We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Castle Hedingham
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Small railway with quite a lot to do.

The railway is just outside Castle Hedingham and the car park is right off the main road. There is... read more

Reviewed September 4, 2019
149stuartc
,
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
via mobile
A really good day

We arrived around 11 am and parked easily in the carpark. We walked up to the station and boarded a... read more

Reviewed August 24, 2019
melaniec176
,
Ipswich, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 186 reviews
  
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
80
40
28
19
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
80
40
28
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signal box buffet car thomas the tank engine royal mail diesel train miniature train fat controller waiting room fire engine lottery grant support worker lovely woodland walk picnic lunch check their website organ playing level crossing portion sizes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 186 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

Dissapointing 6 buses ,1 vintage car ,1 bus tow truck , rides promised but never happened also 1 steam train running and 1 railcar but no diesel locos . Will not be returning

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

The railway is just outside Castle Hedingham and the car park is right off the main road. There is a ticket office and gift shop and outside is a miniature railway. From there it’s a short walk to the station. There is a large signal box, level crossing. On the day of my visit there were carriages parked in one of the two platforms making photography difficult which is a shame as it’s a pretty little station. The steam train was running every hour and although the track is only a mile long the fact the locomotive runs around the train at both ends means the whole journey takes half an hour. One end of the line is very rural while the other is where the locomotives and stock are kept. There is a cafe at the station in some restored carriages. Behind the station there was a lovely little garden railway. I understand from one of the volunteers that they are laying some new sidings so there was a bit of work going on while I was there which made things look untidy in places. Everyone I spoke to was really friendly and happy to answer questions.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 149stuartc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairman-CVR, Manager at Colne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed your visit. There had been a Pullman Dining Service the evening before your visit so the coaches were still in the Platform being cleaned. This is not our normal policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019 via mobile

We arrived around 11 am and parked easily in the carpark.
We walked up to the station and boarded a diesel train. The track is a mile long and the drivers got the young children involved, allowing them to sit up front.
We got back to the station and had a good priced lunch in the buffet car. We had a look around the royal mail carriages, saw the miniature railway, walked a little way around the woodland walk, looked at the signal box and then went for another ride on the diesel train. There is also a steam train but that was being used for a driver experience day but we could watch it go past.
We also looked around the new museum.
Before we knew it, it was 4pm!
This is such a lovely day. I would highly recommend a visit.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank melaniec176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairman-CVR, Manager at Colne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2019

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your visit - makes all the hard work by volunteers worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019

Some aspects of the Colne Valley Railway make a good impression. These are the car park, shop, signal box and model railway. Unfortunately they are outweighed by poor experience of catering, the train ride, toilets and the general untidiness of much of the site. Food service was slow, two sandwiches taking about 30 minutes to arrive. We travelled in the trains between 11.45 and 12.15; for about half of that time we were stationary. The gents' toilet stank of urine and I could not get the hand drier to work. I realise that restoration of locomotives and rolling stock involves a great deal of time and money but the state of some of the static exhibits makes one wonder whether the CVR has over-reached itself in terms of what it can expect to restore; for instance, locomotive 35010 has been there since 1996 and is still not a presentable exhibit. By contrast the East Anglian Railway Museum at Chappel & Wakes Colne has restored its exhibits to a high standard.

Date of experience: August 2019
5  Thank nigelbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

They have tried hard to make this an interesting experience in comparison to other preserved railways. To be honest, it's never going to be great as the railway itself is only a mile long and therefore the range of rolling stock is not great. However, there is a miniature train, Garden Railway and Indoor Model Railway. The latter two are impressive. There is a planned museum being developed. So well done for 'the extra bits'.

Date of experience: May 2019
3  Thank Hillsider17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews