We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property
Swimming pool in the Bargemon Château gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool in the Bargemon Château gardens
Roof tops of Bargemon village - it seems like little has changed over the centuries View across the valley to the small village of Clavier - a great walk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Swimming pool in the Bargemon Château gardens
Roof tops of Bargemon village - it seems like little has changed over the centuries
View across the valley to the small village of Clavier - a great walk
Bargemon Château dates from the 12th century
Archway in the château ramparts which leads to The Keep
The Keep and a wonderful terrace to enjoy a glass of local rosé in the sun
Relax and watch the world go by from The Keep's terrace
The Keep still stands guard over the ancient entrance to the village
Welcome to The Keep!
The dining room boasts original wooden beams and is a fantastic place to host
The kitchen is fully equipped and enjoys a wonderful open-plan feel
The Keep is packed with character and traditional features from Provence
Bedroom 1 with kingsize bed which can be reconfigured to twin beds as required
Bedroom 1 is spacious and bright and has a kingsize double bed
Bedroom 2 with double bed enjoys the wonderful morning sunshine
Bedroom 2 is opposite bedroom 1 and right next to the shower room
Spacious and calm sitting room with TV, DVD and wifi-access
The sitting room is a great place to escape to read a book or watch a film
The sitting room's king-size sofa-bed makes for a very comfortable third bedroom
The bathroom with French roll-top bath is next to bedroom 2
The beautiful swimming pool sits amid breathtaking scenary
The beautiful 25m swimming pool is heated via solar panels and perfect for lengths
The all-weather tennis court has magnificent views across the valley to Clavier
The olive grove extends down the hill - olive are harvested and pressed in november
The orchard is a tranquil retreat and boasts a huge variety of fruit and nut trees
The garden terraces are beautifully kept and great places to relax and explore
There are numerous restaurants within the village to get your taste buds going
The village square is always bustling, a great place to soak up the atmosphere
Evidence of the medieval ramparts are all around the village
Explore the tiny village streets and step back in time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bargemon, Var, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Docwills
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spent a wonderful week staying in the Keep, such a gorgeous and charismatic place in the heart of the ancient town of Bargemon. It was so relaxing and we took full advantage of the shared olive grove, boules and beautiful garden with the most glorious swimming pool I have seen! If you enjoy tennis, you will love playing with the dramatic backdrop of the Provence countryside bellow. The weather was lovely ranging between 16- 24 degrees. Charming. I cannot wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YummyMumm...
Bucks, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing find”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at The Keep for a week and wished we had booked for two. The Keep had lots of character and there were little things that just made a stay with children easier. There were some games and equipment to use and the kitchen was properly equipped so that you could make proper meals at home if you wished (little things like cling film and foil, salt, pepper and dishwasher tablets were nice touches) and of course easy access to washing machines and tumble dryer!

The information about things to do locally was also really useful and we had some great days out including the beach and aqua trekking in the Gorge du Verdon. The beds were comfortable and if you had six staying the lounge would make an excellent and private third bedroom.

The swimming pool is amazing and the tennis court has the most wonderful view. Sometimes we had the pool to ourselves and at other times the other families and children meant our children could make friends so it was a great combination for us. If you have young children just be aware that the majority of the pool is very deep. It was an absolutely lovely pool though.

The village itself has all the basics and a range of restaurants - summer is a busy time of year so its best to book a table in advance, at least earlier-on the same day or ideally a day or two before. Our 12 year old daughter was able to go to the bakery each morning by herself to buy bread and pastries and one evening the village square turned into an open air party with a live band which was an unexpected bonus.

The Keep was a lovely place to stay and the village and area were great too. There was still so much to do, we plan to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, character and location of the property
Liked least: The shower
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie P
2 reviews
“Ultimate relaxation”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We've just returned from a glorious week in Bargemon. The Keep was perfect for our stay (six adults) and we loved exploring the village and trying out the different restaurants. The pool and tennis court are in excellent condition, so we made the most of these with daily matches and swimming. It was very hot during our stay however The Keep was wonderfully cool. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a Provence get-away without the crowds of Nice etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and garden
Liked least: Slightly windy roads to get to Bargemon
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian K
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Break”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were there for a long weekend at the end of June. The accommodation is spacious and comfortable. The chateau is close to the centre of the village. The local people are friendly, and the shops and restaurants are good and also surprisingly good value. The chateau's huge gardens have lovely views and an excellent swimming pool as well as a decent tennis court. The village is in beautiful countryside and well situated for excursions to neighbouring villages and the Gorges du Verdon.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Classic Provence in comfort, authenticity and style”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My first trip to beautiful Bargemon and the Keep was a perfect base for the long weekend.
Visited with extended family, including young children and we couldn't have been happier with the choice of apartment. Spacious and comfortable, the rooms have a wonderful atmosphere in keeping with the chateau in this medieval village. With two bathrooms and excellent kitchen facilities, there were no negatives.

The apartment benefits from incredible facilities which are exclusive to the chateau. The pool is quite simply the best I have ever seen - it is huge and beautiful with plenty of lawn to relax on. The greater garden was perfect for the children to have their own space and play in safety amongst the olive trees. The tennis court is perched on the extended terracing and has incredible views across the valley; it is in very good condition. The pool, court and gardens are private with a lockable gate at the entrance.

The village offers friendly wholesome and characteristic restaurants with a beautiful village square. We spent hours wandering the streets and discovering ancient paths. Bargemon is in easy reach of Nice airport and we popped to see friends in Antibes on the final day before flying home which was very easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Chateau facilities
Liked least: Lack of internet but due to a fluke summer storm
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise!”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I spent a very happy week here in May. Fabulous in every way. The Keep is more like a house then an apartment. Built within the Chateau, it is on two floors with its own front door onto the street. Wonderfully welcoming, the property is beautifully presented, spacious and well equipped. Everything is on the doorstep.

Bargemon itself is delightful, full of charm and atmosphere. A good choice of shops cater for all the basics while a varied selection of friendly and well-run (many family-owned) restaurants make eating out a pleasure.

But perhaps the real highlight of staying at The Keep is the Château garden. This is stunning! A complete paradise and totally idyllic. In short we felt no need to leave Bargemon and the Chateau garden, happy to read by the swimming pool in the shade of a tree. We came home fully recharged and look forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Keep, Chateau garden and Bargemon itself
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I went to Bargemon with a group friends in May and we couldn't have chosen a better property for our stay in this beautiful village. The Keep is spacious, comfortable, well equipped and unique being built into the walls of a medieval chateau. Everything went smoothly from the moment we were met with the keys to the moment we left. The garden is truly magnificent - breathtaking views, a wonderful pool and tennis court. There's even an olive grove meandering down the side of the mountain. We spent a lot of time exploring the huge grounds, sat in the square watching life go by and took a gentle stroll to the next village for lunch. It was hard to tear ourselves away but we did manage a trip down to St Tropez (I'd advise driving down to St Maxime and taking the boat rather than battling with the traffic along the coast road). The local wineries are also worth a visit.

You can make the holiday as lazy or as active you like. While we went with friends this time, we are thinking of going back with grandchildren next year. They'd find the whole experience magical and there's plenty for them to do.

A big 'thank you' to the owners for letting us have a perfect holiday in such a wonderful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden.
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing