We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Budir
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveler rating
534
264
80
46
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
534
264
80
46
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black church lava fields loft room northern lights stunning location fish lamb common areas snaefellsnes peninsula luxury hotel loved this hotel remote location magical place old church course dinner third floor bread
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 945 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Excellent hotel, friendly staff, dinner in restaurant fantastic,meal specially prepared for one member of our family who is vegetarian and for my two granddaughters (aged 7and 9). Breakfast fine, hot chocolate delicious by the roaring wood burner. Northern lights wake up call. Because of the location viewing the Lights is awesome. Surrounding area stunning with mountains and the sea.
We had a wonderful three nights at the hotel. Highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for one night at Hotel Budir, and had a marvelous time. The staff (and dog) were very friendly and attentive. Our room (number 17, on the corner) was well appointed with a comfortable bed and nice clean bathroom. The restaurant served a fantastic dinner (fresh catch) and we saw the Northern Lights as well. The location is stark and beautiful, with the coastline and lava fields, old church, and plenty of ravens and ducks. It was amazingly windy there, and our bathroom did have a cold draft, but the bedroom was nice and warm. The views of Snaefelljokull and other mountains were also spectacular. We felt that Hotel Budir was a special place.

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank johnbD6003JE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The photos and website don't do justice to this wonderful little hotel. It sits in the most idililic location with the sea lapping almost to the door. Seals played on the tide, birds floated by, the waves crashed on the shore and the northern lights glowed in the sky. The owner was friendly and willingly advised on where to visit, the bar area was cosy and well stocked. The restaurant is pretty. The bedrooms are simple but you hardly notice as your eyes are drawn always to the view outside. The bed was very comfy! The local landscape is stunning and ever changing with the weather and the light. Not to be missed.

If I was to be totally balanced in my review I would say that the menu might have changed a little more - only one dish changed each night and that was the fish of the day.

Room tip: Definitely ask for corner room with views of mountain and bay.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaruthH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

4 nights at this hotel out on the Snaefellsnes (?) peninsula - some 3 hours from Kevlavik airport on the south west. Stunning scenery and the hotel is on the water's edge in the middle of nowhere. The only other building is a tiny chapel 50 yards up the road, built in 1847. The hotel's website doesn't do the place justice and we imagined it might be quite austere. However, arriving late in a pitch- black but starry night, we were greeted by log fires, candles and a very welcoming scene. Lots of dark wood, snug corners, a well-stocked bar and, as we discovered the next morning, huge picture windows overlooking the sea backed by the mountains. Management is very friendly and even oblige by tapping on doors - if you want - at night if the Northern Lights make an appearance. It's quite a surreal scene after dinner, with people coming and going kitted up like Everest explorers, checking if there was anything to see outside. Beautiful skies anyway but we did have a spectacular showing of lights on our 3rd day (despite their own Met Office website saying there was no chance that particular evening). Restaurant is large and candle- lit and also cosy. Food is very good 'tho we did have the same menu every night. Bedrooms are excellent - huge comfortable bed and all very clean. Bathrooms are fine but small. Definitely recommended.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldrectorycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Amazing location! Delicious dinner and friendly staff. When you travel in this region you should stay here at least for 1 night.

Northern lights wake-up call possible.

A walk through the nearby lava field is an absolutely must!!

Only minus : breakfast could be a little bit better. Breakfast was good, but there's not much choice.

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank SDW1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews