We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, unfriendly, very expensive for what you get. I would get a taxi back to Dublin rather than stay here again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castletown Geoghegan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenhills Bed and Breakfast
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noisy, unfriendly, very expensive for what you get. I would get a taxi back to Dublin rather than stay here again”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A group of six ( 3 couples) stayed here for a friends wedding. The house was very noisy, the rooms very old fashioned with a broken shower in one. The breakfast was on a very small plate and the owner was unfriendly and unhelpful. It cost 240 euro between all of us, I wish we had rented a taxi or minibus back to Dublin for that amount of money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwalsh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine G, Owner at Greenhills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Sorry you found me unfriendly and unhelpful possible cause I found you very intimating re the noise as you and your friends were the only people staying in the house that night the noise had to be made by yourselves re broken shower I called our plumber after you left who informed me the shower was working perfect all our rooms are tourist board approved so has to be up to a certain standard no outdated rooms anymore after late arrival down for breakfast the following morning I feel you got all you could eat the plates are standard size breakfast plates it is rude to put breakfast on dinner plates an unpleasant experience all round

Josephine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Arrived on the Saturday for a wedding and the owner gave us a lift to the Church which was lovely. Lovely friendly people and the breakfast was delicious. Couldn't of asked for anything more. Our room was en suite too!
Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a B&B in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adambarnes42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine G, Owner at Greenhills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review we enjoyed meeting you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding in the nearby Middleton Park House, the owners were very pleasant and accommodating.

The house is an old farmhouse surrounded by green fields, which give the place a nice calm feel.

Rooms were lovely, and beds comfortable...

I'd recommend this place for events st the big house or cyclists on the nearby Táin trail, or just if your driving through the midlands...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixedmarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine G, Owner at Greenhills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for nice review hope we cross paths again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballinagar, Offaly, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is an excellent B & B. It is very close to Castletown Geoghegan. The owners are very personable and make you feel at home. The breakfast is to die for. I stayed in a double room and it had everything, TV, Kettle, Fridge, Alarm Clock, Electric Shower (En-Suite) and Electronic Temperature Guage. Very comfortable. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We are just back from our stay at this lovely country house and the whole family has been touched by its wonderful vibe. We were received by Tony and Josie with a warm welcome even though we landed on their doorstep with our two little boys aged 4 and 2. The location was perfect for us as we were at a wedding close by and is was only a 5 minute taxi drive from the venue (under €10 taxi fare). Our kids loved the house and were taken on a tour around the gardens to meet the animals with Josie. While we were getting our things organised and into the car the kids played with some toys that were there. They haven't stopped talking about it. We also loved the breakfast and the beds were very comfortable, we all slept very well. I would certainly go back and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izzy22m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Really nice place to stay. amazing beds slept like a log. tony and josie were really nice down to earth people. really accommodating With our kids. great breakfast too. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conorm321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Josephine is such a kind and helpful lady. She did everything to make our stay enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely breakfast. Lovely quiet rural setting. Comfortable rooms and lounge. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greenhills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhills Bed and Breakfast

Property: Greenhills Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glomerstown | Castletown geogeghan, Castletown Geoghegan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Castletown Geoghegan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castletown Geoghegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhills is located in a quiet countryside area, just 15 minutes drive to mullingar 30 minutes Tullamore 30minutes Athlone We provide a very warm welcome. To all our guests Greenhills is convenient to Middletown park House Mount Druid Boutique camping lough Ennell Lilliput Adventure centre Kilbeggan races Mullingar Equestrian Centre the Hill of Uishneach and Belvedere house and Gardens all on our doorstep ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenhills Bed And Breakfast Castletown Geoghegan, Ireland - County Westmeath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing