We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Quality Spec Except for Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clyst Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Firstly, this review is a positive one in that we found a new modern feeling Hilton branded hotel that offered what we were looking for during our time in South Western England. The rooms are of good size and modern feeling. The lobby was the same, and overall this was a good quality Hampton.

As a gold/diamond member with Hilton we remain quite loyal to the brand but, right or wrong, that does come with a different expectation in the overall experience. Where we felt there was a lower level of Hilton Service was in the overall face to face customer experience. While some of the staff were quite nice, friendly, and quick to react we had more then enough experiences there that were the opposite such that it was important to note (and hopefully improve upon). The general disinterest in going the extra mile was a surprise in a Hilton branded hotel. When addressing a small issue such as answering a call there was a rather short dismissal and no attempt to help resolve or apologize for the inconvenience. It's these things that can taint an experience and they are small, avoidable things.

We had a noteable exception with a gentleman that was either a manager, owner, etc. He gave us the impression of someone invested in the Hilton brand, it's high level of service, and interested in the positive experiences of it's guests. He did nothing special nor did we address any issues with him but the general impression was positive.

Some recommendations for improvement in rooms:

1. As mentioned in some other posts, and quite easy to fix, the modern sliding door to the bathroom is a great design. The exception however is the slide well, fast and bang closed. With some felt padding, or rubber padding between the doors would result in a lower level of general banging which occurs throughout your stay.

2. Where the carpets meet tile it would be valuable to check upon the carpet tacking and ensure they can't be felt underneath your foot step. With a toddler around we did ensure she was safe but we could feel them quite strongly underneath our feet when simply standing in the area. Could be a bit of safety area.

Positives:

1. Room spec with the ceiling to almost floor window is great, especially with a curious toddler.

2. Travel cot provided was a very good quality and the under padding was a nice quality touch

3. Lobby and breakfast offer was typical of a Hampton, and offered most of what you could want for breakfast. If you're looking to put necessary sustenance into your system before work or travel then you should not be disappointed.

4. Restaurant located next door is quite nice, and decently priced.

5. From this location you can get back and forth to most of South West England in less then 2 hours drive (yes we were happy with that sort of drive as we made many stops). So, if you're loyal to Hilton brand this can still serve your need.

Room Tip: It's a Hampton Inn so most of the rooms are the same. They should not disappoint for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cosgroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinRALEH, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Hi Cosgroa

Thank you very much for your positive review and kind comments following your recent stay ay Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport.

We are delighted that overall as HHonors guests you enjoyed your break. There are , as you would expect, some key difference between the family of Hilton Brands. I am concerned about some of your comments about the team as this is really what sets Hampton apart.

I hope it was me you engaged with! Thanks again for taking the time to review and we hope we can welcome you back to Exeter, or another of our fast growing Hampton hotels.

Kind regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a lovely hotel to stay in.Very clean and comfortable,very friendly staff,great breakfast and excellent restaurant next door.For a nice quiet stay well recommended.Location could be better but a quick drive and you are in Exeter.Even though you are near the airport and A30 it is very quiet in the hotel.Great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinRALEH, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Hi Criag B

Thank you for taking the time to review Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport. We appreciate your kind review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

An ideal place to stay for a stop over. Everything you really need was provided. The staff were friendly and extra helpful. The lady in the breakfast room went out of her way to ensure everybody was well looked after. A good nights sleep and breakfast to send us on our way!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Adele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

stayed their for a night . it was an amazing experience. The breakfast environment was very warm, friendly and staff was helpful and cheering, specially 'chris' who was looking after the floor. the waitress was prompt cheerful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guru2422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinRALEH, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hi Guru2422

Thank you for taking the time to review Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport. We ae delighted you enjoyed your stay amd look forward to seeing you again soon!

We will pass on your lovely comment to Chris. She brightens up our mornings!

Kind Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My favourite budget hotel. Modern, quiet generally efficient. Breakfast better than HIE. Generally superior feel and vibe to HIE, PI etc. A little bit out of town being close to the airport Not noisy considering runway one side and dual carriage way the other. Good cycle route into Exeter which uses quiet roads.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinRALEH, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hi Stuart M

Great to hear we are one of your favourites!

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport and for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon, either here or at another Hampton by Hilton.

Kind regrads

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic night at this hotel, superb staff nothing seemed too much trouble.

Modern building and rooms a couple of teething problem which the staff managed fantastically

Felt like a lot have time has been spent on the design of the hotel the rooms were magnificent, and despite being next to an airport and a main road the sound insulation is amazing

Thank you

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinRALEH, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hi Dave R

Thank you for taking the time to review Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport. We really appreciate your very kind feedback. We think Hamptons are great but we also think its our people who make the welcome.

Your lovely comments make our day!

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is about 1 year old, so built in 2013 I guess.
Its really near Exeter airport. The rooms and hotel are modern and well laid out. Everything is efficient and works. Staff friendly too.
There is a nice Italian restuarant next door - about 30 yards away from the main entrance to the hotel.
A few things need some attention.
1) sign posting ... to get to the hotel from the airport, you have to drive through the outskirts of an industrial estate then down a narrow country lane. Most hotels are not on either of these types of road ... but persevere and after 500-600 yards you will find the hotel
2) noise - the (south) rooms facing the A30 are noisy. The A30 is a concrete surface dual carriageway trunk road. Its busy. Traffic travels along this section at about 70mph (110kph) and makes a loud drumming noise. To make matters worse, the road is on an embankment so the sound projects. The other side of the hotel is facing the runway. Flights arent too frequent as Exeter is a smallish airport, but if the winds are from the east, then planes take off (on full throttle) past the airport which is definitely noisy!
My advice is to wear ear plugs!
I had a nice "corner" room (346). The only issue with the room was that the shower was a dribble. But there is a bath in this room so no drama.
Breakfast is buffet style and really well laid out.
There are thoughtful touches like power sockets on the breakfast bar for charging laptops/mobiles/tablets.
The hotel has some really nice photos of local landmarks throughout.
Having grown up in Devon, I recognise about 90% of the places.
Its really nice photography - they have really captured the spirit / essence of Devon without it being overpowering for the rooms / spaces the prints are displayed in.
Overall, good value, nice hotel, but watch the noise if you are a light sleeper.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Julian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinRALEH, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hi Julian E

Thanks for your thoughtful and kind review with tripadvisor. We are in the process of sorting out some road signs which should make finding us easier.

All of our rooms are fully airconditioned and as a result we don't usually have any issues with noise. We want all of our guests to have a great nights sleep and offer the famous Hampton guarantee. Delighted you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Marcos New York Italian is a great option for dinner.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again for your review.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clyst Honiton
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#8 of 31 in Exeter
1,922 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#22 of 31 in Exeter
558 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,224 reviews
7.6 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport

Address: Exeter Airport Industrial Estate, Clyst Honiton, Exeter EX5 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Clyst Honiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clyst Honiton
Price Range: $69 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel in the heart of Devon, just next to Exeter Airport. Our spacious Hampton hotel is conveniently located adjacent to Exeter airport, the home of Flybe and only five minutes from the M5 motorway (J29)and A30. Enjoy easy access to the historical city of Exeter, just five miles away and explore its beautiful Cathedral, Roman ruins, superb shopping facilities and interesting medieval underground passages dating back to the 14th Century. The hotel is also a perfect gateway to discover the delights of Devon, Cornwall, Dorset and Somerset and is just a short drive from the beautiful Jurassic coastline. Hotel Facts •Located adjacent to Exeter airport and only five minutes from the M5 motorway •Five miles from Exeter City, offering historical attractions, shops and dining •Close to many important businesses including Flybe and EDF Energy •120 clean and comfortable guest rooms, accessible rooms available •100% Hampton guarantee Rooms & Suites. Included in Every Stay •Free hot breakfast •Comfy Hampton bed(R) •Free WiFi in every room •Gym/fitness center use ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing