We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another first” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Horse Inn

The Black Horse Inn
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Black Horse Inn, is located less that a mile from the Exeter Aiport and less than a mile from J29 on the M5. We are a Pub which prepares classic pub meals which offer value. We also prepare daily specials which are an enhancement of our Menu. Buffet Options are also available.We are a large pub which can cater for large groups and family dining.FREE Wifi is available.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Another first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had been to Westpoint and were looking for some place to eat. The Black Horse was fairly close . As it was Sunday we expected a problem but no, met at the door and welcomed in, table for four yes, sat down, the roast was pork or beef,after ordering and started to chat amongst ourselves, the food arrived, piping hot plate great looking meat, plenty of hot veg, really struggled to finish, it was delicious the two ladies did manage a pudding again well served and very tasty,so I am told!!. Well worth the trip

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Orbslos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    47
    26
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slow service, basic, bland food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went for lunch, arriving at 1.10pm, sat and waited for 5 minutes to have our drinks order taken. There were approximately 3 other tables being used. We were against the clock as it was our lunch hour, so had checked the website menu before we went, only to be told that the website was wrong and they were getting a new one. We then were given a dirty piece of card with the menu on each which didn't match the website at all, no baguettes, no paninis. We all ordered (sandwiches/burgers/chips). This was about 1.30. The food then didn't arrive until 2pm by which time we were all late for return to work. The burger was literally just a bap and burger with a side salad thrown on the side and some chips, the tuna sandwich was bland, and apparently sweetcorn is not something that's a store-cupboard staple here. As we were finishing there was a powercut - which the pub obviously couldn't help, however, no explanation was given as to why the lights had suddenly gone off (one member of our party was stuck in darkness in the toilet). When we went to pay they couldn't take our money as their till was electric and not working. When we asked about the poor service and the amount of time it took to make a sandwich we were told it was because we were late. Very poor, there was no offer of an apology. They will phone us to take our money, and we will likely all pay, however, I will never go back to the black horse and will tell my colleagues the same.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank hep7419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“quiet for a saturday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice looking pub, easy to find. and plenty of parking. Decided to eat from the al la carte menu. Scallops with pork belly, butternut squash and balsamic reduction. Scallops were very pale, although cooked ok, and not overdone, felt this was a bit confused added to the pork belly. very light and smallish plate, not for someone who is very hungry. I then ordered the venison, this was way overcooked. Would liked to have seen this pink in the middle, not fully cooked. It tasted a bit like liver. But it was tender. I chose the fondent potatoe, but only one small potatoe, so again do not order if you are hungry. Very quiet for a saturday night, with only a few tables booked. may be theres a message in that. I agree with a previous comment, menu looked good, but was not really reflected in the food served. It was not very bad, but just not very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyellen171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We went along without booking on a Wednesday night, it was quiet but the service was excellent. Very friendly and a good pub menu to chose from.

The food we ordered was delivered quickly and it was of good quality, we were happy with the choices and a few specials helped us have an excellent meal

Great value for money, would come again if we were travelling this way again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimbames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Good standard of food, hot and a good choice of meals at competive prices. no complaints service was good good selection of drinks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank roger592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing