We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalets are dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here in Sept'13 on a 3 night Sun Holiday promotion.We were allocated a Chalet which was basic but fine, the only real grumbles we had were that there wasn't a shower in the chalet only an attachment to put on the taps, which would have been fine if it had actually fitted the tap size. It kept leaking all over the floor so we had to result to baths . The Chalet we stayed in was very dated but it was fine for a base which is all we used it for

There is a beach in short walking distance from the holiday park and the shop and bars are centrally located.

The holiday park is in a great location for touring the island and we were out every day as there is so much to do on IOW!!

I would stay at this holiday park again but next time would want to upgrade to a caravan or lodge

Room Tip: Make sure you get a caravan or lodge if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Job5279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor, I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I take on board your comments about the chalets being dated and the fact that there was only an attachment to use as a shower. I’m delighted to confirm that the chalets are currently being renovated with new wall and floor coverings along with new suites. I can also confirm that the chalets will also be fitted with electric showers ready for the 2014 season to begin! We do listen to our customers and you have not been the first to highlight this problem, but please rest assured if you were to stay in the chalets again, I’m sure that you would have no complaints in the fields mentioned.

I do hope it’s not too long before we see you back at Nodes Point.

Nodes Point Holiday Park
01983 872 401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

We went there in October and loved it. We stayed in Lodge, which was nicely decorated with all the basic necessities in there. We went by public transport which was ideal for this park as you can get buses right outside the park. We got the 24 bus pass and visited the whole island. We will be definetly coming back in summer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your review.

I’m pleased you found Nodes Point and the lodge you stayed in to your satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope it’s not too long before you visit us again.

Nodes Point
01983 872 401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arrived on the half term week monday after the high winds and found the park clean and tidy - no sign of any debris.
The girls in the office were pleasant and gave directions to our caravan. We had a three bedroom silver caravan adjacent the club house but with excellent unspoilt views over Bembridge Harbour.
The van was clean and well equipped the heating in the bedrooms weren't man enough to keep the rooms warm at night but the children were ok under the duvet. The gas fire in the living room was difficult to light but adequatley kept the area nice and warm.
The facilities were good, the three lads that looked after the pool diligently guarded the pools, checking the water quality regularly and kept the poolside nice and clean.
We were out during the day but experienced the evening entertainment which was ok, drinks were a little pricey but expected. We ate the first night and the food was as expected microwaved. A good tip is that a few miles down the road in Brading is a family friendly pub called The Bugle where the kids eat free and the portions are more than generous and very tasty! There is also an indoor play area for the younger children.
At Nodes Point all the staff were really friendly and helpful but it was obvious the site was running down as certain drinks had run out at the bar and certain activities such as Archery was not available.
However on the whole the caravan was excellent, albeit a little chilly at night, the staff were really friendly and the site location gave fantastic views over the bay with a path leading down to the beach which I imagine would be very nice in the summertime.
We enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend this resort .

Room Tip: We had a silver caravan adjacent the club house with excellent views over the bay however there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you ever so much for your review. I’m delighted that you had a great time & will look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Nodes Point Holiday Park
01983 872 401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited Nodes Point in the Halloween half term week. When we checked in the staff were very warming and helpful. We found our caravan straight away from the directions given. Our caravan was clean and tidy and well equiped. Our toilet was a little leaky but nothing we could not deal with. We unfortunately were there over two days of very bad weather with a weather warning issued, the park reacted to this extremely well. Issued with a letter at check in to explain everything and kept well informed via the staff at the harbour bar/club. Even when half the power in the main kitchen went off they were still able to keep takeaway food going from the other kitchen, all kept very controlled and fast.

The entertainment team were brilliant, they put on two very good shows as well as great entertainment for the kids, maybe a few more adult games needed (for example on the friday night they played higher or lower, like play your cards right) that was good to keep adults involved.

Our two kids were made to feel at home, they were never since as a pain or annoying whilst wandering round the bar/restaurant area. they loved every minute of it which is the most important thing, we will definately be visiting again and probably for longer too.

Great job!! Thanks for an amazing holiday in what could have been a very difficult situation if the weather had of got worse.

Cheers :-)

Room Tip: remember you get what you pay for, dont pay for bronze and expect a gold caravan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy190805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. I’m pleased you found the holiday to your taste even though the St Jude’s hurricane kept us all on our toes. Hopefully your next visit might not be so windy.
Nodes Point Holiday Park
01983 872 401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in a bronze caravan at first it seemed clean and in good working order.The first night was freezing as I could not get the gas fire working , when i asked reception for extra heating the response was "we only hire out heaters" I went on to explain i could not always get the gas fire alight so they sent someone to repair it.The man they sent walked straight into my van without even knocking he then fiddled with the fire and advised to leave it on!!!! I then returned to reception to voice my concern and ask for a heater in case the fire did not re-light I was given a fan heater as that was all they had but that it DID NOT WORK and switched itself of.
The caravan did not have basic cleaning equipment ie hoover or broom as i had two dogs and five children you can imagine not being able to hoover daily!!!!
I found the entertainment to be good they made my daughters birthday .However the photos i wanted to buy i could not as the machine was not working.
Sparkys breakfast was luke warm and one of my children had to wait to be served hers whilst the other four were eating.
Over all I have come away very disapointed in my whole holiday experience and could not wait to leave

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MUMOF62013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thanks for you review. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your holiday. We have taken your comments into account for future customer service training and will work on aspects you have raised. I do hope this has not caused you too much detriment for future bookings.
Nodes Point Holiday Park
01983 872 401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good Bits

Check In was easy / trouble free & staff were helpful. Caravan was clean and modern with some decent quality furnishings / accessories, although we never found out where the strange smell of burning plastic was coming from. Why one of the spotlight bulbs was missing and hadn't been replaced and the table lamp was missing a shade (had 2 out of 3 ?) should be a question for the pre inspection check tho. Swimming pool wasn't particularly big but looked well maintained and the lifeguards were polite & helpful (particular praise to the guy with the long hair shaved at the sides) Unfortunately due to the rubbish weather it was very busy Saturday morning (26 Oct). Children's playground was OK and got some use when we arrived on the Friday but again the weather put pay to that come Saturday

Average Bits

Most of the buildings look OK from the front but its pretty much surface dressing. Deviate from that and there looks like a bit of money needs spending but at least some effort has been made. The chalet's also looked like they could do with a bit of TLC - certainly from the outside.

Bad Bits

This was a short break booked on line and was originally only going to be the children & myself as my wife has MS and finds it difficult to walk even short distances. However she was persuaded to come so I called the park to request a caravan with adjacent parking, told them the reason why but was advised this would be noted but couldn’t be guaranteed. H/O advised the same response, albeit I don’t think it was an unreasonable request considering. As it happened we did get adjacent parking – thankyou – but we had to travel all that way just to fine out. This isn’t an ideal site for the disabled (better if you have a mobility scooter) but we did find we could drive relatively close to the pool, albeit not ideal so she could watch the children swimming. Unfortunately the cleaner had parked her van across the last two parking spaces and wasn’t moving for us or anyone else, the arrogance was staggering, so much so that I complained to the manager. Nice bloke but’ wasn’t much he could do’, take note for the future, difficult to identify etc. Easy really – middle aged woman, bit overweight, smaller fella with her driving a Park resorts van - parked ‘over there’ if you look out of the window ! She then tailgated us back to our caravan stopping us reversing onto the hardstanding next to it – why ?. Next day we saw her wandering round the park banging two frying pans together ???? – Issues !!!

Conclusion.

OK park, relatively standard Park resorts offering (they all seem to look like they need a bit of money spent on them), nice location & staff we encountered (bar one exception) were polite & helpful. Unfortunately our short stay became even shorter when we were phoned on Sunday morning by the park reception and advised to go home due to the impending storm !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thanks for your mixed review on Trip Advisor. Your comments are important to us so that we can evaluate, learn and improve our services for future holiday makers that come to Nodes Point. We will use your experiences to do just that. You were called on the Sunday Morning by our reception team to inform you that it was very likely that the ferries would be cancelled or would encounter disruptions due to the hurricane which was forecast. Most of our customers found the info given most helpful to decide whether or not to leave earlier and have not used this against us. We would have had far more greater complaints if we did not inform our customers. I do hope that we have not put you off from booking with us again in the near future.
Nodes Point Holiday Park
01983 872 401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed in a chalet Fri-Mon. Arrived Friday evening around 8.30 and had been told to collect keys from bar but was stopped by security at the door and told to meet him at Reception. Having got the keys he told us roughly where to go, we found it difficult in the dark to find the chalet in Nelson Walk but did eventually find it located around 200 mtrs from Reception. When we 1st went in the kids bedroom light wasn't working, neither was the kitchen one and we couldn't get the oven to work. We had to drive back to ask security, one man came and got the oven going and showed us that the kitchen light-switch was helpfully located BEHIND the microwave, but he didn't have any spare bulbs for the kids room. He said he would report it but it still wasn't fixed by the time we left. The Chalet needed updating - all of the room were decorated in yellow painted woodchip paper although some areas had peeled and just been painted over. The kitchen area has small fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster and kettle. The oven use wasn't obvious and there was no operating instructions in the welcome pack or the room. The living room area had 3 piece suite (sofabed) and laminate flooring which was peeling. There was a rickety dining table and 4 chairs which were so rickety they didn't feel safe (not sure where the other 2 people are supposed to eat as it was a 6-berth). The curtains in the living room blew in the wind with the windows closed! There were also cobwebs and spiders etc around the curtain rails and windows. The kids bedroom had a very small single bed and bunk beds, plus a small 3 drawers bedside table and a recess with hanging rail and 4 hangers. The double bedroom had a very small double bed which was very uncomfortable as the springs were poking through. There was also a recess with hanging rail and 4 hangers in this room and a small 3 drawer bedside table one side and a chair the other. The bathroom had a bath but no shower, there was an attachment provided which you put over the taps but the bath tap was a mixer so you could only use the basin taps and more water came out of the attachment than out of the shower nozzle so it didn't really work. The bath also took ages to fill. The only plus points were that the duvets were warm and the heating warmed the place quickly. The site was very crowded with not much space between caravans and chalets so parking was quite tight in places and the road around the site was quite narrow. The room did have a small TV hung on the wall with freeview. Can't comment on the bar or entertainment as we didn't try these.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thanks you for your comments, these have been noted and we will be working through them to help improve future guest experiences.
Nodes Point Holiday Park
01983 872 401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
3.9 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
476 reviews
6.1 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 51 in Shanklin
311 reviews
4.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Nodes Point Holiday Park Nodes Road, St Helens PO33 1YA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in St Helens
Price Range: $12 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nodes Point and the local area are stunning to explore either on foot or by horseback. With wide open spaces, direct beach access and fantastic pool facilities, Nodes is the perfect destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nodes Point Holiday Park - Park Hotel Ryde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing