We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beach but not mind-blowing. Don't drive from Paleochora.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Elafonissi Beach

Elafonissi Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.19*
and up
Elafonisi Beach Trip in Southwest Crete
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good beach but not mind-blowing. Don't drive from Paleochora.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Google Maps will tell you it's just an hour from Paleochora but will not say that the road is a narrow eroding dirt road covered in rocks, endlessly winding and with a cliff edge alongside for most of the trip. The scenery of this route is not great either. Unless you're an expert in these conditions it will take longer. The road out to/from Chania is orders of magnitude better.

When you arrive though, the beach is lovely and the shallow water so amazingly clear. Plan to spend a few hours at least.

We went in April and the toilets were filled with maintenance equipment (I peed over a wheelbarrow inside a porta-loo), so you might want to go at one of the nearby tavernas before heading down to the beach. Thankfully it was not overcrowded at this time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,487
    1,415
    429
    97
    63
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A beautiful white beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This beach is very beautiful and clean. On the South-side of the island it is always warmer than on the North and the waves are not so big. A real great place to visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alfonso d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This is paradise on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was for us the most beautiful beach on Crete.
The water was much warmer here than all the other beaches (even warmer than our pool!)
The water is so clear and you can wade through the water to the island.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggy1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just be there..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you ever founf yourself in Crete do not miss the chance to visit this amazing beach.
The water is crystal cyan and cold.
The road to the beach is tiring with many curves. It is worthwhile however.
Just bring your own food and water because the canteens are very expensive.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexP520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Beach - heaps of people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Its very pretty but super crowded. As Australians I guess we are a bit spoilt for space.
I'm glad we went but probably wouldn't do it again. On the plus side you can drive there, so there is no massive walk after parking the car. We arrived about 3 in the afternoon but it was still the full day rate to sit in a beach lounge - so we opted for the sand.

Toilets and showers are available as well as food, bars etc. You can walk over to another small island, and the beach on the other side of this was nice and if I was staying for the day, probably where I would head.

Drove from Chania, and stopped at Topolia for lunch which was a highlight. An interesting descent from the mountains down to the beach, the drive looked like something TopGear might drive. Drove back via Milia where the road was a trifle scary, especially as dusk was fast approaching.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elafonissi Beach also viewed

Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Elafonissi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing