought of everything, from little treats like complementary toiletries to more practical concerns like hair dryers, Satellite TV, DVD and iPod dock, internet access and your own hospitality tray. We also offer complimentary use of the local four star hotel's health and fitness spa.After that, it's up to you. Our pleasant gardens suggest drinks on the lawn or a lovely outdoor eating experience. Open log fires and a cosy drawing room invite you to curl up and relax. If it weren't for our superb location, you'd never want to go out - but the Lake District beckons, and it's all just waiting to be explored. Need a last minute gift? We can provide vouchers for future stays at the Knoll. Call to book now!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Knoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knoll Hotel Lakeside
Knoll Newby Bridge
Knoll Hotel Newby Bridge
The Knoll Lakeside, United Kingdom - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing