We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class B & B”
Review of The Barn House

The Barn House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn House
Ranked #3 of 5 Orton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Peter & Judith Catermole offer lovely service and facilities at their B & B.

Delightful room, very modern facilities, excellent food and a lovely conservatory for relaxing and enjoying a chat with other guests.

Orton is a beautiful village with many interesting attractions

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here recently while walking the C2C. Our hosts Peter and Judith made our stay most enjoyable. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and we had the best sleep that night. In the evening we had dinner at the George Hotel and walked around town to see the sites before setting off the next day. This B&B caters for the needs of walkers so if you are doing the C2C this is the place to stay. Top marks Peter and Judith.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Lovely welcome from a couple who really appreciate the needs of walkers - comfortable beds; your own bath to soak away the aches & pains; a sunny guest lounge to relax in & enjoy muffins & tea with real milk knowing your kit is in the drying room so won't be soggy the next day and an excellent breakfast to get you off to a good start! The Barn House is very attractive with simple but by no means spartan furnishings and a warm atmosphere - will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed at here while doing the coast to coast walk, this was first class accommodation, Judith and Peter made us most welcome. Lovely big rooms and a nice deep bath to soak weary legs.
There is an excellent residents lounge to sit and have a cuppa while overlooking the fields. The George Hotel is only a few minutes walk away where Hazel and her hubby have recently taken over and the food is excellent. I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B

Room Tip: Ask forthe first floor room, its closer to the residents lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrahamBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The guide book spoke glowingly of this place and it was spot on. Great welcome, best room of the walk with en-suite facilities including a bath – very welcome at this stage. Run by a very friendly couple who appreciate the needs of walkers. On the edge of a beautiful village with a pub for the evening meal. We set off from here for the last day of our walk in very good spirits.
General note: We only did the 1st half of the Coast to Coast from St Bees to Kirkby Stephen. Our trip was organised very well by Mac’s Adventures. In addition to the accommodation reviewed here, we also stayed at the Jolly Farmers, Kirkby Stephen, The Stork Hotel, Frizington/Ennerdale Bridge, Yew Cragg Guesthouse, Rosthwaite, Silverlea Guest House, Grasmere, Home Farm, Patterdale and the Crown & Mitre, Bampton

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Another welcome bath on our C2C walk.........the magnetic ducks in the bath amused my husband for a time while he soaked his aches away. Lovely big room. The other good thing for us was the fact that there was fresh milk put out in a flask for tea instead of the usual plastic milk you find everywhere, though to be fair everywhere we have been we have asked for a jug of milk and have been given one without any fuss.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Warm welcome after an awful day weather wise.
Best bath of the walk, lovely room.
Food (evening meal was also offered) was excellent.
Chocolate factory nearby definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamC2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Barn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn House

Address: Orton CA10 3RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Orton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Orton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Barn House Orton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing