We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Bourg
Nearby Hotels
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert(Brantome)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Vieille Maison(Saint-Paul-Lizonne)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Moulin du Roc(Champagnac de Belair)
$222
$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
32
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bproviding high qualityvanessacomfortregionbedroomaccommodationsupperwine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 32 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed one night on our way home and wished we had stayed longer. Ron and Vanessa were perfect hosts and made us feel utterly at ease. The room was very large, quiet and extremely comfortable. The piece de Resistance is Vanessa & Rons cooking. Ron even smokes his own fish which was yummy!! A great stay with great people.....Perfect!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottandLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We wanted a short break and Le Bourg was just perfect. We went sight seeing to the towns along the Charente in the mornings and lazed by the lovely pool in the afternoons. Then it was time for an apero and a wonderful dinner cooked effortlessly by our delightful hosts, Vanessa and Ron. Most things are home made, including some wonderful smoked mackeral, and that applies to breakfast too. The house is lovely. Spacious, elegant but also comfortable. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandramachray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

No change to the excellent location, facilities, decor etc. but the friendliness of the hosts from the warm welcome to provision of such creative cuisine, just seems to - unbelievably - keep improving!
We wonder at the inspiration (let alone execution) of combining local produce into delicious mouth watering recipes. Truly fine dining but at such moderate prices.
If you find your travels take you vaguely in the neighbouhood of Cognac you will not regret staying here.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

You will be hard pushed to find better hosts than Ron and Vanessa. Their combination of superb culinary skills and their ability to make their wonderful property a place where you just want to keep returning, makes Le Bourg a must when holidaying in the Charente. They pulled out all the stops when catering for my husband's 'special' birthday - nothing was too much trouble. Thank you from two very satisfied customers - we will be back!

Room Tip: All Le Bourg's rooms are excellent and of the highest decor quality.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We escaped England for the jubilee weekend and headed for Le Bourg for 3 nights. What a good decision. Vanessa and Ron are terrific hosts and have a beautiful home that they share with their guests. Guest rooms are spacious, comfortable, beautifully appointed and full of lovely items collected during many years of travel. The sunny weather meant we were able to test the swimming pool and sun loungers. Dinners were amazing - to give you an idea of the standard - foie gras, date compote, champagne jelly, date and walnut bread (all home made), duck breasts with star anise, chocolate, orange and Grand Marnier mousse, lovely selection of cheeses...heaven. Breakfasts were superb too. Most of the food and wine is from local markets.
The nearby towns of Cognac and Jarnac are very pretty and well worth exploring-plus there is the attraction of tastings at the many famous cognac houses. Our visit was too early for the sunflowers but this just means that we will have to go back. That plus Vanessa has promised that we can have smoked oysters.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMLMTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews