We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended 5/5”
Review of The Pot Kiln

The Pot Kiln
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Frilsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $198
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Recommended 5/5”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Celebrated our anniversary by having a "light lunch" at the Pot Kiln. We chose from the set menu and were amazed at the diversity of tastes in the three courses. Although they may seem small portions, believe me, I couldn't eat another morsel. The presentation was fantastic and did justice to the food, superbly prepared and served. So pleased to discover this gem of a setting with the most delicious food. Service was excellent. Well done, thank you and compliments to the chef and staff!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmilerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    94
    39
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth detouring for excellent food in bucolic setting”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had heard good reports about this restaurant, off the beaten track but well worth the drive. About 30 mins from Reading, the last couple or turns along village lanes can be challenging but a quick call and Jamie gave easy directions. Service was friendly and enthusiastic and the food was full of flavour and well presented. A starter of gravlax was fresh and crisp, followed by an amazing lamb with fondant potato and minted peas and asparagus. Chocolate pudding with ice cream, raspberries and salted almonds was surprisingly light but still decadent. Where else can you enjoy this standard of food looking out onto rolling hills with ponies wandering into view just beyond the window? Amazing

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Daring_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fourth Visit - really love it here”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I keep coming back and each time it great - which is not something that happens with every restaurant. We had venison between two and it was lovely. I love the way that they use chicken of the woods and wild garlic. I just really like it here. I bring friends along, having built up the idea of a really good meal to them, and thankfully it never disappoints.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WithScruples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent place - fantastic”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lovely place, great food, local produce combined together like a 5 star place but yet full of flavour!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cry70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“charged more than it's worth”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The place is in the middle of the countryside, beautiful surroundings. The car park in front was full, so went to the back, glad we didn't bring the sports car as it was bumpy and muddy.
The pub area was very small, the restaurant area was really more a restaurant than a pub. Service was friendly, the table small for two. 
The ingredients seem to be used locally, which is nice. As a vegetarian there weren't many menu options.
The food was okay, but not special. The quantity was small for the price paid. 
We left having spent £23 each and ended up having lots of food at home as remained hungry.

I don't think the place is worth the money, there are better alternatives in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank squizz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pot Kiln also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
 
Yattendon, Berkshire
Hampstead Norreys, Berkshire
 

Been to The Pot Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing