We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top venue for wedding reception”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castletown Geoghegan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Middleton Park House
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Attended a family wedding at St Michael's church in Castletown Geoghegan followed by the reception at MPH. I believe it was quite expensive, but it was very, very good. The staff are on the ball and very efficient and hard-working. The food was of the highest quality and well presented. The large house gives guests the options of dancing and being in by the music, or being in other rooms/bars nearby, where you can still hear the music, or not, depending on your choice. Meant you could catch up and chat easily.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J0hn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Don't go with google maps to find this place, sends you all over the place. Great hotel when you find it, looks like is a part time hotel opened for weddings, excellent food and service. Fab grounds for wedding, quaint old building , full of history.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DinkyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I recently attended a wedding at Middleton Park House. The house has been lovingly restored in symapthy with its former glory and really is stunning. First impressions of the striking entrance hall stay with you as you make your way round the quirky little rooms, which are all available for the wedding reception. Of particular note is the conservatory where the refreshments were served. We were very lucky to have a glorious sunny evening and as a result we experienced the conservatory in all it's glory. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the food! We had steak for dinner, we weren't asked how we like it cooked, but it came back cooked to perfection. Starters were equally delicious. I didnt see the bedrooms but the reception rooms, bar and bathrooms were spotless.
Two very minor points I would note but are not necessarily negative as they may have been the decision of the bride and groom.
First, in my opinion it would perhaps have been better to serve refreshements elsewhere as the floor in the conservatory is a little difficult for the elderly to manouvre due to the flower beds in the middle (I saw a child slip off the paving stones and into the flower bed)
Secondly, I know there was a message left with a staff member from a friend of the bride and groom who could not attend the wedding. It was the intention of the friend that this message would be read with the speeches but as it wasn't read out I assume they did not get the message. Additionally, this friend had sent champagne to the bridal suite, and though the champagne was sent to the room, there was no card to say who it was from. It wasn't until the following day that the bride found out from another friend who had sent the gift.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SurferRosa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Lovely place to stay and nice rooms too. They catered very well for my dietary needs and got the impression nothing was too much trouble.Breakfast was also very nice and a all staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We held our wedding in Middleton Park House and it was the day we always dreamed it would be! Gerard and John really know their business. They ensured that the day was relaxed, ran smoothly and made all the decisions, so we didn't have to worry about a thing - our job was just to sit back and enjoy it all. The entire body of staff worked around the clock to ensure that our guests were well catered for - they were there when we needed them and left us to our own devices the rest of the time, and as a result, it really felt like our own private venue for the entire weekend and our guests have been complimenting our choices ever since. The food was served as restaurant service ensuring that every meal was cooked to order and, to perfection. Some of our guests were even treated to seconds! Our dancefloor was full all night and we partied well into the wee hours. To Gerard, John & all at Middleton Park House - thank you for making our day so wonderful

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank chip-advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

we just loved mph for our wedding. Absolutely perfect. Excellent food, great service. Suites are lovely and ordinary rooms are nice. Best bit is the lack of function room. We really didnt want a function room. This place allows your wedding to be a big house party! Ger is totally reliable and has everything under control

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ahspititout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

A fantastic place to have your wedding, could not fault a single thing, no fuss at all.So easy to deal with. We and All guests were very happy with everything . Rooms and breakfast were excellent also.
A unique venue with great staff.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank autumnescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Middleton Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleton Park House

Address: Castletown Geoghegan, Castletown Geoghegan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Castletown Geoghegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castletown Geoghegan
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's Perfect Romantic, Historical and Cultural Getaway Destination. Magnificent Middleton Park House, a spectacular Georgian Country House sitting high on a hill amidst secluded woodland with views over lovely rolling countryside and the splendour that is County Westmeath. For over a hundred years a private country residence, Middleton Park House has been painstakingly restored and renovated and is now the perfect setting for your exclusive, intimate and romantic dream wedding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Middleton Park House Hotel Castletown Geoghegan
Middleton Park House Castletown Geoghegan, Ireland - County Westmeath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing