We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for walking in spite of the snow!”
Review of Whitbarrow Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitbarrow Village
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great base for walking in spite of the snow!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I had our first stay here the week it snowed. Amazed how quickly the staff cleared the footpaths and car park areas. Impressed by the 3 bed unit we had in Troutbeck. Everything we needed. Good meal in the restaurant . Staff all nice and friendly. Leisure facilities OK. Looking forward to staying again but without the snow. Walked to Tarzan's local a couple of miles up the road in Greystoke. Good food and beers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    215
    54
    13
    8
See reviews for
288
273
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is our 3rd stay here with Seasons and we had the usual efficient welcome and given accomodation in Troutbeck, near the car park,as we do not walk too well.
The unit was really warm when we walked in and was well equipped and comfortable , but not luxurious.There was plenty of space, 2 settees and 2 armchairs, and a nice kitchen with everything we needed.
However if we'd been 6 adults, the bunk bed room would have been awful as it was very small.
The grounds were lovely, in spite of re-furbishing occuring nearby.
Our grand daughter loved feeding the ducks and also the swimming pool, which was never too crowded.
The food in the restaurant was good, but it was very busy the evening we went, so the service was a bit slow.
All the staff were always pleasant and helpful and the place is run efficiently.
Plenty to do around and about, even in February, and a great farm shop nearby on the main road .
Look forward to our next visit !

Room Tip: ask for a unit with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jabManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We turned up there last Saturday, with the place being exceptionally easy to find off the A66.
Check-in was very quick and we were accommodated in Caldew 2, not far from reception and the pool. The place was smaller than we were expecting for 6 adults and indeed it couldn't comfortably sit 6 adults in the living room. The bedrooms are fine, being on the ground floor. The kitchen is not great, a cheap oven and a space saver dishwasher that is not fit for purpose. CAUTION - they are big into the environment so give you eco friendly dishwasher tablets that don't clean very well, use them and wash twice....just use Finish tablets and you wont waste the electricity or water on the first 'pre wash.
The place is pretty hard to light up as well because the low watt bulbs are under-powered. It's all about the environment!
The pool is hit or miss. My wife and kids were made to wait 20 minutes before they could go through because by the 'book' there were 30 guests already in the pool. It was pointed out to the lady that there were just 3 people in the pool, the response being that the others could be in the changing room or sauna/steam room. Eventually this woman was directed by another guest to go and count......the end excuse from her was that people weren't signing out! Later in the week with other members of staff it was absolutely fine and the kids loved it.....and us as well as it was warm and clean. You need to take your own towels.
The park is not fit for kids above the age of 5, so that was a disappointment, as well as the crazy golf. My kids are aged 8 and 10, so were looking forward to it. That was a shame.
The bar is good and very reasonably priced. What cost £11 down town cost £9 in the bar and the entertainment was quite good. We didn't eat in the restaurant.
The table tennis room is again poorly lit, but was just about bright enough to play in, plus there was a pool table to use.
We had a duck pond infront of the front door which was brilliant as the kids could go and feed them and it was funny to see them all come over to the kids when we went out.
The location of this resort is a bit marmite, you'll love it or hate it. The nearest shops are either Penrith or Keswick. Keswick was our choice, but you need to plan your meals to ensure you have anything.....you can't quickly nip out for an onion and there is no shop on site. The main supermarket is called Booths, which makes Waitrose look cheap. If you take anything away from this review please look to ensure you don't have to use this supermarket unless you are desperate, it is extortionate, but then they have the monoply in Keswick. Ambleside has a small Tescos, or Penrith has a Morrisons and a Sainsburys.

Please note that you will be charged a £30 utility bill when you check in, cheaper resorts do this so that they can keep the maintenacnce bills down for the owners. I reckon that it's about right for the week, but if you have traded a quality resort for this it will annoy you.

So, would we go back? YES! It's not brilliant, but it is in the Lakes and it has a warm clean pool!

Room Tip: Take your first nights food ready prepared and go and relax in the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LargefamilyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I really enjoyed this break with my husband 25th jan to 28th we stopped in Ulswater suite 1 in the main building as we got there it started snowing and staff were already gritting the paths.

The suite was like a mini apartment and had everything you needed, it's interior was very stylish and put together very well. No complaints here whatsoever was lovely and cosy with snow outside.

The facilities Firstly the restaurants this gets 5 star for me food was amazing pâté with cranberry sauce main was chicken with tarragon sauce husband had Cajun chicken and delicious deserts cheesecake and American Chocolate fudge cake with bottle of wine £60 excellent value.

The bar was a great area with huge screen tv would normally have been entertainment here but with weather or time of year didn't see any. Games were left in a corner which I thought was a great touch. Drinks very reasonable Pint of lager and Baileys £4.

Separate games room

Swimming pool was warm and hot tub had a fab view although husband had job getting in because of his 6 foot height but there was a sign to warn you, once in v.relaxing also tried out sauna and steam room.

Changing rooms the only negative to the whole experience there dirt and hair on floor of changing room and this was very off putting. Blaming other guests but this could have been cleaned up.

Outdoors was great with the snow walked over the crazy golf course :) after the snow staff cleared the track and paths very quickly,

overall very quiet and relaxing holiday fabulous staff and facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a half term break at Whitbarrow. After reading some of the less than complimentary reviews on tripadvisor we were a little apprehensive, but couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. If Whitbarrow is a representative of Seasons overall then we look forward to more great weeks away.

Our accommodation (Troutbeck 21) was huge! A large en-suite master with a balcony, a bunk room for the kids, and another twin room. Downstairs a further sofa bed would have accommodated two more. A cloak room and a big family bathroom completed the room layout. The layout was well thought out to maximise the space. The kitchen was well equipped with a full size fridge/freezer, dishwasher and everything else we could possibly need. (Including a complimentary torch for walking back from the club house after dark!)

The kids really enjoyed the pool, mini golf, duck pond and playpark, and Faye the designated entertainer had that unusual mix of being a good performer as well as having a gift to engage children. Our boys loved the kids bingo and talent show she hosted.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but hung out playing board games most (early) evenings in the club house.

The location is mid-way between Penrith and Keswick, so easy access for the north lakes and Ullswater, and about 40-45mins from Windemere.

Overall, we felt the village was the perfect size, so enough people that you didn't feel like there was no one there, but not so many that the facilities were overcrowded.

Really enjoyed it and expect we'll be back before the year is out.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank NicolaCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here last weekend. (Troutbeck18) Although there were only the 2 of us our lodge could easily have slept 8...there was a bedroom with 2 single beds,a bedroom with bunk beds and our double room with en-suite bathroom and a balcony.(there was also a bed settee in the lounge).We unlocked the door for the first time to find the lodge was lovely and warm.We were wowed by the beautiful, fully equipt kitchen and equally lovely lounge.The lodge also had a huge family bathroom upstairs, and a toilet downstairs just inside the front door.Everything was spotless. Outside at the back there were picnic table and chairs which in summer would be ideal for al fresco dining.
The pool,spa and sauna were ideal for passing time on snowy days.
We ate 2 nights in the restaurant.The meals were excellent and reasonably priced and the staff were very friendly and attentive.The staff in the reception equally so.
Due to the weather,the paths were very icey,but early in the morning staff were out gritting and by the time we went out they were clear.
I have no hesitation in recommending Whitbarrow,it exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyceG501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were staying at Whitbarrow on an exchange week. Before travelling we had read the reviews on here and were a little unsure as to what lay ahead of us... but on arrival were greeted by very friendly receptionists, and on arriving in our unit (Troutbeck 11) were stunned by how lovely it was. I can only therefore assume that the accommodation standards vary greatly! We had been worried in case the unit was cold to stay in at this time of the year but no, it was lovely and cosy! The site was wonderful and peaceful and even though the weather was very very wet and windy, we remained cosy at all times we were inside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrier
0.1 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
18.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
6.7 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitbarrow Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitbarrow Village

Property: Whitbarrow Village
Address: Berrier | Penrith, Berrier CA11 0XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Berrier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Berrier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just fifteen minutes from the M6 motorway, halfway between Penrith and Keswick and a mere five minutes from Ullswater, The Whitbarrow Village resort sits beneath the famous blencathra fell (also known locally as Saddleback) and offers both luxury and serenity to all who visit – as well as easy access to the delights of The Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitbarrow Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Holidays Whitbarrow Village Hotel Berrier
Whitbarrow Village Cumbria, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing