We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and beautiful home”
Review of Mas la Jaina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mas la Jaina
Ranked #1 of 5 Bargemon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful and beautiful home”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent 3 days at this very peaceful and beautiful setting. The rooms were very well furnished and wonderfully relaxing. Ingrid created stunning breakfasts for us each morning. There is a pool, donkeys, llamas and chickens. All of this and the setting often made it hard for us to leave for our hikes and our touring. There are few places to eat in town but we had 2 of the most memorable meals of our 3 weeks in France. This was or first time to this area of France and we will most definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPWTAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hombergen, Propriétaire at Mas la Jaina, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Rita & Per,
Thank you so much for your nice comments!
We use all comments to improve our Mas and services.
Our dream is to be an unique place in the world.
Hope to see you back very soon while we are daily improving....
With love from; Ingrid, Johan, our son Tycho and his girlfriend Maëlys Guignard.
The two of them are indispensible for our growth....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
63
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay! Ingrid and Johan gave us a warm welcome and it felt like visiting friends who we had known for a long time. We had very little experience from this part of France, and they opened our eyes and shared gleams of a dream. We had a fantastic room, nice and clean. Every morning Ingrid prepared a fantastic breakfast, specially the fruit salad, it looked like an exotic flower and it tasted so good. We had a fantastic tour to Georges du Verdon. Thanks for the guiding and recommendation of places to stop by. The evening at the "vivi's” was fantastic. The food was excellent, and we very much enjoyed Virginie’s laughter while she cooked. Thanks to Ingrid and Johan for making everything so special!
Rita & Per Einar

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Mas la Jaina is a beautiful place to find relaxation and peace, to enjoy the beauty of nature and good life they know in the French countryside.
If resorts with polished luxury are your only cup of tea you probably won’t enjoy Mas la Jaina as much as we did. This b&b includes a charming Provence style country house, a big shared terrace with tables and sun loungers, a natural water pool, an inside pool, an infrared sauna and a gym, a wine cellar all in a stunning natural environment. Mas la Jaina is, however, a project of its owners built with sustainable materials and love, developing every day, step by step. Don’t get us wrong, guests are and do feel their number one priority, but they seem capable of advancing the development of their b&b all the same.
The hosts are a couple with a long experience in hospitality who are the friendliest we’ve encoutered during our numerous trips all over the world. They have the ability to think two steps ahead of you. They provide beach towels, filtered water, local newspapers and even bring fresh bread from the bakery in the morning if you wish. You can use the grill and washing machine if you like. And the wireless internet works well. We were offered a complimentary breakfast the first morning of our week long stay. It is an enjoyable treat with self prepared fruit salad, variety of fresh breads and croissants, eggs as you choose, cheeses, jams, coffee, various juices…
We had the bigger apartment, La Maison des Amis, which has two double bedrooms plus a bunk bed for two in its own alcove. Our own terrace there had a dinner table for four and two sun loungers. The kitchen was fully equipped: think of a garlic press, a spice rack, coffee, tea, a variety of pans, a dishwasher, cool elements, ice cube tray and much more. Another gift we were supprised with: a complimentary bottle of delicious rosé wine (the owner is a wine connaisseur).
Mas la Jaina is about one hour drive from the sea and same to the other direction from the European Grand Canyon, les Gorges du Verdon, which you definitely should not miss. The nearest village, Bergamon, is pocket size, but charming. We kicked our mornings off with a jog on the mountains – that gives you some gorgeous sights on your way!
Warm thanks for our lovely hosts for sharing their special place with us - we’ll come back when we get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yozsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you believe, it's people which make all the difference, Ingrid and Johan's warmth and hospitality stood out. They looked after us as we were their long lost friends. Never felt more at home anywhere else during our entire trip. Not that the location or their property is anything short of outstanding. The 2 Llamas and a heated pool were a welcome surprise. Our son, could not have enough of their two lovely dogs. The rooms and bathrooms were very comfortable -everything was done with so much attention to detail like the bathrobes in our rooms. The breakfast was yummy- excellent croissants even by French standards. 2 nights here were just no t enough. Hope to come back soon. Thank you, Ingrid and Johan for making our stay so wonderful. Raoul, Deepali and Chetan, Mumbai, India

Room Tip: The African thematic room was really nice especially if you have a child who gets his own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chetan587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

What a charming couple Johan and Ingrid !!! We will never find better value around ! We were there with some friends to visit the area ... of course it's not so close from the sea we were suprised that we have to drive an hour at least but they offer a pool, rooms are so cosy and clean, breakfast incredibly fresh and tasty ... the are perfect owners and they keep just the right distance expected in this "chambre hôte" concept ... thanks for holidays ... they got good address even to visit around ... we are looking forward to go back soon

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne les Bains
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have seen la Jaina emerge from its meadows between Bargemon and Claviers over a period of around ten years and what a very beautiful and very interesting Mas it has become. We stayed for a week early in April and found it a peaceful, comfortable and welcoming place to return to each evening. Thank you Ingrid and Johan for your help, courtesyand outstanding service, as well as for your quite superb breakfasts, which were a great way to start the day.

The Mas Jaina has been designed and constructed in the traditional provencal style, using local materials as well as beams, doors and other accessories rescued from old buildings. Fitments and furnishings have been installed not only from a variety of European countries but also from other continents. All have come together to create a harmony which is quite remarkable and which reflects the extensive travel and good taste of the owners. Maximum attention has been paid to ecological requirements: something which, on its own, would be worth a visit.

Our room was quiet, comfortable and spotlessly clean, as was the whole of the building. The indoor pool and spa were "une belle surprise" while, outside, the animals were a real pleasure to watch. It was too early in the year for the outdoor pool: that's something very promising to look forward to one summer.

If you would like to see how a dream really can become a reality and at the same time enjoy an interesting and comfortable break in lovely surroundings, go to la Jaina.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We came here on a friend's recommendation and loved everything about it. Excellent location, beautiful farmhouse, stylish rooms. The pool and sauna were a surprise treat! And the breakfast was superb. A big thank you to Johan & Ingrid for being so friendly, welcoming and helpful. Just lovely!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorpurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bargemon
15.4 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
217 reviews
19.7 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
495 reviews
11.9 mi away
Chateau de Berne
Chateau de Berne
#1 of 1 in Lorgues
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
La Vieille Bastide
La Vieille Bastide
#1 of 1 in Flayosc
62 reviews
21.8 mi away
Le Prieure de la Grande Lauzade
21.3 mi away
Le Mas de Cotignac
Le Mas de Cotignac
#1 of 12 in Cotignac
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas la Jaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas la Jaina

Property: Mas la Jaina
Address: Chemin des Moulins | Les Espourounes, 83830 Bargemon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Bargemon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bargemon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spa facilities are open whole year round! We offer a large eco-heated indoor swimmingpool with jetstream & massage waterfalls, small gym, sauna infra red and on reservation Massages in different styles including Thai as well as Reflexology. Personalized preventive health consultations on request. You find all your bath wear in your room or suite including fresh spring water & a bottle of one of the best Provencal Rosé in your small fridge. Our region is excellent for cycling or hiking, count on possible decent hight differences! Winter-sun gives possibilities to lunch outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mas la Jaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing