We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Landing Cottage Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Lakeside Hotel(Newby Bridge)
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$349
$339
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$348
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
55
25
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
25
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsensuite roommemory foam mattresslakeside hotelattending a weddingferry pierwide selection of cerealssuperb hostb bfull englishwindermere lakeclean towelscomfortable bedfantastic locationweekend breakcomfortable stayground floorlovely weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 92 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed as 2 couples attending a wedding next door at the Lakeside, no need to pay their massive prices when you can stay here and get a far greater personal service.
Great clean rooms, lovely breakfast and Colin is such a friendly chatty host.
So if you are looking for a perfect base in this area then no need to look any further or pay over the top prices.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tn62wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Great value for money accomodation where the room was clean as were the amenities. The host was also very helpful and the breakfast was good. Located very close to the Lakeside ferry and a short drive/walk from the Swan hotel for dinner.

Room Tip: The hall light was able to shine in a window that should really be boarded up (instead of just having a blind on it). Turning the light off fixed the problem but may have made it difficult for other guests to find the facilities. Best to avoid this room if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolEckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at the Landing Cottage for one night for some 'get away from the kids' time! The Landing Cottage was easy to find and we were met by a really friendly Giant by the name of Colin who gave us the option of a standard double or a room with a king-size memory foam mattress (we chose the latter) and we were shown upstairs to a lovely, exceptionally clean bedroom with a compact and again exceptionally clean ensuite. The bed was SO comfy and we had an uninterupted sleep. We ate our evening meal at The Swan which was Fabulous and very highly recommended! Breakfast at the Landing Cottage was lovely with a good choice of cereals and a plentiful menu for the cooked breakfast, and served with Colin's trademark potato smiley face. Colin was very friendly (as would be expected of a fellow Mancunian!!) Overall the hotel was lovely and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela-Ged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed for 1 night with my Husband to see a little bit of the area.
We was met by a lovely man called Colin who made us feel very
welcome. We was taken up to room 4 which had it's own shower/
toilet facilities. The room was nice, bright and clean and the bed was
very cosy as well. Colin told us about the Swan Hotel down the road
where we had our evening meal. He greeted us the following morning
very cheery and chatty and the breakfast was amazing. We then went
on for a boat cruise around the lake and Colin let us keep the car on
his car park untill we returned. Looking forward to a return trip soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Basically reiterating precious reviews. Can't fault this experience. Went for 2 days for a weekend break and was amazed at just how tentative and helpful Colin was. Given a choice of room and as a result an amazing king size bed with memory foam mattress, best nights sleep ever, definitely go for this room.
Breakfast was a perfect start to the day with Colin catering on your every need and even managing to pop in a smiley face potato for a true full English.
Lots of info available concerning places to eat and visit etc either from colin or his leaflets and books he'd prepared for arrival.
Will definitely be returning whenever we consider the lakes

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisMagraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews