We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little hotel in the middle of nowhere!”
Review of Hotel Budir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Budir
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Budir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel and it's restaurant are quite impressive, especially given its isolated location. Yes, slightly expensive, but quite frankly, not much more than the rest of Iceland. Luckily stumbled upon this place last minute, as the other hotel we were supposed to stay at was basically closed without amenities due to the off-season. Dinner was amazing, creative, and good wine list. The Mbiance of the sitting room near the bar was a great way to end the evening. Northern lights aplenty at this location too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chksrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 718 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

My partner and I loved this hotel! It was a beautiful oasis after nearly completing a 2 week road trip around the circle. We walked the surrounding grounds , and absorbed the warm sun and admired the full moon from our room. The actual hotel is beautifully decorated and 5 star.

We had one of the top floor rooms with the partitioned wall between the washroom and room, but we were so happy to enjoy the grounds, I got over that slight annoyance very quickly.

There is a beautiful black wooden chapel just at the top of the hill and there are miles of sandy beach over the hill.

Dinner at the restaurant was good, breakfast was great. The multiple decks around the hotel give a spectacular view.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful setting, very remote with views of the volcano and right next to the sea. We stayed for one night as we wanted to drive around the peninsula before heading back to Keflavik. We enjoyed our stay but it wasn't our favourite hotel which was a little disappointing as it was the most expensive. I suppose you pay for the location and that is something special! We had a loft room which was pretty small but alright, the only thing we didn't like was the bathroom wasn't really a separate room as there was a gap at the top. It wasn't a major thing but I like privacy in the bathroom and couldn't really get it. The hotel is stunning though and worth those few inconveniences to stay in such a special place. We didn't eat at the restaurant but breakfast was very good with a buffet of smoked salmon, cold meats, cheese, bread, cereals etc. We did want to upgrade rooms whilst we were there but they were all full, if we went back we'd book a different room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It's hard to imagine a more spectacular setting for a hotel. Set a the edge of an enormous lava field with a backdrop of dramatic mountains and ocean, it was all we could ask for in experiencing the natural grandeur that we travelled to Iceland to see. However, we felt we payed a lot for this privilege, even in a less expensive - and quite cramped- loft room. The interior of the hotel is attractive, with comfortable public spaces. The staff was helpful and responsive, although the entire establishment seemed haunted by an odd formality most noticeable in the restaurant, where the guests spoke in hushed tones. The food in the restaurant was nothing special and overpriced. Overall, however, being able to take wonderful hikes from right out the front door made up for any shortcomings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Large hotel miles from any where and the location is first class. The hotel is well maintained with a lovely lounge and restaurant. We had a large room with a small balcony over looking the beach and mountains, often sat and watched the seals in the small inlet next to the hotel.
Had two meals at the hotel and both were excellent. As usual in Iceland the staff were helpful and friendly.
Not the cheapest hotel in the area but well worth paying that bit extra for the comfort, location and general ambience, would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveHaxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived stressed after a tyre blowout along a gravel road miles from nowhere and a long day with a huge change of travel plans. We walked into a warm and welcoming reception area with the most delightful chap (very memorable moustache!) confirming they had noted my request for no feathers/4 foam pillows (unlike some of our other stays on this road trip), offering help with our luggage, cracking jokes and making us unwind instantly.
Our room - 6 - was at the front of the hotel and looked out to what would have been stunning views of the ice cap had the cloud lifted, over to the waterfalls and we lost time watching the tide come in and out that night and the next morning. The room seemed to have been recently refurbed and was clean, warm and very spacious with a sofa and large coffee table, work desk and TV with a reasonable range of channels. The bathroom was very clean, lots of toiletries and good powerful and hot shower. Only niggle was no heating in there at all, so we had to keep the door to bedroom open as much as possible to keep it warmed through. I would put obscured glass to avoid having to use the blinds all the time or watch people parking below.
So please we booked dinner in the restaurant (nowhere else to eat close by). Tables thoughtfully laid out alternately (probably not at busiest times I guess) so you are nicely apart - beautifully laid and great views over to the icefield. The food.....bread with their USP - the frozen lava pebble and butter trick, superb lamb salad, meltingly good beef - and such excellent service with a delightful maitre'd and such a friendly waitress. Could not recommend highly enough.
Followed up with a short walk in the surrounding lava fields and photographed the adjacent (oldest) church in Iceland as the sun showed itself for a few moments at dusk. On return we asked if possible to make us our own herbal teabags drink and without hesitation we were offered a kettle and cups for our room. If not for so many feather cushions (I am allergic to feathers) we would have settled in the warm and welcoming bar area for the night. I loved all the old photos of the hotel and area.
Breakfast back in the dining room and they had changed all the napiery to delightful rustic embroidered cloths with lovely chunky matching china. Usual cold buffet breakfast. With such a fantastic kitchen I had high hopes of a hot breakfast - not to be. The breakfast waitress was sullen, avoided eye contact and any conversation. Shame.
Same lovely suave gent as on arrival at reception when we checked out - with the sort of pleasant chat that makes you want to return. Yes there are parts of this hotel that are tired and need some revamp - but when it is all clean, the welcome and staff so warm and engaging, and the surrounding area so interesting and scenic - you should make the effort to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cannicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Visiting the Snaefellsnes peninsula is truly an essential part of seeing the best of Iceland. The mix of the remote location, the surrounding mountains, the fresh icy air from the western oceans, the timelessness and space of the open black beaches and surrounding jagged costs and the little tranquil villages that always seem to be forever in the distance but never actually arrive.

Hotel Budir makes visiting this region indispensable. From the moment you arrive engulfed by the warmth of the fire in their bar, to being offered to try the new butter which has just been “created” from local herbs while selecting one of many rare boutique beers to help enhance the view of the surrounding lake, to enjoying the evening murmurs of the isolation of this region from the very comfortable bedroom, Hotel Budir immediately reminds you that this place and this region is special, and that you definitely should have booked more than one night.

All of this is immediately magnified when soaking up the romance of their amazing restaurant and the very memorable local delicacies on offer as a start to a night you wish would never end.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DeepintotheBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budir
9.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
508 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
492 reviews
7.1 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Kast Guesthouse
Kast Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Snaefellsbaer
131 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#4 of 9 in Grundarfjorour
99 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Freezer Hostel
The Freezer Hostel
#1 of 6 in Snaefellsbaer
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budir

Address: Budir, Budir 356, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Budir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Budir
Price Range: $221 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Budir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Budir is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful countryside hotels in Iceland, just a short drive from Iceland's capital city, Reykjavik. The hotel sits in a lava field on the westernmost tip of the Snaefellsnes peninsula, in the western region of Iceland. Due to the hotel's location, guests have an impressive view of the breathtaking Snaefellsjokull glacier and the Budir-estuary which meanders into the vast Faxafloi-Bay where a number of seals reside.Over the winter time its cozy sitting by the fireplace having hot chocolate and enjoying the amazing northern lights Aurora borealis just outside the hotel. Hotel Budir's restaurant, arguably one of the most romantic restaurants in Iceland, has been referred to as "The Mecca of Icelandic cooking", due to its unique and delightful cuisine. The restaurant's menu is seasonal and takes advantage of fresh local produce like seafood and fish from neighbouring villages such as Stykkisholmur, Olafsvik and Borgarnes.The hotel also organises and hosts a number of weddings, all of which are unique and tailor made with the wedding couple or their representatives. Many of the weddings ceremonies are conducted in the little church close to Hotel Budir or in the hotel reception; it is even possible to get married on the golden sand beach close to the hotel.In addition, the hotel also offers facilities for meetings and small-to-medium sized conferences thus making it ideal for business-meetings or conferences with colleagues.Hotel Budir has it all, a world-class service, fine food and drink and luxurious rooms, making it ideal for get-togethers with friends and family, or a romantic weekend with a loved one - all of which can be enjoyed in an indescribably beautiful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Budir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budir Hotel Stykkishólmur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing