We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden Gem of a Resort, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitbarrow Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitbarrow Village
Certificate of Excellence
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem of a Resort, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I did an Interval exchange with this resort, first one in England and I was pleasantly surprised. I was based in one of the Newer Ullswater suites which are Studio type accommodation for 2 people. It was very spacious, had a well appointed kitchen with Microwave, hob, dishwasher, plenty of utensils etc. Table and chairs for 4. Comfy settee at the end of the bed with a wall mounted flatscreen TV and BOSE DVD/Sound system unit. Plenty of wardrobe space and drawer space. Patio doors opened out onto the patio with chairs and table. Unit was nice and warm, I had to turn off the radiator in the main room as it got too hot during the night. The Bed is a normal UK double and was very comfortable, Egyptian cotton bed linen, I ended up sleeping just under the bed throw as I was hot even with the heating off! Double hand-basins in the bathroom with plenty of nice clean towels, one thing I didn't like and passed a comment onto the resort was the bath water outlet, it was in the middle of the bath but overhung the batch by about 8 inches, so you had to be careful not to back into it when having a shower, or burning yourself with hot water when in the bath.
There is a nice small swimming pool with Jacuzzi, sauna and gym, you can use your own towels or rent one for a £5 deposit. Although I didnt eat in the Eden Restaurant it has good reviews. The Sportsman and Boot and Shoe pubs are just a 5 minute drive away and again have good reports. There is free Wifi access in the lobby and bar but this is a trek from some of the units, I was right next to the lobby and couldnt get a signal unless I went through to reception.
Coming in from the main A66 from Penrith you need to turn right just after the 'Farm Shop' sign on the left and the Sportsman Pub on the hill on the right. Once onto the side roads you will see the first Seasons direction signs. Visited Keswick, Derwentwater and Cockermouth which were all lovely, I had forgotten how beautiful the Lake District is after many years away. This resort is a hidden GEM, off to Brunston Castle next week and hope its as nice.

Room Tip: Ullwater Studio Suites highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank karmazyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    207
    54
    13
    8
See reviews for
274
265
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed for a short break from 30th April 2012. On arrival the impression of the holiday village was EXCELLENT however, when we were given the key to our apartment we were very disappointed.We were booked into Skiddaw 3 which was up a narrow staircase above Skiddaw 1. When we went inside it was freezing cold and even after putting the heating on full it didn't get any warmer as there was a gap in the bottom of the front door and the wind was blowing in.We tried to cover it with cushions but were unable to sleep as it was so cold in the bedroom.The whole apartment needed updating. We asked at reception the next morning if we could be moved but they said there was nothing available.However, after intervention from the Seasons rep we were moved to an Ullswater suite which was fantastic in comparison!.
We visited Windermere, Derwent water and Ullswater lakes. It was well worth taking the steam boat ride along Ullswater lake but make sure you take some warm clothing as it gets very windy even on a warm day.We also visited Keswick, Cockermouth,Penrith and even Gretna Green which was only about 40 mins away.
We had a very nice meal in the restuarant and also at the Sportsman pub at the end of the road.We also had a meal in the Boot and Shoe in Greystoke and although there was a nice atmosphere we didn't think much of the meals(take care if you order an Indian meal as it can get very expensive as the rice/chips are extra).
Overall the weather was kind to us and we had an excellent time.Looking forward to going again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We booked a unit for a group of us, planning on exploring the lakes. There were 3 rooms, 1 of them is large ensuite room, the other is a smaller sized 2 single beds room, and the last is a very cramped up room with a double-deck bunk bed (like those in military camps).

In terms of comfort, the mattresses is too soft to our liking, so it wasn't good for our backs. The pillows are too soft and the duvet looks like it needed changing. Some of the towels looked dirty, we had to asked for them to be replaced. The water is constantly hot which is good but I noticed there were lack of amenities, we were expecting at least some basic hand wash or soap.

Kitchen was big and had everything we needed to cook our meals etc. There was a large dining table as well for all of us to sit around and enjoy our evening meals. Living room is adjacent and spacious with comfortable sofas. TV bit small and only small criticism is there aren't sky sports available! Other main complain really is floor board is very creaky, if you fancy an early night whilst the rest wanted to hang around longer upstairs, you will struggle to sleep due to the overwhelming noise of every footsteps!

The unit we had was No. 3 which is one of the newer build ones, having read reviews of bad experiences from the older cottages and good reviews from the newer build ones, we were expecting the best but were left disappointed.

Restaurant there serves good meals, and on Monday nights, there is a half price deal for every main course ordered (so can save on cost if ordering in a group). Only criticism is the service which we felt was rather slow. My brother ordered a soup as starter which was very dilute but they changed it once we mentioned it.

Overall, good place in terms of location, with scenic landscapes around and serenity, but comfort can be a problem. For the price, we would expect better to be honest.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week in April, on an exchange. We'd booked a two bedroom unit, but ended up in Troutbeck 26, which is three bedrooms. The main double with ensuite was adequate for a week; for longer there might be storage issues. Likewise the twin bedroom. The third room was a very small one with two bunk beds; it shared the main bathroom. The bunks were very low and only suitable for children.

The main living area was large, with a sofa bed in an alcove, a normal sofa and two armchairs. There were dining chairs for six. A smaller unit might have less living accommodation so could be tight if fully occupied.

The resort is a good drive from anywhere and has its own bar and restaurant. The bar is pleasant enough and has real ale; its only downside for us was the regular deployment of a big screen, but most people probably like that! The restaurant was superb - well up to the standard expected in a four or five star hotel, never mind a resort of this nature! Its prices were not at the level of the cooking, so all very nice, thank you.

The resort generally is small but not cramped and is close to roads giving easy access all over the northern lakes area. We didn't use the recreational facilities but they looked nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We spent a week here in the Easter holidays, the location is excellent it's a quiet area but is not far off the main road (A66) which means it's easy to travel to other parts of the lake district. The holiday park it's self is very pleasant, it's quite compact but doesn't feel to overcrowded there is even a duck pond. the club house and pool are clean and modern the pool does get crowded and you may have to wait to get in at busy times. We had one meal at the club house, the food is good. The accommodation was well equipped and spacious but some of the beds need changing, the two bunk beds had mattresses that you could feel the springs pushing through and the sofa bed had seen better days, it was pretty awful. We did complain as the kids were finding it difficult to sleep on these beds, they brought us some duvets to put on top of the mattresses & said they will be replacing the mattresses soon. There is entertainment on in the club house most evenings, quiz nights, singers that sort of thing. Overall a good base for exploring the Lakes.

Room Tip: The food in 'The Boot & Shoe' pub in Greystoke a couple of miles down the road was excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyRGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed here for a week and had a lovely time. Apartment was excellent and very well equipped with everything you need. Had a couple of appliances that were not working, but they were replaced or repaired within a day. Swimming pool, gym and sauna were appreciated by younger members of the party as were the ducks! Food in the restaurant was very good and served by very pleasant staff. The resort is well placed to visit Keswick, Penrith, Windermere etc and we ventured up to Gretna Green as well. Would highly recommend this location for a stay in the Lakes. We also enjoyed an excellent meal in the Boot & Shoe in Greystoke which is about 2 miles away from Whitbarrow.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catravello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed in February - not the best for weather at this time of the year but the snow on the hill tops was spectacular.
The accomadation was very good with plenty of room for our party.
The pool was enjoyed by my grandchildren and the food in the restaurant was excellent - particularly the Sunday roast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Errolr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrier
0.1 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
18.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
6.7 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitbarrow Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitbarrow Village

Property: Whitbarrow Village
Address: Berrier | Penrith, Berrier CA11 0XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Berrier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Berrier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just fifteen minutes from the M6 motorway, halfway between Penrith and Keswick and a mere five minutes from Ullswater, The Whitbarrow Village resort sits beneath the famous blencathra fell (also known locally as Saddleback) and offers both luxury and serenity to all who visit – as well as easy access to the delights of The Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Whitbarrow Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Holidays Whitbarrow Village Hotel Berrier
Whitbarrow Village Cumbria, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing