We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Night Out”
Review of Dan's Kitchen

Dan's Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in St Helens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
stanmore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Perfect Night Out”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Well cooked,prepared and served food which was a delight to enjoy. Really good wine list which didn't cost the earth. If you are on the I.O.W. then treat yourself you deserve it!!! .
Booked a second visit before we had left the building and that is some praise from our family. Brilliant reviews from all.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank paulkStanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    51
    22
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good quality in good location”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A family of five (incl. four year old grand-daughter); we had a good meal with wide choice of dishes, well cooked and presented; excellent & friendly service although it cost slightly more than we expected.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spligit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Ate dinner here last night.
Excellent quality food, well presented, perfect seasoning and local produce.
A must visit restaurant

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karlkarlitos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oh so much better than cooking on the boat...”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

A 15 minute walk up the hill from Bembridge's Duver Marina is the excellent Dan's kitchen in St Helens. We had a pig's ckeek salad and confit of duck burger to start with, followed by a delicious fillet of turbot with creamed potatoes and spiced chicken with feather light bhajis and spiced vegetables. Puddings were dark chocolate mousse with preserved and fresh cherries and rhubarb soup with custard icecream. This restaurant does the standard tourist steak, burgers and fish and chips - probably because it has to- but in my view you will get more out of the experience if you try some of the more interesting dishes on the menu. The staff were very friendly. It is expensive and you have to book well in advance, even for midweek but well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
“Veggie heaven (& for meat/fish eaters!)”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

As a veggie I get used to having a very limited choice. We didn't know before we went but Dan's Kitchen had a separate veggie menu so I had at least 6 starter/main courses to choose from. All good but the beer battered polenta with chips and peas was the best and desserts. Only slight reservation was that the shallot tart tatin needed something else on the plate to make it a proper main course size. Otherwise excellent and we will return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LancashireSnowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan's Kitchen also viewed

Isle of Wight, England
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Newchurch, Sandown
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Dan's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing