We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star Accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Barn House

The Barn House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn House
Ranked #2 of 5 Orton B&B and Inns
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Five Star Accomodation”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Barn House is a superb property! We were served tea and homemade cakes on arrival in the glorious guest lounge. The rooms were spotless and spacious. This was day 6 of our Coast to Coast and was easily the best accommodation so far. The breakfast was excellent as was the packed lunches. Recommend the Barn House to anyone

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red80uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Also on the Coast to Coast, this is the best of our accommodations so far. Our spacious pleasant twin room had a fabulous bathroom, and lots of little extras. Our host was very helpful, and was happy to do our washing for a nominal fee - a huge help. We arrived in time for the " Breakfast Special" - Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Egg - a bit of a change from the usual offerings. Definitely worth staying here.
Silver Leaf Gallery and Deli Cafe at the top of Orton, offers excellent cappuccino coffee and a selection of food which is a relief from the usual Pub grub. Their salad platters are excellent value.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wainwright B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Barn House during our recent Coast to Coast walk. Orton itself was lovely and the Barn House fantastic. The room was big and the bath very welcome. Shame we were only there for one night!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRWE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had a lovely stay here whilst walking the C2C. As others have said its nice to have a short day after the Patterdale to Shap hike, and we made use of it by diverting via the trig point to the NE from where there are panoramic views.

Friendly and knowledgable hosts much into the outdoors themselves. Very comfortable room with a great bath. Lovely guest sitting room, and excellent and imaginative breakfast. Ate at the George - good food and very convivial company / staff. The village shop is a classic of its kind and well worth a visit if only to buy a newspaper!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murgatroyd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It is a great idea to split the Patterdale to Kirkby Stephen section into 3 and thereby enjoy overnights in Bampton and Orton.
We were warmly greeted by Peter. He supplied newspaper for our sodden boots and whisked our waterproofs away to be dried. Our room (the double one) was just great: lovely ensuite bath, freshly bakes sconed, fresh milk for our tea, comfortable bed. We had dinner at The George which is just 500 yds away: Peter provided us with an umbrella in case it rained (again) and offered us fleeces and anoraks as ours were drying.
Breakfast in the morning was splendid. Lots of fresh fruit and a delicious range of homemade marmalade and jams. The breakfast room is lined with an impressive selction of travel and climbing boots.
Judith and Peter supplied us with a packed lunch. The fruit cake was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony-walksleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Many Coast to Coast (C2C) walkers combine stages and in so doing bypass Orton. Whilst shortening the number of days on the walk by one day walkers who do this miss out on staying at the best B & B accommodation not only on the C2C but anywhere in England. This is a bold claim but having stayed at many B & Bs and hotels in the UK in the past 40 years I conclude Barn House is the yardstick by which all other B & Bs are measured.

Barn House is such a wonderful place to stay. Our room was gorgeous. The house is homely and offers so many special touches that cater for guests every need ranging from cookies in the room to scones and jam available in the common area on the landing. Even a foot massager in the comfortable sunlit conservatory. Peter and Judith were the perfect hosts.

The combination of Barn House and the pretty village of Orton made such an impression on my family that we intend returning, not as a C2C walker but for a longer stay to explore the Howgills and surrounding area. Most of all to enjoy once again Peter and Judith's hospitality and stay in the wonderful Barn House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The welcome was a little cool, but the room was modern with thoughtful touches. One of the nicest rooms of our two-week holiday.
There was a pleasant conservatory and it would have been nice to have been offered tea there.
Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamAndCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Barn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn House

Property: The Barn House
Address: Orton CA10 3RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Orton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Orton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Barn House Orton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing