We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely! The food, location and the owners.”
Review of Glykeria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glykeria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Elafonissi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here with our two boys for three days. We just loved it, close to beach(car needed). The boys loved the pool that we more or less had for ourself.

Food where fantastic! Eat dinner while sun goes doen in the horizont.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jefman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 197 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

23.09 I was in Glykeria. This place is very nice, especially becouse nice owners of hotel and atmosphere of relaxation and silence. Windows of the hotel have amaizing view on the sea. The rooms are nice, there is everything what you need. Tawerna is 15meters from hotel and they served delicious food - tipical cretan but not only,the prices are not high. The hotel has perfect location - is only 5 km from Elafonissi so you can be on the beach on the morning then beach is not crowded, and coming back then the beach is empty.
Marcin Poland

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agtom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed 6 nights here, wanting to visit the beaches here, and we were not disappointed. While the view is spectacular, this is a very windy place, and a road divides the rooms from the tavern. However, the road is only busy between 10 am and 6pm, when the visitors to Elafonisi come and go. Actually, Glykeria Rooms are in Chrisoskalitissis, where there's a famous monastery, some 6km from the amazing Elafonisi beach and island. But if you ask the very friendly family owners, they will tell you where there are other, secluded beaches. We also drove to Paleochora while staying here. We also recommend the long westerly route back up to Falasarna and Kastello Kissamou.

Breakfast and dinner were excellent in the tavern, although fish is rare when it's windy. We recommend the lamb chops, really superb. The small swimming pool is very welcome, and the large room was very good (upstairs, north end). The balcony is great when the sun is setting, truly memorable. We were quickly provided with a better fridge when the original proved inadequate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TurystaSwiatowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

we stayed here for one night whilst touring crete.lovely room,spotlessly clean.nice pool,the best thing of course as someone else has said is the food.
outstanding dinner some of the best food i have ever tasted in greece.homemade and served by delightful people.wonderful views of the sea.great breakfast also,highly recommended.espeacially if you want to stay near elafonissi beach.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank jks24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Good value for the room rate. Nice swimming pool and rooms overlooking the beautiful unblocked sunset by the bay, surrounded by olive garden. Only 5 min drive from Elafonisi, one of the best beaches in Greece. Superb yet affordable taverna with food closely en par of Tassia in Kefalonia. Friendly and helpful owner. This gem seems to be overlooked by many people.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AlexanderPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

AWESOME ! We spent 5 full days here and I hope to go back. The food is to die for (try the Zucchini balls- secret recipe), everyone is really nice and welcoming. The tavern is far enough away from Elafonissi to avoid crowds, but close enough to spend all day on the beach. The room was comfy, view from the balcony amazing, the people laid back. We simply had a great time.

Only drawback may be the fact that you need a car to get to Elafonissi and there isn't much to do in that specific area of Crete, but we loved spending everyday at the beach!!!

I would definitely recommend this place for couples or families with children.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babelmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed with my family at Glykeria Rooms for 2 nights in June. The hotel is located right on the road to Elafonissi Beach and during the day, you can hear numerous cars, motorbikes and buses zooming past. However, after 7 o'clock in the evening, or so, the traffic dies down and everything gets quiet. All in all, there are 9 rooms, 5 upstairs and the rest downstairs, I believe. We were given the top room number 3. Our room was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated in peach and pink colors - one wall matched in color with a picture frame and ribbons on the bedside lamps (small details that matter). There was a double-sized bed and a single bed, among other furniture like a wooden wardrobe, table, chairs, a small fridge (with tiny freezer), etc. The room was pretty spacious; we also had a nice west-facing balcony with a table and 2 chairs (all rooms have these balconies), which we used to enjoy the magnificent view of the sea and, of course, the sunsets! The bathroom is OK, the biggest challenge was the shower, which had no shower curtain and therefore when taking a shower, lots of water splashed straight on the floor (squatting didn't help much). However, there was a squeegee that one could use to get rid of the water on the floor. There is also a swimming pool right by the hotel, which we used sometimes for first-thing-in-the-morning and last-thing-in-the-evening dips. There are also plenty of toys for children and books for adults that can be used while taking it easy on sun beds.

Elafonissi Beach is only 5-7 minutes car ride away. You can drive very close to the beach and leave your car somewhere in the shade of numerous shrubs that grow there. We read on the Internet that the beach can get overcrowded with people during the day so we went there twice. The first time was at 7.30 in the morning and we were the only ones there! Elafonissi Beach in all its glory just for us - pretty cool! Took lots of photos with just us and nobody else... And the second time - after 5 in the evening. By that time the majority of people had left and we were able to find an entire stretch of an island all for ourselves. We found the water to be very tricky, the warmth varied considerably depending on where you were. We found that it was warmer closer to the island...

There are 2 mini-markets near to the hotel. Just walk towards Elafonissi Beach on the main road for 5 minutes and they will be right there next to each other. There is also a very tasty Pizzeria (across from the mini-markets), with a Greek owner, who lived in Montreal for many years. Best pizza I've tasted in a long time now!

Anyway, getting back to Glykeria. They also have a great Taverna just across the road from the hotel. They serve a-m-a-z-i-n-g food there! I didn't expect such great tasting food in the middle of nowhere in Crete. Our food tasted home-made and very fresh! The family, who runs the hotel and the taverna are very friendly, kind, attentive and multilingual. We were able to speak English, Swedish, and even a little bit of Greek with them.

All in all, a very good quality place close to an amazing beach, with tasty and delicious food to try, too!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank romashka_sheko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elafonissi
9.9 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 18 in Palaiochora
190 reviews
7.8 mi away
Megim Hotel
Megim Hotel
#12 of 18 in Palaiochora
55 reviews
9.7 mi away
Libyan Princess
Libyan Princess
#1 of 18 in Palaiochora
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments
14.5 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kissamos
426 reviews
14.2 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kissamos
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glykeria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glykeria Hotel

Address: Elafonissi, Crete 73012, Greece (Formerly Glykeria Rooms)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Elafonissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elafonissi
Price Range: $64 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glykeria Rooms is a small family hotel in one of the most unspoiled & beautiful areas, known as Elafonisi.Just 4,5klm from the famous beach of elafonissi, in the village of "Panagia Chrisoskalitissa"( means Our Lady of the Golden Step).Renowned for it's traditional tavern and excellent hospitality in combination with the natural beauty and panoramic views of the Libyan Sea will make your holiday memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glykeria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glykeria Hotel Elafonissi, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing