We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of The Pot Kiln

The Pot Kiln
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Frilsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $198
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited the Pot Kiln on Saturday 10th July with our son and daughter in law, it was my birthday treat albeit a belated one Our son and daughter in law have frequented this wonderful venue a few times, for us it was a first and will not be the last.
An idyllic setting tucked away in wonderful countryside, a summers evening and food to die for.
As a starter the pigeon was spot on and the deer as a main with wonderful mash a true delight. Puddings( I had the chocolate pudding with ice cream, raspberries and salted almonds, sounds heavy but it was very light) and cheese rounded off a perfect meal, you will not be disappointed, service was good and atmosphere welcoming.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wonderbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    89
    37
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
reading, uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lovely spot for lunch”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have only ever eaten from the bar menu, but nevertheless I really enjoy the Pot Kiln. It has become a staple choice whenever people come to visit.

Relaxing and quaint, you won't be disappointed.

Heartily recommend the venison scotch egg.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank readingmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Recommended 5/5”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Celebrated our anniversary by having a "light lunch" at the Pot Kiln. We chose from the set menu and were amazed at the diversity of tastes in the three courses. Although they may seem small portions, believe me, I couldn't eat another morsel. The presentation was fantastic and did justice to the food, superbly prepared and served. So pleased to discover this gem of a setting with the most delicious food. Service was excellent. Well done, thank you and compliments to the chef and staff!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmilerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth detouring for excellent food in bucolic setting”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had heard good reports about this restaurant, off the beaten track but well worth the drive. About 30 mins from Reading, the last couple or turns along village lanes can be challenging but a quick call and Jamie gave easy directions. Service was friendly and enthusiastic and the food was full of flavour and well presented. A starter of gravlax was fresh and crisp, followed by an amazing lamb with fondant potato and minted peas and asparagus. Chocolate pudding with ice cream, raspberries and salted almonds was surprisingly light but still decadent. Where else can you enjoy this standard of food looking out onto rolling hills with ponies wandering into view just beyond the window? Amazing

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Daring_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fourth Visit - really love it here”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I keep coming back and each time it great - which is not something that happens with every restaurant. We had venison between two and it was lovely. I love the way that they use chicken of the woods and wild garlic. I just really like it here. I bring friends along, having built up the idea of a really good meal to them, and thankfully it never disappoints.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WithScruples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pot Kiln also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
 
Hampstead Norreys, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to The Pot Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing