We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17th Century Orton Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orton
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a five day stay and can not fault Orton Hall the perfect place to relax and de stress ! The grounds are excellent and I would often sit and relax with a good book on my return from a day out. Stayed in claraden suite and it had everything I needed and more .. A stop at booths on way up to stock up on wine and nice things made my visit perfect. Will be booking again in the Autumn would highly recommend a stay at the hall you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for 17th Century Orton Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 55 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a short stay at Orton Hall and we feel like Lord and Lady of the Manor. This place is amazing and really is something special and different.

We stayed in the Royalist Suite and after collecting our keys from the housekeeper we pulled up to electric gates of Orton Hall and drove up through the beautiful gardens to the front of the Hall.

It was dusk when we arrived and the Hall was very atmospheric and rather dark (Tip - If you are staying in the winter months, bring a torch) but we easily found the our Suite.

The lounge area was all Oak panels and dark wood, with a secret book shelf door leading to a large kitchen, whcih was well equipped with everything you could need and the bedroom was lovely with a large comfy bed and a decent sized ensuite bathroom (which was OK but could probably do with some TLC).

Overall this place is fantastic and something really special, the grounds are amazing and is it well located just off the M6.

If you fancy a bit of Lord and Lady of Downton Abbey then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at Orton Hall in Cromwell again. Very comfortable, clean and relaxing accommodation.
The little extras of milk in the fridge, a small supply of tea and coffee, chocolates from the local chocolate shop, bottled water and the wine is a delightful welcome. Face flannels as well as the usual towels and toiletries are also supplied. Very comfortable 4 poster bed. There is a supply of DVDs, games and books. Plenty of cooking pans. We had our cooked breakfast overlooking the front grounds and although we could see some passing traffic through the trees we could not hear it. Our only 'problem' was the front door to the accommodation - you did need two hands to turn the key and the door handle and it need a hard push to shut which was quite noisy(thinking about the other residents).Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granniemimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked the Royalist Suite through Late Rooms for £65 a night for 3 nights - you can also book direct for same price - usually these deals seem to come up a couple of weeks before - its £115 normally at this time of year.

We picked up the keys from the nearby cottage and found the hall easily just south of the village. The wood panelled living room is huge and very atmospheric, kitchen is long and narrow but has everything you need, bedroom is small but has a comfortable bed. Only the bathroom is a bit disappointing - cracked tiles and clingy shower curtain - but that didn't really worry us. The communal hall is also very grand and atmospheric and has a piano and snooker table! The grounds are nice and our table in the bay window had a view over the front lawn and fountain. Electric only cost us £7 and we had convector heaters on each evening and morning. The village is very nice, pub ok (though my pint of Cockerhoop wasn't great) and the surrounding area beautiful and, best of all, quiet (though only a short drive from Lake District or northern dales). We can't wait to go back - hopefully with friends this time!

Room Tip: Some of the other suites may be more modern so if you want more comforts try those but for us the Ro...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeGBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed four nights in the Nell Gwynne cottage - the small white door on the left of the main building in the photos on this site. The hall is in a great location in the sleepy village of Orton, but only five minutes from a junction of the M6 motorway for easy access to other locations. It is also easy walking distance to the George Hotel pub in the village. The cottage was very cosy, with a small downstairs room and en-suite bathroom for our daughter, a comfortable living room, tiny kitchen, and a large bedroom and bathroom upstairs for us. The kitchen was small but very well fitted out with pots and pans, cutlery and crockery. There is a shared laundry available in the main hall. My only grumble was the lack of wifi access. We knew there was no wifi in the cottage, but couldn't get any signal in the common area of the hall either, so were without email for four days. Other than that, we had no complaints, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We visited early July, and stayed in the Royalist Suite, we got a discounted rate through late rooms, but to be honest had i even paid full price for this place i wouldn't have been disappointed. We got amazing value for our money and we loved the place. The suite had an wood panelled main living room and great fire place and ceiling. A secret bookcase door to the rest of the suite. The kitchen had everything you would have needed and there were no pictures of it but it was very nice, not massive, but there is a table set up in the bay window of the living room. The bedroom some said was small but again it was very nice, we've stayed in smaller. The bed was so comfy. The bathroom was perfectly functional but probably could do with updating. All in all we were over the moon with it.

They were very welcoming at the local pub and we ate there one night and the food was very good.

Every second Saturday there is a farmers market held in Orton, which is worth a visit, we got some garlic and pepper sausages for our breakfast and they were delicious.

There is a village shop/post ofice and the lady there was really friendly.

There's been a few comments about the electric, we arrived on a Friday night left Sunday morning and owed £1.00 when we left. We'd cooked breakfast both mornings and used the immersion heater. There are storage heaters that come on in the morning and these are included in the room price, so you're only paying for over and above the norm.

On the Saturday night there was some sort of gathering going on in the main hall area, the snooker table was covered and there was a buffet laid out and the front door was open. We weren't sure if it was fellow guest or whether people live there and were holding something. It caused no disturbance to us and finished at a reasonable time, but we were a bit surprised by it.

Loved this place and would definitely return

HEC

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Had a lovely relaxing weekend away in the Cromwell apartment with my partner.
Not quite sure how the whole set up of Orton Hall works but it seems the Cromwell apartment is slightly different than the suites.
We didn't get free membership to the spa as you do with the suites but all electricity was included, it isn't in the suites, and lovely little touches such as - botle of wine, box of chocolates, tea coffee and milk in the fridge and lovely toiletries left for your use, which reading the reviews you don't get in the other suites in Orton Hall, and the cromwell apartment is the cheapest of the lot!!! £90 a a night. And it was a gorgeous apartment situated at the front of Orton Hall looking out onto the front gardens. The lounge area was extremely spacious with large comfy leather sofas and dining area, enormous fireplace, very romantic, modern kitchen, romantic four poster bedroom with en-suite!! Absolutely fabulous for the money. A real home from home in old quaint surroundings. You have full use of all the facilities in the main hall. So when i look at the prices on last minute.com i get confused as to the vast variations in price for the suites!!
I would recommend the Cromwell apartment the little touches the owner leaves for you are very welcoming and make you feel special and no paying for electricity at the end of your stay! as you have to in the other suites!!!! I will definately ne going back to the cromwell for another romantic weekend away.

Beth (Bolton)

Room Tip: Cromwell is the cheapest but it seems has the most added little extras such as fresh milk waiting fo...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orton
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17th Century Orton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17th Century Orton Hall

Address: Orton CA10 3RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Orton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orton
Price Range: $113 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
17th Century Orton Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing