We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Helens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carpenters Farm Campsite
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful campsite”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in August 2013, mum, dad & 5 year-old, and we had a wonderful time. The site has a lovely aspect and the grass is excellently maintained (the owner even came round on his mower to give our pitch a quick trim before we put the tent up!). Everywhere is clean, and the owners are very welcoming and gave us some good tips for visiting the beach at nearby Ryde. The reception sells some basic supplies -- milk, eggs, washing powder, etc, and there is a large Tesco just 5 mins drive away.

The playground in the middle of the main field is a god-send if you have children as it is easy to keep an eye on from anywhere in the field. There are also a lot of rabbits that come out at dusk!

I would definitely recommend this campsite, and would go back again if visiting the Isle of Wight in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and children for one night - the children's first experience of camping. This is a really welcoming place. The owner was really helpful and friendly.The price is reasonable and competative £18 for the night with all the facilities included. The site intself has some pitches with electrical hook ups, different fields you can choose from and a quiet field as well. In the main field there is a little children's play area, which is fenced and because it is in the middle it is easy to keep an eye on the children.
There was a good choice of places to pitch our tent. Lots of space.
There are good washig facilities, toilets, laundry and a room to recharge mobiles etc. In the main reception you can purchase some basic food and toiletry items and if you have a cool bag you can hire the inserts for them at 20p each.
This is a beautiful, traditional campsite - Quiet and not at all commercialised. I would recommend this campsite and would also use it again myself.

Room Tip: If you want an electrical hook up, you need to book ahead, otherwise you can just turn up, though ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupunzel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Owners are very friendly and flexible. Site is clean and well maintained. Loads of space for children to play, our kids loved it. Owner even gave us some milk in the morning when we had run out! Would definitely recommend this site. Site also quiet at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 107Melly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed for just one night on a quiet weekend. The owners were so welcoming and friendly and the facilities were excellent, there is even a specific area to charge phones and laptops. Large tescos just 5 mins drive away for camping supplies and a 15 min walk into St Helens which has several resraurants and a pub. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jke75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

September 19th 2012

Lots of space, well maintained, choice of sheltered or out in the open, facilities awesome (showers and toilets very clean) little rec room with plugs for charging mobile phones etc provided; laundry room will come in very handy. View of downs and nearby hill fort.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangerstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and my self stayed here for a weekend,we were met by very kind and polite gentleman and met with warmness.The gentleman was very helpfull in explaning the lay out of the campsite and with his local knowledge.
The campsite is very tidy and well layed out.All showers and tolites are very clean.
would deffently recomend staying on this camsite

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianviney1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Helens hotels
0.4 mi away
St Helens Holiday Park
St Helens Holiday Park
#3 of 6 in St Helens
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Culver View
#5 of 6 in St Helens
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpenters Farm Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpenters Farm Campsite

Property: Carpenters Farm Campsite
Address: Carpenters Farm Campsite Carpenters Road, St Helens PO33 1YN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > St Helens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in St Helens
Hotel Class:4 star — Carpenters Farm Campsite 4*
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing