We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow”
Review of Hotel Budir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Budir
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Budir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for a friend's wedding. Words cannot describe the setting, it is truly awe inspiring. The hotel has an casual elegance that seems to match the landscape. It is a bit pricey, as it everything in Iceland, but well worth it. Hotel Budir is one of those once-in-a-lifetime places that we will forever remember and will hold a special place in our hearts.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, you may sacrifice head space for beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainB00m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 705 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

I visited the hotel in July 2013, during the height of the tourist season and had to book a reservation a month in advanced. This is probably the nicest hotel in Peninsula.

The hotel is beautiful, literally in the middle of nowhere, standing by itself in the Snaefellsness Peninsula. You can barely see it from Route 1 and nothing surrounds it but peace and tranquility, which is the case for most of Iceland.

The only thing Hotel Budir is close is nature. The Snaefellsness Glacier stands looming in the distance about 15 miles, there is wonderful horse riding (Lysholl) another 15 miles away, hiking and the beach right outside the door.

It's an adorable hotel property. I saw many of the other properties on my drive around the Peninsula from Reyk and none compared with Budir's charm. The lobby and bar are decorated in a classic English style with many historical antiques, old magazines and books as well as pictures of the place and it staff going back to the early 20th century and before. The dining room is beautiful with lovely views of the glacier and the food was fantastic.

The staff were so very kind and helpful, calling different places for my activities.

The reason why I rated the hotel as "very good" rather than excellent is the rooms need to be upgraded badly. I paid a lot of money for a very, very tiny roof loft room and bathroom literally inside the room. Though there was a separation between room and bathroom, it would have been tremendously uncomfortable if I was not a single. I have heard the same with the other rooms.

Overall it was the perfect place to stay during my time in Snaefellsness and would not have wanted to be anywhere else (there were other options, but less "inviting").

Room Tip: The loft rooms are really only good for a single unless you do not care about any bathroom privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavisEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel for our friends wedding , we had a excellent stay and really enjoyed ourselves the staff were very helpful and the areas were lovely for relaxing , the food was excellent and by far the best we have had in iceland , the whale was fab and tasted delish even though we don't know what it was before we ate it and found out later from the groom ha ha , the sit down meal was brilliant we were on a large table in the brekfast room and the ambiance in the room was fab , the lady who did the flowers did a lovely job and was just right for the setting , service was fast and on point ,we would definitely recommend this hotel and was a shame we only stayed two night s we would have liked to stay longer and have a good relax .

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank jojo0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel with my wife and our 4 year old daughter.

We arrived at the hotel without prior booking. The receptionist were very helpful and showed us the different available rooms. We ended up in room nb. 23 with the bathtub besides the bed (yes our daughter had the deciding power). The price was not cheap but we knew this before we went to the hotel.

The common areas in the hotel are really cosy and you actually want to hang out there.

The restaurant however, was nothing to write home about. We had fish soup and langoustine and white chocolate mousse for dessert. It was good but there was no standing ovation. Price vs. quality did not quite match.

Would I visit this hotel again? In spite of everything I actually think I would.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel and it's restaurant are quite impressive, especially given its isolated location. Yes, slightly expensive, but quite frankly, not much more than the rest of Iceland. Luckily stumbled upon this place last minute, as the other hotel we were supposed to stay at was basically closed without amenities due to the off-season. Dinner was amazing, creative, and good wine list. The Mbiance of the sitting room near the bar was a great way to end the evening. Northern lights aplenty at this location too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chksrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My partner and I loved this hotel! It was a beautiful oasis after nearly completing a 2 week road trip around the circle. We walked the surrounding grounds , and absorbed the warm sun and admired the full moon from our room. The actual hotel is beautifully decorated and 5 star.

We had one of the top floor rooms with the partitioned wall between the washroom and room, but we were so happy to enjoy the grounds, I got over that slight annoyance very quickly.

There is a beautiful black wooden chapel just at the top of the hill and there are miles of sandy beach over the hill.

Dinner at the restaurant was good, breakfast was great. The multiple decks around the hotel give a spectacular view.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful setting, very remote with views of the volcano and right next to the sea. We stayed for one night as we wanted to drive around the peninsula before heading back to Keflavik. We enjoyed our stay but it wasn't our favourite hotel which was a little disappointing as it was the most expensive. I suppose you pay for the location and that is something special! We had a loft room which was pretty small but alright, the only thing we didn't like was the bathroom wasn't really a separate room as there was a gap at the top. It wasn't a major thing but I like privacy in the bathroom and couldn't really get it. The hotel is stunning though and worth those few inconveniences to stay in such a special place. We didn't eat at the restaurant but breakfast was very good with a buffet of smoked salmon, cold meats, cheese, bread, cereals etc. We did want to upgrade rooms whilst we were there but they were all full, if we went back we'd book a different room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budir
9.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
501 reviews
7.1 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
145 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
North Star Hotel Olafsvik
5.4 mi away
Kast Guesthouse
Kast Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Snaefellsbaer
130 reviews
8.3 mi away
Arnarstapi Hotel
Arnarstapi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budir

Address: Budir, Budir 356, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Budir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Budir
Price Range: $237 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Budir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Budir is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful countryside hotels in Iceland, just a short drive from Iceland's capital city, Reykjavik. The hotel sits in a lava field on the westernmost tip of the Snaefellsnes peninsula, in the western region of Iceland. Due to the hotel's location, guests have an impressive view of the breathtaking Snaefellsjokull glacier and the Budir-estuary which meanders into the vast Faxafloi-Bay where a number of seals reside.Over the winter time its cozy sitting by the fireplace having hot chocolate and enjoying the amazing northern lights Aurora borealis just outside the hotel. Hotel Budir's restaurant, arguably one of the most romantic restaurants in Iceland, has been referred to as "The Mecca of Icelandic cooking", due to its unique and delightful cuisine. The restaurant's menu is seasonal and takes advantage of fresh local produce like seafood and fish from neighbouring villages such as Stykkisholmur, Olafsvik and Borgarnes.The hotel also organises and hosts a number of weddings, all of which are unique and tailor made with the wedding couple or their representatives. Many of the weddings ceremonies are conducted in the little church close to Hotel Budir or in the hotel reception; it is even possible to get married on the golden sand beach close to the hotel.In addition, the hotel also offers facilities for meetings and small-to-medium sized conferences thus making it ideal for business-meetings or conferences with colleagues.Hotel Budir has it all, a world-class service, fine food and drink and luxurious rooms, making it ideal for get-togethers with friends and family, or a romantic weekend with a loved one - all of which can be enjoyed in an indescribably beautiful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Budir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budir Hotel Stykkishólmur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing