We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Hotel Budir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Budir
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Budir
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A lovely hotel - efficient and welcoming. The room was spacious and the view from the window was beautiful. Free WiFi was available throughout the hotel. The service in the restaurant was attentive and efficient and the food was excellent. Breakfast was buffet-style - the best we had on our travels round Iceland. The hotel is in a great location for visiting Snaefellsnes and there are some lovely walks nearby. We were delighted with our stay and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    196
    59
    37
    13
See reviews for
107
385
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Got an upgraded room with a view of the volcano because of a booking mix up. It was gorgeous. Fine breakfast. Be sure to do the walk from Arnastapi to Hellnar. There is a comparable hotel in Hellnar (where we ate dinner after walking the 5km walk there) that would be a reasonable, less expensive alternative (it was fully booked). Be sure to check out the black church in Budir (the only other thing actually in Budir, I think).

Room Tip: We were in room 18-- a corner room on the top floor that had gorgeous views in two directions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is located close enough to the ocean that one can fall asleep and awaken to the sound of waves. From our window we saw waterfalls in the nearby mountains. The peaceful beauty of the area is stunning. The hotel itself is elegant simplicity. The service is attentive and helpful; the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The restaurant at the hotel is consistently excellent. We have visited here before and we will surely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalif08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This cozy and nicely decorated hotel is immersed in the beautiful countryside of the Snaefellsnes Peninsula, very close to the ocean. It can be easily reached through a paved and well-maintained road.

Our room was very clean, had all comforts (soft double bed, TV/DVD, WiFi Internet, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, etc. ), and offered a breathtaking view of the surroundings: the Snaefellsjokull volcano and the local typical church.

The restaurant was excellent. I'd recommend you the house specialty: an amazing fish soup. There's also a panoramic bar with fireplace and live music. The staff was pleasant and professional.

It's not a cheap accommodation, but it's definitely worth its price for one magic night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

So look: yes this place is pricey, but this is iceland, and we stayed in a number of places for half the price that were really pretty grim, so paying good money for something really nice was fine by us. it has genuine class and style - and is the only place we stayed in during our trip that would be at ease with the international boutique hotel set (think tablet or mr and mrs smith hotels). service perhaps a little bit less polished than the hotel itself, but still very professional. and seriously good food in the restaurant - this chef is properly trained and knows his stuff. you won´t be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_Alst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in this hotel and in its overall is a really nice hotel located in a beautiful place. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished but with some defect. For example some furniture was broken, no coffee or tea facility available in the room and window blind not heavy enough to allow a comfortable sleep. With regards to the restaurant just one comment great food but a bit expensive. Breakfast buffet was nice but not so rich.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel Budir is nicely situated close to the ocean and with plenty of trails to explore during your stay. Our room was clean and there was a nice view from our window (unfortunately it was rainy during our stay). The restaurant had an old world elegance with hand-embroidered table cloths, and a nice view. The service in the restaurant was attentive but a bit stiff. The food that we ordered was very delicious (starter; creamy seafood soup with shrimp, scallops,and lobster tail, entree: baked cod with roasted vegetables, dessert: crepes with orange marmalade & chocolate sauce. Breakfast had a nice assortment of food including: smoked salmon, smoked trout, soft cheeses such as blue cheese & camembert, homemade bread & jams, hot coffee, assorted fruit (kiki, pineapple, plums, grapes...), deli meats, and yogurt. It was a typical Icelandic style buffet breakfast. There were enough choices to pick from and all of the food was quite good. The only negative was the it was a bit expensive to stay here. It has 5 star prices for a 3 or 4 star place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maloney1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budir
9.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
451 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Olafsvik
Hotel Olafsvik
#1 of 1 in Olafsvik
131 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kast Guesthouse
Kast Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Snaefellsbaer
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Vid Hafid Guesthouse
Vid Hafid Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Olafsvik
85 reviews
8.1 mi away
Guesthouse Hof
Guesthouse Hof
#2 of 4 in Snaefellsbaer
108 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Freezer Hostel
The Freezer Hostel
#1 of 5 in Snaefellsbaer
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budir

Property: Hotel Budir
Address: Budir, Budir 356, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Budir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Budir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Budir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Budir is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful countryside hotels in Iceland, just a short drive from Iceland's capital city, Reykjavik. The hotel sits in a lava field on the westernmost tip of the Snaefellsnes peninsula, in the western region of Iceland. Due to the hotel's location, guests have an impressive view of the breathtaking Snaefellsjokull glacier and the Budir-estuary which meanders into the vast Faxafloi-Bay where a number of seals reside.Over the winter time its cozy sitting by the fireplace having hot chocolate and enjoying the amazing northern lights Aurora borealis just outside the hotel. Hotel Budir's restaurant, arguably one of the most romantic restaurants in Iceland, has been referred to as "The Mecca of Icelandic cooking", due to its unique and delightful cuisine. The restaurant's menu is seasonal and takes advantage of fresh local produce like seafood and fish from neighbouring villages such as Stykkisholmur, Olafsvik and Borgarnes.The hotel also organises and hosts a number of weddings, all of which are unique and tailor made with the wedding couple or their representatives. Many of the weddings ceremonies are conducted in the little church close to Hotel Budir or in the hotel reception; it is even possible to get married on the golden sand beach close to the hotel.In addition, the hotel also offers facilities for meetings and small-to-medium sized conferences thus making it ideal for business-meetings or conferences with colleagues.Hotel Budir has it all, a world-class service, fine food and drink and luxurious rooms, making it ideal for get-togethers with friends and family, or a romantic weekend with a loved one - all of which can be enjoyed in an indescribably beautiful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Budir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budir Hotel Stykkishólmur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing