We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Kettle B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Comber
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Kettle B&B
Save
You added Iron Kettle B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Comber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I arrived with a friend on a picture-perfect summer day to the warm welcome of Ben at the historic Iron Kettle. We had just enough time to visit a winery before dinner and select a wine to match Ben's planned menu. When we returned, we relaxed around the pool while dinner was prepared. It didn't disappoint – local ingredients, farm-fresh and perfectly prepared. And plenty. By the time we finished our chocolate Crème Brulée, we were stuffed.
We loved our room, with fresh flowers on the bedside table, overlooking the pond.
The area is ripe with roadside farm stands, flower shops and wineries. The lake – and Point Pelee – is a short drive.
Iron Kettle will no doubt become a repeat destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

From the moment we walked in till the moment we left our experience at the Iron Kettle was no where shy of superb. Everything from the hospitality and bliss felt from this historical house and its surroundings to Ben's undeniably delicious meals one can not help but find heir way back to this wonderful place. Aside from being affordable Ben's 5 course dinner masterpiece was outstanding. The rooms not only are well kept and clean but have an inviting feel to them. The Iron Kettle is not just a B&B but much more then that. It embraces all the essentials to be mentioned in the same category as a 5 Star Hotel. The Iron Kettle is a definite must!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Here is a place where you can feel comfortably at home. Benjamin wants guests to feel as relaxed as possible and goes out of his way to do so.

The food is fantastic, what you would expect from a top restaurant. Local ingredients are conjured by a highly skilled chef and the caffeine options are extensive. The breakfast area is modern and charming with large windows facing the grounds. Perfect start to the day.

The location is conveniently near major roads and highways making it easy to get around. We were able to visit the Windsor area and Pelee in just two days with time to relax in the outdoor hot tub. We fell in love with the hot tub when we relaxed under the stars while being massaged by the jets. Bliss.

All rooms are recently renovated, clean, simple and charming. Sheets, duvets, mattresses and towels are all of a fine quality. Could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: We had the opportunity to view all of the rooms. The Iron Kettle room is on the main floor next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The house and property are beautiful, the food is fantastic, the owners are very welcoming and friendly. The price was great, and it was a short drive to many different destinations in Windsor-Essex county. We will definitely go back, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My son and his wife gave us a nights stay at the Iron Kettle We travelled to wine country bought some wine had dinner at a great restaurant and spent our evening at The Iron Kettle Very clean! House was old and classy and had lots of wood features. Benjamin was the ultimate host. He is a tremendous chef and better then that a very warm young man with a great future in this Bed and Breakfast venture. We recommend this to all as it was Affortable beautiful and a place to kick up your heals and be pampered Thank You Benjamin for you time and friendship. We will be back! By the way ,wait until you try his breakfast treats Awesome Mr and Mrs Adam

Room Tip: They are all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnHollywoodadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our recent stay at the Iron Kettle B&B was a wonderful experience,one we are still talking about. My husband and I have been married 33 years and never stayed at a B&B before, so we were excited but a little apprehensive.The home and all of it's warm charm and history is beautiful without saying, but what truly makes your stay here memorable is Ben and Jeanette. They made us feel relaxed and right at home. We chose the package they offer that included some local wine tours in the afternoon, then back to the B&B for dinner, your night stay and breakfast in the morning. Excellent Choice! Our dinner was by far one of the best meals we have ever had. Ben is a fabulous chef who is very passionate about the food he prepares. So whether you are regulars at B&B's or first timers like us, we highly recommend you put the Iron- Kettle on your list of things to do soon!
Claire & Steve A.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at many B&B this one was by far the best. Beautiful rooms, very clean with modern rooms in a historical home. Ben and Ginette are first class host and the breakfast and dinner was to die for. We will be coming back many times in the future! Thank you do much for the memories. Best of all a very reasonable price for all that is included.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjovocop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comber
Comfort Inn Leamington
#3 of 8 in Leamington
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Devonshire
Ramada Limited Windsor
Ramada Limited Windsor
#12 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Leamington
#2 of 8 in Leamington
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Kettle B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Kettle B&B

Property: Iron Kettle B&B
Address: 7005 County Rd. 46, PO 218, Comber, Lakeshore, Ontario N0P 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lakeshore > Comber
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Comber
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Bedrooms, private washrooms, free access to Wi-Fi. We offer spacious rooms and sitting rooms and a modern approach to accommodation. In-ground swimming pool, hot tub that is open year-round and a pond with a waterfall. Local and Seasonal Cuisine are at the forefront of our menus. We love to innovate old recipes and techniques to accent our style. A daily breakfast, or a catered event, we strive to provide the best quality food to our guests.​ Visiting the county for our world renowned wineries, our conservation areas or for a romantic getaway? Essex County will tempt your adventure, please your taste buds and soothe your soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iron Kettle B&B Comber, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing